We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Altnaharra
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of The Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
neath
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here April 2017. Could not be more pleased. For £45 inc home cooked three course meal, I thought it was great value. Mandy and Lindsay were both friendly, helpful and interesting. Will stay again. The evening meal was filling and delicious. Excellent in fact.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gasman2311
Mandy S, Owner at The Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we hope that everyone feels that they good value for money, and a good hearty meal after a day on the hill or bike, and also a little bit of local knowledge helps guests plan their journeys a different way. Maybe we will meet again soon if you plan to visit the Highlands again.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited uncle Lindsay and auntie Mandy in January with our 6 month old. On our early arrival after travelling 12 hours through the night we were welcomed by a huge breakfast. And plenty of coffee. A high chair was also ready for our little boy. The house was warm and the bed was comfy, with a travel cot already put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe F
Mandy S, Owner at The Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Chloe. It was lovely to see you and hubby and our 1st great nephew here in Jan, and can't wait to see next time with our 2nd great nephew or neice. Thanks for the feed back, as we love our family staying just as much as our guests.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really felt the need to put a comment on here about the poor reviews I have just read. Mandy and Lindsey are in my opinion the best hosts I have ever come across! (I'm an ex travel agent) having travel extensively I don't say this lightly. We have booked to go back in October this year and we can't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NA N
Mandy S, Owner at The Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your very kind and honest review, we treat every person who stays with us to have the most enjoyable and memorable time here in Altnaharra. We have lived here 14 years and have entertained some wonderful guests and many have become friends and we hope to continue our ways for many years to come....

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thanks again to Mandy and Lindsay for their very kind hospitality. Very reasonably priced accommodation and the food was really lovely, the evening meal was fresh home cooked food and again very reasonable priced. Had the room facing the loch which had superb views. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Many thanks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alastair B
Mandy S, Owner at The Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Alistair, thank you for the great review it was a pleasure having you gentlemen stay with us for the 2 nights. Good luck with completing the last Munro and hope to see you all again when you start the Corbetts.

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This B&B is fantastic and we were made to feel at home right from our arrival. Mandy and Lindsey couldnt do enough for us and you have the complete house to yourselves. Great on suite rooms with new bathrooms just refurbished. Excellent cooked breakfast which set us up for the day on the hills and a fantastic evening meal at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George D
Mandy S, Owner at The Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello George, Thank you for the glowing review we are so pleased that you felt right at home as this is what we aim to do with everyone that comes to stay with us in our home. You all certainly picked the best day for walking up Ben Klibreck too, hope you had the view of the coastlines and Good...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here not long ago, obviously having high expectations after everyone giving it 4 or 5 stars i can tell you now this b&b is nowhere near 5 or 4 star!!! At first impressions the hosts Mandy and Lindsay seemed very nice, but as i looked around i noticed the place was very dated and also i started to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graeme G
Mandy S, Owner at The Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Graeme, As we were actually closed for business during february and march due to having our bedrooms and bathrooms a complete refurbishment in our home, i can now see that you are the 2nd plumber that was working here as an employee of the bathroom company that was to install our 2 ensuite bathrooms. Which we gave FREE accommodation...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed up in altnaharra for 3 nights. We were greeted by the owners at the door while they smoked on our arrival. Owner smoked around our food which was getting cooked. Avoid if you dislike smoking. My room had a leaking window which was fixed shut with cardboard. The window was leaking and made a loud whistle sound. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mitchell F
Mandy S, Owner at The Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Mitchell, im very disappointed that you had to write a review like this and now i think that the truth should be told. You were actually an employee of the bathroom company who started to install our 2 ensuite rooms, and after 2 nights not 3 we treated you all with respect, like of all who stay with us...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

My brother and I plus our Mum & Dad stayed back in May on our LEJOG Charity Cycle Ride. Altnaharra is such a stunning and awe-inspiring place nestled in the wilderness of Scotland. Deers wandering around and sound of birds and the elements make it such a peaceful place to stay. Mandy made us all feel so welcome and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My son and I stayed here in late October as our last stop on our Legog bike ride.We had an excellent stay.The house was a very welcome sight after the long ride up from iInverness.We prebooked the evening meal which proved to be excellent.our room was comfortable and very clean.Mandy made us very welcome and I would definitely recommend considering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
Essex
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I stayed here in early 2015 whilst cycling through the area & stayed here again in October 2016. Excellent service both times with friendly helpful owners who have good local knowledge of the area. Secure cycle storage. I was also offered & had a 3 course evening meal (which I booked ahead). Superb value & food. Comfortable en-suite room. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NytramEssex

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altnaharra
29.7 km away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
262 reviews
29.1 km away
Lairg Highland Hotel
21.6 km away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Overscaig House Hotel
21.4 km away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
322 reviews
19.3 km away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're planning a break to the beautiful remote wilderness of the Scottish Highlands, you couldn't get more remote, peaceful and beautiful than Altnaharra. So why not stop off and relax at our bed and breakfast? The atmosphere is friendly, the welcome is warm and the views are spectacular. Whether you're here for the hillwalking (the B&B overlooks one of the famous Munros, Ben Klibreck), sightseeing around nearby Loch Naver, a bit of peace and quiet or all of the above, our family run home is the ideal stop-off. With prices from just £30.00 per night a stay is also easy on the pocket, with evening meals starting price from £10.00 per person...So what more is there to say, except we look forward to seeing you!Mandy and Lindsay ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Macleod Crescent, Altnaharra IV27 4UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Altnaharra
Price Range: $45 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Banbury, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a great view in this excellent location in the very North of Scotland.”
  • Picture of Ben Klibreck from the B&B, on the door step.
  • Local deer are friendly too.
  • Hotel on the door step for the pub etc.
GeorgeD438, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I was given front room which had a great view”
NytramEssex, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we slept in the two upstairs rooms - both lovely”
R0wenaC, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Superb views over Loch Naver”
334JohnB334, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“We had the room upstairs at the front which contained a huge bed.”
Neil_and_Judy, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5