We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,717: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a stop in Freeport on our cruise. We chose to purchase a day pass to the resort. Drinks and food were pretty pricey. The bar didn't open until 11am. The grounds, pools, and beach were spectacular. Unfortunately, it was too cold to get in the ocean or pools. The hot tub was broken too. Even though the weather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
Swansea, Illinois
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose the European Plan. We ate lunch at Waves, the pool side restaurant, and at Aroma Café, the pizza side. The food was average but the servers were attentive and nice. The pool area is very clean with plenty of chairs. The pool is kept clean, despite the number of sea gulls swimming in it and the wind blowing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LovesToTravel918
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I took a cruise out of Florida and stayed overnight two nights at the Grand Lucayan. I had never been to the Bahamas before, so I don't have any other experience to compare it to, but this trip was memorable. While there, we enjoyed laying by the pool, which was beautiful. The pool-side tiki bar was fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jpm383
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is kind of a late review but it's okay. Better late than never. Let's start with our arrival to the hotel. Keep in mind this is our honeymoon and we were hoping for the best possible experience. We arrived early and check-in was at 3pm so we had to wait which is understandable. Hotel staff was gracious enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 4t0m
Reviewed 1 week ago

Place was pretty, staff was incredibly uncaring and just blew us off. Restaurants the same - food good, especially the Bahamian one, but staff arbitrary, uncaring and downright rude. The Thai restaurant was almost empty and they kept people standing in line for ages - no attention given at all - while staff stood around and chatted with each other....

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank foodie b
Lockhart, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hurricane Mathew hit Freeport in October 2016 with 185 mph winds and did substantial damage to the Grand Lucayan closing Churchiill's and Havana Cay, two of the resorts best restaurants and bars. Also closed are the Cabana Suites and Breakers Cay Mega Resort as well as the Island's Casino located next to Breaker's Cay. The staff was exceptional considering they...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank danagarrett2017
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to find the room we booked six months in advance was not available due to hurricane. I feel we should have been notified of this. We had a Oceanview room which had great view and bed was comfortable. We we're there 8 days so would of liked bigger room. I felt the staff was lacking in being customer...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank LindaandDave1975
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is awful, dirty and if I could give it less than one star I would. The pool is filled with birds pooping all day. Nothing is open and food is inedible. The desk is unhelpful and people are miserable. Trust me, do not go here

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Cali m d
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had booked this resort as part of a vacation package for our honeymoon. And they didn't disappoint. We had the perfect five days here and the hospitality and service were tremendous. The conch fritters at the snack bar are amazing and the pizzas are world-class... This resort consists of 3 hotels so it's a huge place and it's so...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Explore_India_12
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hi Explore_India_12, Thank you so much for the kind words and feedback. We are so happy that you chose to share this special moment in your life and celebrate us! We look forward to having you stay with us again. Sincerely, Guest Relations

Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to the hurricane some of the restaurants in the hotel and other activities were not available. The staff at the hotel did not really seem too willing to be helpful with any questions that we had (mainly the front desk staff). We were paying for the all inclusive stay at the resort and would have appreciated an email letting...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fusd7

3,051 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2512)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (538)
Viewed
View from Room (216)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (558)
Viewed
Room/Suite (203)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (22)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (871)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (506)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Breaker's Cay Marina View Room (40)
Viewed
Breaker's Cay Ocean View Suite (67)
Viewed
Lanai Suite (9)
Viewed
Lap Pool (2)
Viewed
Prime Minister's Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (129)
Viewed
Serpentine Pool (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.7 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.6 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#4 of 14 in Freeport
217 reviews
5.4 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
0.2 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
931 reviews
40.8 km away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Price Range: $251 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Lucayan, Bahamas staff and other travellers.
334 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (334)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Lucayan, Bahamas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do an excursion!”
 of 5 bubbles Jpm383, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have to stay there - which we never would again - get a waterfront upper level room, the view is lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles foodieb2014, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As for an upgrade to ocean view. All views are good, but nothing beats the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles baranouski, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“be sure the air works!”
 of 5 bubbles MHB5152, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“oceanview is worth the upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles katjeAnchorage_Ak, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay