We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Lodge Park Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Lodge Park Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,048 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for West Lodge Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,042: English reviews
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

My friend had her 70th birthday celebration on Saturday, and I stayed at the hotel overnight. The staff were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble, and they made us all feel very welcome. All the guests that night praised the food, which was served very efficiently by the staff. My room was lovely and overlooked the fabulous grounds. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbe757
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of West Lodge Park Hotel. Please pass on my congratulations to your friend on her 70th birthday ! I am so delighted that all the team looked after you so well, and that it was a memorable occasion for you all. Do come again soon, West Lodge comes into its own when the days...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

10 members of our family meet up for Burns night special dinner last Friday and had a wonderful relaxed time especially as we had booked a room at discounted price on the same night. Canapés and champagne started the evening with style and were followed by a smoked haddock, leek and potato soup, Macsween Haggis very refinely presented and delicious(...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review of Burns Night at West Lodge Park, In truth I was a little apprehensive coming into this evening as our previous special event was New Years Eve which didn't go so well this time due to the location of the band. However all the feedback we have received about Burns Night was the...

Reviewed 1 February 2016

Tucked away from the world in its own parkland: the hotel is elegant and individual, quiet and peaceful. The rooms are comfy and if you stay in one of the lodge "rooms" you will be even more peaceful and comfy as they are in an adjoining annex leading directly onto the grounds. The lodge rooms are huge. Staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eamon F
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Chestnut Lodge or Cedar Lodge just a few yards from the main house. This autumn and winter we have been busy carrying out numerous improvements to these rooms including : Bedroom 70 a complete revamp of the room Bedrooms 80, 81,...

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Nice setting. Bed comfy, if a little on the small side. Quiet room with good breakfast. Only small issue was the iron that was supplied by the hotel was dirty, leaving a lovely black streak across my white shirt that I had brought to wear that evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park, I am sorry that the iron stained your shirt. If you would like to email me with your room number, date of stay, and a copy of a dry cleaning receipt, I will ensure you receive a refund for the stain on your shirt. Regards, Andrew Beale Managing Director Beales Hotels

Reviewed 25 January 2016

The Hotel and Grounds are very pleasing to the eye. I was at a wedding reception. The venue is good. I thought the food to be somewhat quite boring for a wedding buffet and to be honest did not particularly taste that good. My Dad eats everything and he even said the food was poor. The rooms are OK if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon H
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park, I am pleased that overall you had a good time and enjoyed the evening. The wedding buffet menu was chosen by the hosts of course, and we had so many lovely comments on check out from everyone else who attended, so we are slightly surprised by your thoughts on the food....

United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Stayed overnight last Thursday with my teenage daughter who was down from University. We needed some quality time together. We were warmly welcomed and treated like royalty. The service and food were superb that night. The same for breakfast the next day. I have had the fortune of staying and eating at some top hotels and restaurants around the world...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honest_Abi
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much on behalf of all the 100+ staff at West Lodge Park Hotel ! I am so delighted that we looked after you well, and with children at University myself, I know how important it is to get some quality time with them before they become completely independent. Do come again soon, it...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2016

This was our second visit to West Lodge Park. The accessible room was ideal for our needs and was extremely comfortable with good views. All staff were very helpful and friendly and the standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel was excellent. We were visiting a relative who lives nearby in Cockfosters so made good use of the wide selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F5469PPchristinew
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a super review of West Lodge Park ! I am so glad that you used us as a base for visiting your aunt in Cockfosters. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed the accessible bedroom - we have two in the hotel, the newly refurbished bedroom 23 classic double / twin room, and the larger executive...

Reviewed 21 January 2016

I attended the New Year's Eve Dinner and Dance with friends of mine and may I say, the food, Staff and Tattinger were wonderful. I have no complaints about the way we were treated or the delicious food, wine & champagne put in front of us - for all that, I would totally recommend a visit. However, the dance floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of New Years Eve at West Lodge Park, I am grateful for the nice words about the food, Champagne and staff. As a result of your comments and other feedback we have received, we will be reverting to having the band in the Terrace Bar as in previous years. We moved the dancing with the...

Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

We were at the hotel to celebrate a family birthday so took the opportunity to add a few extra days to relax. The staff were helpful, attentive and always courteous. Our every request was dealt with immediately. Dining was a lovely experience and, although the hotel was busy over the weekend, all the food was cooked to perfection ( I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank docb1946
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed the birthday celebration, and also the few extra days afterwards. Most of our guests rush away after the function, so it is a real pleasure to hear that you had the time to enjoy a longer stay. Do come later in the season...

romford
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Had a one night stay booked through a groupon offer. Had a lovely room, exceptionally clean (thanks Tony the cleaner) with view of pond. Well equipped room with toiletries & hot drink facilities. Staff are welcoming & smiley. Both evening meal & breakfast delicious with attentive staff. We weren't made to feel at all second class because we had booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edies-girl
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park Hotel following your stay on a Groupon break. I am so glad that you enjoyed it so much, and am particularly happy that you didn't feel like second class citizens due to the deal booked - we have a strict policy of having one lovely menu for everyone, not the...

740 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (65)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (90)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (8)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
11.8 km away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
626 reviews
3.1 km away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
546 reviews
8.7 km away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,024 reviews
6.0 km away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#489 of 1,086 in London
514 reviews
5.1 km away
Premier Inn South Mimms/Potters Bar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Price Range: $132 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Lodge Park Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from West Lodge Park Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't believe the website, that was our mistake”
 of 5 bubbles UKBone, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good free car parking”
 of 5 bubbles P6988XCderekc, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“main building rooms been updated but a bit noisy the lodge rooms not much noise but you have to walk outside to get to the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 164shireenn, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“this is the place to pamper yourself”
 of 5 bubbles StephenSmith198, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“not room 27 birch which is above the noisy kitchen prep area”
 of 5 bubbles 198davido, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5