We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Casa Virreyes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Casa Virreyes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is no hot water at night and personnel of the hotel do not care about it. If you need to take a shower at night, forget about it, or try to do so with very cold water. The hotel has the greatest location, but it is a little noisy. Ask for a room with a view in advance; otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear guest: We are so sorry for the inconvenience, we can assure you this must have been an isolated case. Guanajuato is an old city and so is it´s structure which most people find fascinating with it some disadvantages such as the street noise. We hope you can visit us again.

Palmdale, California
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed for two days. The staff was friendly and our rooms were clean. My kids and sister in law stayed in the junior suite. Our room was facing the basilica and had a great view from the balcony. My husband and I stayed in the regular room. We had no issues whatsoever. The morning continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindita4U
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear guests: Thank you so much for your comments and for your preference, we hope you do have the opportunity of visiting Guanajuato again, we are at your service.

Mexico
Reviewed 13 January 2016

My family and I stayed at this hotel. We had a great time here. The hotel is in a nice location within walking distance of everywhere. Right next to the Basilica of Guanajuato. The hotel doesn't have an elevator, so you have to carry your bags if your room is not on the ground floor, but you will find help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocco2006
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear guests: Thank you so much for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the service. We hope you choose us again on your next visit.

Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewed 12 October 2015

When we got to Guanajuato we park and started looking for a place to have breakfast, like in other places they have people in the streets offering place to have breakfast so the guy send us to the restaurant on these hotel. we got there the manager told us come in go ahead enjoy so we sat down put our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sinreb
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear visitor: After reading your review we can only say we are sorry for your inconvenience. We are not clear as to what time you visited our hotel for breakfast, we can only guess it was a bit late in the morning. In fact someone should have told you the breakfast time was over and that would have avoided you...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This hotel is in the center of everything. The rooms were very clean and the service was very good. Although, the continental breakfast was a joke....cereal and toast. I would stay here again but we'll have breakfast elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loops73
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear guest: Thank you for your comments, the hotel administration takes all reviews into consideration to better our services, we hope that on your next visit you may find an improved breakfast service.

Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Hotel location is great, just across the Basilica, 3 minutes away from the el Jardin union. Rooms are nice but we hardly get cellphone signal and wifi connection is really poor and slow. On our first morning we were not told in advance that the breakfast was in the other Hotel chain in the center, we missed it as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marisha B
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear guest: Thank you for your review, we are sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the breakfast. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and the destination, hopefully you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 27 November 2014 via mobile

Beatiful Hotel with excellent staff. Alfredo the concierge was great. He gave us excellent recommendations, booked our tours and shuttles. Great location! Do no stay in the king beds, since they are in the first floors right in front of the breakfast area. You can hear people having breakfast. Not too much noise but one should know. Also no elevators....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelMXN
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear guest: Casa Virreyes is grateful for your visit, you may have visited us since last time you were here, if not, please allow us to be of service once again.

Arlington VA
Reviewed 12 November 2014

My entire group was blown away at this hotel, the rooms are amazing! the location couldn't be better! Food is nearby and plentiful. there's an electronic store next door and a pharmacy and bank. LOVED IT! you should have seen everyone running from room to room checking out neachothers amazing rooms!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steelforce
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear guest: Casa Virreyes is grateful for your visit, you may have visited us since last time you were here, if not, please allow us to be of service once again.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is not worth it's cost. Not 100% clean, old towels and bedding. Worst of all, CAN NOT SLEEP due to loud noise and music up to 5 am. Horrible!!!! Wanted to rest and ended up more stressed and tired than when I arrived. Staff just says that every hotel in the old town is noisy, don't do much to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

Dear guest: How unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us due to the noise. The location of our hotel is well displayed on our web site and the noise on the down town streets it is beyond our control specially during a holiday. We can however assure you that most of our guests mainly enjoy...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This could be a great little hotel, but my impression was there was a lack of attention to detail by the management. On the plus side the location is great. The building itself is quite attractive, our room was plenty large for a family of four, the renovation is relatively new, and there is a wonderful deck off the third...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sfillipow
Edelmira H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this review

We welcome your comments, which allow us to improve every day. As you suggested, we are giving more attention from management, and we are working on the verification of housekeeping. Also made ​​some changes with the staff and we are renewing our bedding and making some changes to the decor for the hotel does not look so cold. We hope...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 km away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
427 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
522 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#12 of 56 in Guanajuato
72 reviews
0.1 km away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
216 reviews
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Virreyes

Address: Plaza de la Paz, 49 y 51, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Price Range: $84 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Virreyes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa Virreyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Casa Virreyes staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Casa Virreyes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third floor is the least noisy. Ask for a room with a view; otherwise you will get a room with no view at all.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“since it's an old old building, wifi doesn't travel well, hav a seat in the atrium dining area for good reception, also go up to the roof for a great view!”
 of 5 bubbles steelforce, 12 Nov 2014 | Read review
“You might try and stay on the opposite side of Plaza de la Paz...the Cathedral bells may not be so loud. Unfortunately, they ring before every mass (at least four masses, starting as early as 7AM when were were there), and they ring the bells 30 and 15 minutes before mass, and at the start!”
 of 5 bubbles sfillipow, 4 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Rooms next to the Basilica although sheltered from street noise, are subject to the church bells in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Mjohengen, 30 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs are less noisy; downstairs rooms are VERY close to kitchen and dining area! Rooms have a rotating electric fan, but in July it cools off nicely at night due to occassional rain showers. Free wi-fi in lobby and in many rooms. They offer tours but they PACK in the vans to get more money (kind of uncomfortable) so maybe ask how many people will be on tour with you!”
 of 5 bubbles lalalopez, 18 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay