We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Villa Mexicana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Villa Mexicana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Villa Mexicana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed during Christmas break, so the beach was very busy! The hotel, however was clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was delicious! The pools were clean and enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel, and will definitely be returning, hopefully next year!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth W
Claudia n, Director Comercial at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure for us to attend you.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 December 2016

First and foremost - the staff here is amazing!!!! I struggle with Spanish, so each morning, I was given informal mini-Spanish lessons by the wonderful staff, who were more than patient and kind to me. I can't wait to see them all again. Next .. the location is perfect. My room was on the first floor, basically 50 steps to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank indie623
Claudia n, Director Comercial at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your so nice comments. The ice can be provided at restaurant with cost by the moment. We hope to see you soon in this your second home!

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Nice location on La Ropa beach. Room clean with TV and air conditioning. Helpful staff and restaurant on the premises. Was a little noisy at night but that is to be expected being in a populated area. Would be happy to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Claudia n, Director Comercial at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We hope to see you again soon. This is your second home!

Pendleton, Oregon
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We stayed here 3 nights. We were in room 1405 - balcony overlooked two of the pools but could still see the beach. Room was clean and maids did a great job. Tried to leave a tip - they did not take it. No envelope. We had included breakfast which was good- coffee not great. Lots of chair saving. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ORCon
Claudia n, Director Comercial at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. Unfortunately the situation of loungers saved it is a little hard to resolve. and that is one of the reasons the visits still from our sister Hotel has a cost. I am sorry for that inconveniences. We hope to see you soon again.

Seattle
Reviewed 15 December 2016

The hotel is about a half block from La Ropa Beach which is the best beach in Zihuatanejo but busy, crowded and commercial. We did like that there was a slight barrier between the hotel's lounge chairs and the beach which made it a bit more private and we were not approached constantly by vendors. We had no trouble getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattie S
Claudia n, Director Comercial at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. I really sorry your stay had not been 100% satisfactory. The wifi is mainly provided for the Beach and Restaurant, not for the rooms, we do not offer or sell rooms with Wifi. The tastes are different, there are people who enjoy being at the foot of the beach and others who prefer...

Chapala, Mexico
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Our first visit here. Probably won't return. If you want a lounge chair you had better go down to the pool by 8 am and stake your claim. We saw "claimed" lounges that were unused for hours. Breakfast was okay but slow. Parking is extra although only 80 pesos. Playa la Ropa is a busy beach but walkable. A taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elpavorealblanco
Claudia n, Director Comercial at Villa Mexicana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear client: For your next stay We invite you to try our new Plan Drinks inclusive.! And you are rigt about saving lounges which it is a little difficult to resolve. The claims could be bigger if we remove the belongs from the chairs. We hope you to give us the opportunity to attend you again.

Pineville, Louisiana
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This was our 5th stay at Villa Mexicana. We have taken our kids and grandkids and friends on our various trips. We love the location, right on a fantastic beach, near several restaurants and access to a beautiful pool as well. The staff is so pleasant and always seeks to please. They are currently updating the rooms. Have recently put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWilder810
Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 23 November 2016

what a great hotel! we had an oceanfront room November 11-21. great prices, including a wonderful breakfast. hotel is clean, great showerheads, hot water, comfy beds, great food in the restaurant and the staff are wonderful. Second year here and intend to go every year! taxi station is close to hotel so it is quick response to get to town....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank welovelasvegas
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This hotel is simply furnished and elegant... a great value. The restaurant has delicious food, breakfast is especially tasty, and the staff are very friendly and caring. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Zihua.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
Morelia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I was happy to see a complete renovation going on to the most popular poolside rooms, doors were revarnished, floors reconditioned and fresh paint of course. This is a little jewel of a location, and I have visited a dozen times ...the only criticism I have would be with the service in the restaurant....not up to par with the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cruiserpro99

216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
380 reviews
0.3 km away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#30 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
49 reviews
1.6 km away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
363 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Luz
Villa Luz
#36 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
10 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#35 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Villa Mexicana Hotel

Address: Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $119 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mexicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Mexicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mexicana
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Villa Mexicana Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
Chicago, Illinois
15 days ago
Warsaw, MO
18 days ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Villa Mexicana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with ocean view..”
 of 5 bubbles N1286MAmarkk, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a water/pool view you need to request it. Those rooms have a deck area with table and chairs and upgraded shower heads.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“pay a little extra for an ocean view and balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 343cherylt, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for rooms that are in the 1100,1200,1300 or 1400 block if you can - 1500 is roadside - there are only 2 floors”
 of 5 bubbles 562derickp, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor room ocean front is noisy and not much privacy. No elevator to upper floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles MattieS_12, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5