We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Paddlers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grandtully
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Paddlers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We arrived late to warm welcoming clean rooms. The kitchen was well equipped and clean and we were able to make our own meals. there is plenty of space to circulate. the location is brilliant. This was our second stay and we will book again for next year's expeditions.

Helpful?
1 Thank christina c
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I was part of a group who had booked the hostel for New Year. Since out last visit 2 years ago this place has gone to the wall. The person running the place could not have been more unhelpful and seemed uninterested in our party and any of our issues. We arrived to find the place dirty, freezing and no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank weecurly1
Julian R, Owner at The Paddlers, responded to this review

Hi there Weecurly1, sorry to hear of your nightmare with the leaseholders of the site then, they have thankfully moved on, leaving my building in a very poor state as you unhappily discovered. So, I have now got the site back in my control and have been addressing the problems that you correctly pointed out with the buildings faults. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2014 via mobile

I paid a deposit on 2 nights in August at The Grandtully for me and my son whilst he competed in a slalom competition on the River Tay. Having booked it and secured the beds with a deposit well in advance I receive an email with weeks to go telling me it's no longer available due to a family member... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick M
Julian R, Owner at The Paddlers, responded to this review

Hi there Nick M, sorry to hear of your very un-hospitable experience with the old lease holders. I now have the site back in my control and this sort of thing will not be happening here while I am in charge. So, as to show you we are true to our word, I would like to offer you a free... More 

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent two nights at the Grandtully with six friends. Rooms are basic and needing upgrading, but were clean with the beds comfortable for a decent nights sleep. The service was first class, warm, accomidating and helpful. One of our party cooked a Korean meal for the group using the kitchen with no issues (plenty of plates and utensils). Seperate kitchen,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sminty1001
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice location but the staff seemed inexperienced and untrained. The food was very average at best. We ordered nibbles to start - after a long wait, they came with the main courses. I ordered Caesar Salad with chicken and bacon - no bacon at first. When I asked for the bacon, it came separately and was not good quality nor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bibisteer
Hexham
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was a return visit for a bar meal following a really great visit a couple of years ago. Two pizzas were brought out cremated and sent back - no more bases available so these were refunded. Then a third pizza was sent out for another member of the same group in an equally inedible state. Apologies were offered when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Julian R, Owner at The Paddlers, responded to this review

Hi there Michael W, sorry to hear of your experience with the old leaseholders and there apparent lack of social and cooking skills. I would like to try to change your opinion, as we are now rebranding the site due to what people think of it!!! The site is having a refurbish and total overhaul, that includes the menu and... More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I booked a stay at the Grandtully for a large hen party, we booked the whole hotel for 2 nights. We were welcomed and shown around upon arrival on the Fri evening. The rooms had single beds and some rooms were en-suite but they all had a sink. The beds were very comfortable. The living area was adequate with plenty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank natcalv
barcelona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The hostel has a great location near the river Tay, with plenty of walks nearby. The accommodation was basic but clean. The hostel is being refurbished with some new mattresses and some newly fitted showers in evidence. The rooms all have heaters, single beds, sinks and some have en suites. My only complaint would be that room 10 smelt unpleasantly... More 

Helpful?
Thank missg09
Abernethy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a gathering. The place was clean. The rooms were comfortable and basic but what you expect. The showers we're poor, I found a bath the better option! Our initial welcome from the owner (male one) was quite off putting but Claire was very lovely and friendly. We were briefly in the bar where... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Declan M
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I visited the bar side of the business, didnt stay at the b&b. The bar is excellent, a massive choice of drinks to indulge in. A haven for beer fans. A real mix of tourists and locals frequent here. Its a good blend. Try to come on Thurs eve which is open mic night. Ths place is really special!

Helpful?
Thank Swisheavy

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
0.0 km away
The Inn on the Tay
The Inn on the Tay
#1 of 2 in Grandtully
391 reviews
0.3 km away
Bendarroch House
Bendarroch House
#2 of 3 in Strathtay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette

Additional Information about The Paddlers

Address: Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland (Formerly The Grandtully)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Paddlers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Paddlers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were all able to choose the rooms we wanted. All rooms are quiet as its a huge traditional granite building.”
 of 5 bubbles F4622UUchristinac, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles weecurly1, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Make sure your first there if in a large group. Room No.10 has en-suite and shower.”
 of 5 bubbles sminty1001, 22 Jun 2014 | Read review
3 of 3