We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sport Baru

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Sport Baru
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sport Baru
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed at Hotel Sport Baru for 3 nights. We had a nice relaxing time there, beachfront is nice, food was good and the staff is helpful. They have a nice dining/communal area as well. WIFI was spotty and mostly unavailable in the room. We went to Playa Blanca and Playa Azul which we both beautiful and recommended. This place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adagal13
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for visiting us and for leaving a positive review, the way you describe our concept is pretty much what we look for to provide others. Thanks also for describing the different aspects as the route to arrive to the hotel, however I would like to clarify to others that accesing to Sport Baru by bus is...

Westchester County, New York
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Our family stopped at this hotel/restaurant for lunch and it was so relaxing. We traveled with kids and it was clean, service was amazing - thanks to Alejandro. Food/drinks ---outstanding!!! We stopped here on our first trip to Baru islands. We liked it so much we returned during our next trip. We had the ceviche which was fresh, whole fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimplyMaria
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you so much for your delightful review, we are very glad to hear that you and your children had an enjoyable experience, that is our final goal. Alejandro will be very happy to hear from your thumbs up regarding his performance, we hope that you visit us again in the future and give us the pleasure to...

Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend to Stay over night and avoid the day tour. Don't expect a TV in the room. The hotel is to get away and relax. Beautiful! The food is good and reasonably priced. Enjoy the complimentary ride to Playa Azul and kayak to the island across the way, cholon. It's about a 15min kayak ride, enjoy a meal there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you and it is very rewarding to read that you had a GREAT experience. We are also greatful to read your explanations to other visitors, this is very important to us, thanks again for visiting us and we hope to have you again in the near...

Henderson, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We stayed at the sport baru for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Upon arrival we loved it immediately. The rooms where clean, and spacious, we had the room on the farthest end with the largest balcony looking right out to the sea, breathtaking! The food was very good, when the head chef was cooking it was amazing!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurel b
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Laurel, What a pleasure having you at our hotel and now to read your review, thank you for describing all in such positive way, I showed this comment to our team and they were very happy to read it, specially Maria Fernanada whom was recently promoted to service manager, your opinion reinforces the decision we made. Thanks again for...

New Jersey
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Beachy, rustic, bungalow type hotel. No TV and spotty wifi but spectacular breezes and attentive staff. Kayaks for free. Makes you feel like you really "got away from it all." I would recommend packing for the beach before your ride over from Cartagena. The boat arrives to the hotel at 10:30am and you leave for the nice beach at 11am....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weiskyle
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Weiskyle, Thank you for your comments, we find true compensation when reading reviews like yours, since satisfying customers is our ultimate goal. We are glad that you enjoyed our activities and told other travellers about it, they will enjoy it as well. All the best, Giacomo Thiele General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Travelled to sport baru from an island which I can say was fantastic isla del sol eco hotel highly recommend was about 1400000 for 2 nights amazing! As for sport baru do not go to this hotel unless you like: To be picked up late as the boat driver went to the wrong island for pick up To pay extortionate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Sir and madame, Thank you for visiting our hotel, unluckily your experience was not satisfactory and we regret that, since our goal is that everyone that visit us depart our hotel with great memories. Hoping you had a safe return home, Sincerely Giacomo Thiele General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 February 2016

What a dream vacation - no TV, no internet in the room, only in the restaurant/bar area! The place is located on a beautiful lagoon, isolated, accessible by boat only, therefore not crowded. You spend your days by listening to the waves and birds singing, swimming, kayaking (for free), snorkeling, boat trips. Perfect for nature lovers, not at all if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 93Timea
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Timea, Thank you for writing such nice review about us, indeed this is a place with no TV's that tries to generate a different enviroment to those who seek relaxation and activites that involve nature. We hope you had a safe trip back home. All the best! Giacomo Thiele General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hesasu1
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel was a nice peaceful break from the city. Keep in mind you can only get there by boat - and you will get wet! Not too much English is spoken so be prepared with your key words to use! Great night activity to a bioluminescent area in the water - do this if you stay overnight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear jessica, Thank you for giving us your "thumbs up", we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, thanks also for commenting about our "Star Bath" activity, it is very popular indeed. All the best, Giacomo Thiele General Manager

Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewed 10 January 2016

The owner (Jachimo) of the hotel is very involved, and will do whatever he can to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and most if not all are less then a minute walk to the ocean. The hotel offers complimentary paddleboards, kayaks, bocce, and a volleyball court, and will also help you in booking anything else...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fryxell41
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing positively about us, we are always pleased to help our guests in anything they can require. We hope you had a safe trip back home and that retun to visit us in a near future. All the best, Giacomo Thiele General Manager

378 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (357)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
37.3 km away
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort
33.0 km away
Hotel Playa Scondida
Hotel Playa Scondida
#4 of 4 in Isla Baru
68 reviews
10.1 km away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#14 of 148 in Cartagena
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 148 in Cartagena
1,925 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
#1 of 1 in Isla Grande
589 reviews
21.6 km away
Decameron Baru
Decameron Baru
#1 of 4 in Isla Baru
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sport Baru Hotel is a resort located in the beautiful island of Baru in the bay of "Cholon" 45 minutes by boat from Cartagena and 10 minutes away from the Rosario islands. Baru is one of the most exotic of all the tourist destinations in Colombia due to its stunning Caribbean setting which thanks to our hotel is one phone call away from you.One of the advantages at SPORT BARU HOTEL is the comfort and personalized service we provide due to being a ' petit' size hotel, we enjoy fulfilling our guest's expectations at an individual and personal level, you can book into one of our 16 cozy rooms or just going on day-tour, where you can enjoy the privacy of a private beach, have a relaxing massage, or practicing your favorite nautical sport; we arrange plans that include all transportation and meals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sport Baru

Address: Ensenada del Cholon Km. 26, Isla Baru 130017, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Price Range: $221 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sport Baru 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sport Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sport Baru staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sport Baru staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are private bungalows and modern suites, you choose.”
 of 5 bubbles 597arieln, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the second floor had beautiful views of the ocean and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles myrabetty, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make you sure you have some contact with them before you go.”
 of 5 bubbles Falasafa, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the rooms in house 1 are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles sandramY2827ZO, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms vary in location and view based on price.”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles adagal13, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5