We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blue Pepper Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Pepper Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Well actually I have been very disapointed about the hostel, I was struggeling if to go better to Hostel Tequila or that one, but the recommendations and Fotos were quiet good at Blue Pepper Hostal as well. So I think if you don´t want to go to a good hostel it could be ok. I have been around 10 days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisalein123
El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I was very happy with the Blue Pepper Hostel. The property was very clean...even the bathrooms/showers and the common area patio. It was also very safe due to its neighborhood and 24-hr reception. The price was good: <300MXN for a single room with a shared bathroom. I can't comment on breakfast or the kitchen as I ate out for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank midvale98
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We had a great experience staying at the Blue Pepper hostel! The staff is very friendly and super accomodating - our bus arrived hours early and they let us check in no problem! We loved that you could make a reservation online without payment, and you could make adjustments as needed at no charge. We also loved that they offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sebastian s
Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Blue Pepper is a very nice place, probably one of the best I have stayed in Mexico. What makes the place special? 1- good location: 10 min walk from Guadalajara historical center 2- close also to bus stop from or to the bus station ( bus 709, 12 pesos). 5 blocks or so 3- fully equipped kitchen 4- dorms with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabiana S
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review

Woow thanks for that incredible review! We are so excited to see that we are doing the things right and that our staff is also giving their best to make you feel at home. Thanks again for such great comments and greetings from everyone at BP Chapultepec.

Bucerias, Mexico
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I had an awesome experience with the Blue Pepper. The staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities were clean, and my roommates were considerate and cool. The location (being so close to Chapultapec) is awesome, and the shared rooms cost less than US$10 a night. On Saturday we all went out together and everybody was nice and welcoming. Definitely a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HumanConnections1
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review

Awesome experience with your group guys, it is always a pleasure to work with organizations like yours which are doing great things for our community. Keep up with the good work and we hope to see you again!

Mexico
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Stayed here a few nights. Good vibes, helpful and friendly staff, stocked kitchen, but cooking items are welllll used. No drinking water available so everyone had there plastic bottles and jugs every where which made it a bit hectic. Nice common areas. Nice location as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank book0006
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback guys, we are committed to always deliver a professional and friendly service! Greetings and have an excellent continuation of your trip.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 29 November 2014

The location was pretty good, close to many bars and restaurant. Just 5 min away from Chapultepec avenue. Its very convenient that the bicycles for rent are just one block away, so i could use them to hang around. My room and bed was clean and the showers was a bit small but ok. The last day we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fer8708
BluePepperHostel, Manager at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review

Awesome dude! We can wait to share more awesome bbqs with you guys!! Hopefully we can see you back at the Blue Pepper Hostel and just one final advice: stay awesome!

Veigy-Foncenex, France
Reviewed 27 November 2014

Location good for the price but i was chocked how it was dirty especially the kitchen, it mentionned everywhere to clean our stuffs after to make cooking but i didnt dare to cook something it was so dirty ! I will recommend it only for one night !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redi z
BluePepperHostel, Owner at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving some feedback about your stay. Unfortunately we cannot replace the "mother" or "father" of every client that uses the kitchen at the hostel and force them to clean after cooking. However we do have daily cleaning services to assure a well and functional kitchen. We hope you next experience with us will be more pleasant :). Kind...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 October 2014

I stayed here only for a night. The price is cheap but the beds were not good, it was very old. And the room was very hot that you couldn't stay in the room during the day. But it was at a fairly good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weile91
BluePepperHostel, Owner at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you have enjoyed the awesome location of Blue Pepper Chapultepec. As far as the beds we consider them no to be that old but anyways we renovate them every year and half approximately so i hope you visit us again and enjoy our new beds :). Best wishes for you and have a terrific continuation of...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2014

The hostel is located in a wonderful area of Guadalajara, very close to Av. Chapultepec with its bars and coffee shops. Great price for a clean bed. Only two bathrooms for the entire hostel and a few showers challenge patience and tolerance for messiness. Outdoor area is nice, but the place lacks of atmosphere. Guests are mainly long-term, either students...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandrafi
BluePepperHostel, Owner at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We have improved our bathroom facilities and we work everyday on all the aspects of the hostel so you can receive the best attention and services for your next stay. We wish you guys a good continuation of your trip!

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 km away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 125 in Guadalajara
301 reviews
0.4 km away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#26 of 125 in Guadalajara
147 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#17 of 125 in Guadalajara
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
#18 of 125 in Guadalajara
61 reviews
0.9 km away
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
#1 of 78 in Guadalajara
221 reviews
0.9 km away
Hostel Tequila Backpacker
Hostel Tequila Backpacker
#4 of 78 in Guadalajara
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Pepper Hostel was created to make sure travelers and people around the world could find a safe, clean, and cool place to rest in Guadalajara, meet fellow backpackers and experience the real Mexican culture so they can get the best of their time in this amazing city, a place that has so much to offer. More than just a regular hostel, we work with a philosophy of interaction between our guests and the staff working here. We have learn over the years that are not the "places" but the "faces" that can make a traveler's experience something unique and different form any other adventure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Pepper Hostel

Address: Calle Alfredo R. Plascencia 78, Guadalajara 44600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Price Range: $20 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Pepper Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Pepper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Pepper Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Female dorm is spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrafi, 15 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Room on the top has less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 17mireiag, 19 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Private rooms are not a lot more expensive and offer good comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles cdundalek, 26 Sep 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in the private double with bathroom and were positively surprised by a tv with dvd and a collection of movies that helped to survive a lazy, rainy afternoon. Windows came out to the street and you could here the cars but it was OK. Big wardrobe and nice bathroom make this room excellent for longer stays.”
 of 5 bubbles wtpawlowski, 18 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Room on top has a private bathroom, shared with eight people.”
 of 5 bubbles BillyBowie, 9 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay