We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Leonberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Orchard Pond is a nice little B&B tucked away in a quiet little wooded spot. We had a wonderful stay thanks to the hospitality of Janet and Simon. Orchard Pond is welll located and access is easy by car and train. The breakfasts are hardy and taste great. You'll feel at home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rickrv8
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We much enjoy what we do, and it's good to hear that that you felt at home and enjoyed your stay, and that the breakfasts went down well. Thank you for posting this review. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very large bedroom with private bathroom just outside door - no other rooms at that end of the landing so very private. Comfy bed, great wifi & lovely breakfast. . Very hospitable & accommodating. Would definitely return

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you to stay - thank you so much for your nice review. It's great to have positive feedback and to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again at Orchard Pond. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We spent two nights at Orchard Pond and were well and truly spoiled, with lovely rooms, delicious breakfasts and garden visits to see the hens and bees! Janet and Simon are wonderful hosts, and we will definitely return when we are next in the area. Bruce & Trevor.

Helpful?
Thank twdbr
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very kind comments. It's great to know that you had a good stay and enjoyed meeting our hens and bees. We look forward to seeing you here at Orchard Pond again on another visit. Reviews are very important to us so thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We were visiting our friends over in Cambridge and the Orchard Pond B&B was able to accommodate us again. This is a favorite place to stay when we are visiting South Cambridgeshire area where our friends live. Janet made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. This time we were in a bit of a hurry to check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rod B
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very nice review. I quite understand that were in a hurry to see your friends after arrival and you were not remotely rude. I'm sorry only that you had a tricky journey and missed tea and cake. I'm delighted that you feel at home here at Orchard Pond. We enjoy our so called 'job'... More 

London
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We chose this bed and breakfast because of its proximity to Duxford Aerodrome (about a 20 minute walk) and we were thoroughly impressed. The building itself is lovely and the room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is early, but extremely tasty, with eggs fresh from the very inquisitive chickens in the back garden. The only very slight downside is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ckav135
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you you enjoyed your stay and that the eggs went down well. Breakfast is usually earlier during the week as it suits our business guests, but I'm always happy to serve it later on request. Thank you for your recommendation. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in the family room (too short). Room suitable for 3+, with full bath steps away in private section of second floor. Tea in room was a treat as I sat in the window seat enjoying the oasis. Breakfast was perfect - from choices made evening before. Janet and Simon were so gracious! They helped with luggage and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice comments. It's so helpful for us to have feedback and I appreciate your taking the time to post this review for us. I'm glad to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed the eggs from our chickens. We look forward to seeing you again at Orchard Pond. More 

London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Janet and Simon are perfect hosts; nothing is too much trouble for them and they make you feel so welcome. They offered to book us in advance into a local restaurant on the night of our visit, as they get booked up quickly, and on the morning of arrival we were welcomed with coffee and cake in their beautiful garden.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClaraBella27London
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We enjoy running our B & B and it's very helpful to hear what guests enjoy about their stay. Glad that the fountain and birds provided some soothing sounds for you! Thank you very much for your recommendation. More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016

What a lovely house and garden this is! A beautiful, peaceful place to retreat to, yet close to the motorway if you need to be somewhere quickly. Janet is a friendly and hospitable hostess who is keen to make her guests feel welcome. The house is full of antique furniture and decorated in a traditional way giving the place a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dot H
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Feedback is very important to us and it's so good to hear about the things you liked during your stay. I'm pleased that the weather was sufficiently good for you to be able to enjoy the house as well as the garden. We're lucky in that our much loved hens keep us well supplied... More 

Washington
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Orchard Pond B&B is a little slice of heaven. Tucked away from the street and neighbors it offers a quiet respite with English home charm. Janet is a caring host interested in your comfort and privacy. The breakfast room is charming and the food good. Janet is helpful with local eatery information and directions. I definitely recommend the Orchard Pond... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank p51flyguy
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your nice comments. So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that the breakfast went down well. Thank you for your recommendation - it's much appreciated. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2016

All hotels within a 25 mile radius of Cambridge were booked for the Cereals 2016 event, and so I was able to step outside the typical corporate policy and stay at this lovely B&B -- much better value than the typical name brand hotels. And .. I had a pleasant evening walk to a nearby country pub as well :.)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 443charles
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Glad that we were able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is much appreciated - thank you again. More 

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
1.6 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
274 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
5.1 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
1.0 km away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
205 reviews
0.8 km away
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Orchard Pond is a luxurious bed & breakfast close to Cambridge, Duxford and Saffron Walden, providing excellent accommodation, warm hospitality and helpful service. We offer two extremely comfortable bedrooms and delicious home cooking to both business and leisure visitors, as well as to travellers using Stansted Airport. Free parking is available on our drive.• Spacious detached house in pretty village• Large secluded gardens with terrace, pond and orchard• Relaxing sitting-room for guests’ own us, ... more   less 

Additional Information about Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast

Address: 28 Royston Road | near Duxford, Whittlesford CB22 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Price Range: $134 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor just great for a family & very reasonable price.”
 of 5 bubbles LynneDDHH, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs was nice albeit not ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles V3340BKmichaels, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had the big attic room - very spacious and great value, but mind your head!”
 of 5 bubbles 928anuradhav, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are spacious and well furnished with some 'homely' touches which are not evident in many B&B establishments.”
 of 5 bubbles michael-patricia01, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“See the website - all our accurately described.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterMeldreth, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay