We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tirimoana House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tirimoana House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tirimoana House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Tirimoana House is a gem. Located in the hamlet of Anakiwa which is at the beginning of the Queen Charlotte walk , it has sunny North Eastern aspect with all of the rooms having a view across the bay. Our room was very well appointed and quiet. The breakfast which was cooked by host Michelle was delicious and very filling,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jrees_455123
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi jrees_455123, Thank you so very much submitting a review of your stay. It was a pleasure to offer you our services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Tirimoana House and we thank you sincerely for your words of praise. Kind regards, Michelle & Chris

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 December 2015

One of the best places we have stayed. Michelle and Chris made us feel welcome from start to end. Stunning views from private balcony and food to die for. We will definetly recommend this to others and will hopefully be returning ourselves.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gregk449
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi gregk449, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was an absolute pleasure to offer you our services and the facilities of Tirimoana House. We look forward to making you welcome when you next visit Anakiwa and the Marlborough Sounds. Kind regards, Michelle & Chris

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Our room was very luxurious and Tirimoana House is perfectly positioned for a peaceful get away. The room was beautiful, the facilities great and the view was stunning. Michelle is a really great host and a lovely cook too.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 827maggiem
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi Maggiem Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am so pleased you found your room comfortable and yes Tirimoana House is perfectly positioned for a peaceful getaway. Your kind words and your appreciation of my cooking is acknowledged. Best Wishes for your ongoing travels around New Zealand Michelle

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We had a terrific stay at Tirmoana House. Lovely well appointed room with comfortable and spacious common areas. We enjoyed our gourmet breakfast on the balcony while taking in the wonderful views. Dinner was a further treat also not to be missed. Michelle made us feel very welcome and was a charming and thoughtful host. Highly recommend Tirimoana House.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janea482
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi janea482, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tirimoana House. I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities and my cooking. Your kind words and recommendation is sincerely appreciated. I look forward to making you welcome when you next visit the Marlborough Sounds. Kind regards, Michelle

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Hi Michelle, Staying at your B&B for 4 nights with my mum in the Queen Charlotte Suite was wonderful. The room is beautiful, warm and decorated to a high standard. The views were amazing and the one time we went up to use the pool we also enjoyed the views from higher up. Although WI-FI signal doesn't really reach our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ShannonMcKee
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi ShannonMcKee, Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your stay at Tirimoana House. Your kind words are very much appreciated and I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. It would be an absolute pleasure to make you welcome when you return from your overseas travels. Best Wishes Michelle

Ballina, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I would like to highly recommend Tirimoana house and the lovely host who has put a lot of thought into everything a traveller wants and needs, apart from the great views the room was comfortable and the meals amazing. There is not much more you can ask for, this accommodation was wonderful and i will be visiting again for a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank michellelB6532MG
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi michellelB6532MG, Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your recommendation is highly valued and appreciated. I enjoyed the opportunity of offering you our services and facilities and I am so pleased you enjoyed the meals that I prepared. It will be a pleasure to make you welcome once again, when you next...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2015

My husband and I recently spent a week at this magical place. The view from our room was simply stunning. Our wonderful hostess Michelle, provided us with the most delicious breakfasts and yummy dinners upon request! I would highly recommend you visit if you wish to spend some time relaxing and enjoying all the amazingness New Zealand nature has to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Mary Anne R
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Dear Mary Anne R Thank you for choosing to stay at Tirimoana House and for posting this lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to offer you our services and facilities and I sincerely look forward to making you welcome when you next visit the Marlborough...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Fabulous evening with Michelle as hostess who provided an absolutely beautiful meal and breakfast the next morning. The location is stunning and the accommodation and ambience was superb. Would highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fiona S
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi Fiona S Thank you for reviewing your stay at Tirimoana House. Your kind words are sincerely appreciated. It was a pleasure to make you welcome and offer our services and hospitality. Best wishes for your future plans and if I can be of assistance please don't hesitate to make contact, Kind Regards, Michelle

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2015

This B&B has great views, and the food was superb. It's clean and well presented, but it is quite old and we failed to see value in the $380 a night unit, even factoring in a great inclusive breakfast. The spa was luke-warm and there was a funny smell on occasion outside - septic tank? Wi-Fi was unreliable. No instructions...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Vicki B
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi VickyB Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Tirimoana House. Whilst I acknowledge your complimentary words in regard to the views, the food and cleanliness, I feel compelled to respond to the issues you have raised. I am disappointed that you did not share these concerns/issues during your stay, as I take immense pride in ensuring all the...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 April 2015

The hosts Michelle and Chris really make you feel at home in their beautiful and cosy house. Breakfast and dinner are superb! Rooms are very nice and clean. They really pamper you and the two nights we spent felt like a wonderful holiday!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Monique Z
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review

Hi Monique Z Thank you sincerely for reviewing your stay at Tirimoana House. We are delighted you enjoyed your short holiday. Your kind words regarding meals and the comfort of your room is appreciated. It was a pleasure to offer you our hospitality and hope to make you welcome when you next visit the Marlborough Sounds. Warmest Regards, Michelle

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
13.2 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
22.1 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
264 reviews
11.1 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
0.7 km away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
176 reviews
1.2 km away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Address: 257 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Price Range: $218 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tirimoana House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Let Chris and Michelle choose for you”
 of 5 bubbles 779jim, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Definitely book a room with a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles amberlouises, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose the Sunrise Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles 304maryanner, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
“They are all good with stunning views.”
 of 5 bubbles fionas72, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 168smith, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay