We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostel Amigo Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostel Amigo Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

No matter how I like Mexico city and Mexican, I have to vote this hostel low. I booked two nights staying here, arrived at 1 pm, was told check in at 3 pm, waiting there for a while and could't stand the strong wood oil painting smell, I decided to take a walk and came back at 3pm. Nobody at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bella R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We dropped in after a long day of travelling late in the evening aka we just wanted a bed. We got the private room which was 600 pesos a night. We reluctantantly paid, however after doing some research the next day you can get a private room in an Airbnb for a lot cheaper. As we arrived late the dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess745
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Great location, just two blocks from the main square. Our Suite was very spacious indeed. The staff were very kind and friendly and helped us with printing boarding passes etc. It's very noisy with the street outside and people shouting in the main courtyard at all hours. The bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. The whole hostel could do with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becca S
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Long story short: I really enjoyed this hostel! Clearly it's not as luxurious as a boutique hotel but because of that it feels homely! While the environment is not immaculate, the daily housekeeping keeps it ship-shape. Plus, even a shared dorm room gets its own in-suite bathroom! At such a low rate, you still get so many amenities like towel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
United States
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This hostel will serve as a place for you to rest your head, that's it. It's FAR from luxurious, it's a party hostel that's fighting being one. In all, with this one, you're getting what you're paying for. WiFi only functions in the common area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JussEricMatthew
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Amigo Suites, responded to this review

Hello, Eric, Thanks for your comments. We'd like to know if you could elaborate on what we can do to improve the quality of our services, as we're always trying to provide the best to all our friends. Your opinion is very important to us. Greetings, Amigo Group

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

The location is very good 5 min walk to the zocalo. The staff was nice and assisted with everything and the wifi and the free breakfast on the roof was nice. The room was small and pretty dirty, there were stains on the towels and you could hear your neighbor flush the toilet... For a hostel its a nice place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dekel1
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Amigo Suites, responded to this review

Hello, Dekel. Thank you very much for your comments, it's good to know you had a good time despite the inconveniences. Knowing so helps us to improve in what we do, we work everyday to provide the best service to all our friends. We hope you come back soon. Best regards, Amigo Group

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days but we had to leave three days early. The room was basic, which is fair enough for the price. However what we didn't expect was a bed so hard that I imagine the inmates at Brixton prison have a more comfortable night's sleep. The sheets also had blood stains. The TV didn't work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cory C
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Amigo Suites, responded to this review

Hello, Cory. Thank you very much for your comments, we are deeply sorry you didn't have the best experience while staying with us. We offer you an apology, and assure you we're working to provide the best service to all our friends. We hope you come back soon and let us show you by then that we've improved. Best regards,...

Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Stay away. Vile and filthy. Blood on the sheets and bed covers, bugs everywhere. No air con, noisy. The bed is like being in prison. The desk staff are very pushy with selling their tours. I checked out after 1 night. Just awful. Stay away. Vile vile vile.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Walsh12345
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Amigo Suites, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you very much for your comments, we are sorry you didn't have the best experience while staying with us. We offer you an apology, and assure you we're working to provide the best service to all our friends. We hope you come back soon and let us show you by then that we've improved. Best regards, Amigo Group

Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We stayed in this hospitable hotel for 3 weeks and enjoyed every moment. Our very reasonable tariff included buffet breakfast and dinner which were very enjoyable .We had a very spacious suite with a balcony and a kitchenette , large bathroom and sitting area. The staff were outstanding and Victor who welcomed us all individually to breakfast each day was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EricaDavid
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Amigo Suites, responded to this review

Hello, Erica. Thank you very much for your comments, it's good to know you had a good time while staying with us. Knowing so helps us to improve in what we do, we work everyday to provide the best service to all our friends. We hope you come back soon. Best regards, Amigo Group

Ciudad de México
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Very loudy hotel. There was noise, slapping doors and people shouting from 7:30 am and until midnight. You can hear everything in the other rooms. Ours was just dirty. Obviously, no cleaning service nor equipment in the bathroom But : good location, clean common bathroom and great breakfasts & diners Okay if you just want the cheapest without confort

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frédéric T
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Amigo Suites, responded to this review

Hello, Frederic. Thank you very much for your comments, we are working to provide the best service to all our friends. We hope you will come back to Mexico City and give us the chance to show you such improvements in the quality of our service. Best regards. Amigo Group

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 307 in Mexico City
1,182 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 307 in Mexico City
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#18 of 192 in Mexico City
181 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 192 in Mexico City
359 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#5 of 192 in Mexico City
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro Historico

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro Historico
The beating heart of the city lies within Centro Histórico, the vast expanse of historical buildings and monuments that are a must when exploring Mexico City. Places such as the Museo Biblioteca Palacio Postal, Casa de los Azulejos and Palacio de Bellas Artes are the perfect eye candy for anyone seeking to admire arts and architecture. Don't forget to visit the wide variety of markets and plazas where any vintage item, handicrafts and jewelry characteristic of each state in Mexico can be found on Sundays. Admire majestic views of the city from the Monumento a la Revolución and Torre Latinoamericana, and round out the experience with restaurants of all cuisines nearby.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Services included: Breakfast Buffet, Dinnet Buffet, Internet, Wifi. All rooms ensuited and cable TV in all Private Rooms.Hostel Amigo Suites, sister hostel to the original and famous Hostel Amigo opens its doors in 2011 with the best facilities in Mexico City. The place was designed with private rooms and small dormitories, all with private bathroom inside the room. They were planned with travelers like you in mind, so that you can find the comfort and privacy you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Amigo Suites

Address: Luis Gonzalez Obregon 14 | Col. Centro Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Price Range: $14 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Amigo Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Amigo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Amigo Suites Mexico City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Amigo Suites staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Amigo Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Again, understand that you're going to get what you're paying for.”
 of 5 bubbles JussEricMatthew, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Suites in the front of the building”
 of 5 bubbles EricaDavid, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Private room was nice. bright and big.”
 of 5 bubbles cherylp499, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Chulabomb, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Make use of the breakfast and dinner. Also the rooftop at sunset is quality”
 of 5 bubbles ryanl592, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay