We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Booking.comUS$21*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 211: English reviews
Start your review of Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
 Click to rate
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hostel is so overcrowded that you cant find a seat at the bar or restuarant. The wifi is baaaaad and the staff are rude and unfriendly. Location is very good and the private rooms were okay but very very warm and there is no fan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethan F
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooftop bar has great views of the city, is well priced and has a very chilled out atmosphere where you can meet other travellers. We enjoyed many cold bottles of Corona for a very good price. We had actually been staying at a hotel not too far from the Zocalo square and wanted to check out the rooftop bar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nottsc1862
Hostelcatedral, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Hi! We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are working to improve our service. Your comments are valuable for us. We'll take in count the suggestions you have pointed out.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In all my years of backpacking I have never felt compelled to write a bad a review, I'm now home after a 3 month trip of Latin American and I still feel the need to write this review. This was one of the worst hostels I've stayed in, mainly because of the vibe and unfriendly/unhelpful staff. - They made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xavier B
Hostelcatedral, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Hello Xavier, First of all, accept our apologies for this “terrible experience” you had at the hostel. Our intention has never been to create this kind of feelings in somebody. Actually, we are feeling a little bit embarrassed because of this. We think that when something starts in the wrong way, everything is ruined and it’s enormously hard to fix...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I need to break down my review into sections for this hostel: Comfort - the rooms are small but there is juuust enough space I guess but hopefully the room isn't full full when you are there. The beds are comfy enough/space is clean Staff - there are a lot of staff, some are nice, some are grumpy, some are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey I
Hostelcatedral, Reservas at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Hello Joey, we are sorry to hear about the situation with your friend. Sometimes, we have bookings and they don't arrive. This could be the case. We have routers in different parts of the hostel, however, the signal can be week in rooms (some walls are thick) that's why we recommend using common areas to the use of internet. Your...

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

OK hostel. Great location. OK breakfast. Rooms are cramped. Toilets can be more clean. OK breakfast. Good rooftop bar Main downfall are the reception staff. They definitely can be more friendly. Also Wi-Fi is limited and very bad speed. Public Wi-Fi on the main zquare is a lot better Too average for the price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khash A
Hostelcatedral, Reservas at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comments. We agree, sometimes the wi fi connection is slow, we recommend working on common areas because signal can be weak on dorms. We are working on improving our service so we will work on the issues you pointed out. We hope you visit us back soon.

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a 6 person mixed room. Large lockers are provided in each room. There were old sheets left over from the previous stay in a bed next to us for two nights straight and maybe longer past our time there. Toilet, shower, and bedrooms were very basic. They weren't dirty per se, but you can tell it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
Hostelcatedral, Reservas at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer, thank you for letting us know your experience. We are sorry to hear you haven’t spent a complete great time with us. We’ll check out the descriptions shown on the different websites to avoid misunderstandings about the room characteristics, maybe we are not giving enough info. We have already talked to the waiter, he’s so sorry about this...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Very basic rooms. We paid the same price at hostel suites DF about 25 mins walk from here and it was much nicer and geared towards backpackers. (They also had three grandmothers who cooked breakfast everyday!) This hostel is geared towards locals who come here just to party. The rooftop is nice but the vibe wasn't great. The rooms themselves...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbsizkahgyca
Hostelcatedral, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We are fully ashamed with the experience you had at the restaurant. We already talked with Edgar about this situation and we concluded it was an unfortunate misunderstanding. We want to let you know his intention was never to overcharge you (this action is illegal in Mexico and he could be fired for this). Edgar doesn’t speak any...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. 2 nights in a private room with shared bathroom & 2 nights in a 6-bed dorm. Both places where quite and clean. You get a towel and shower gel is provided. The hostel has a kitchen and a balcony on 5th floor. You can cook here if you want and chill on the balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mareikeb85
Hostelcatedral, Reservas at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Hello! We are so happy to know all our effort is reflected in a great experience, as the one you have had in the hostel. We feel so motivated to keep on working and being the best option for you. Come back soon!

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

This was my 2nd time here. Came back for the rooftop bar and location of hostel. Very close to Zocala square. The rooftop bar has been greatly upgraded compared to a few year ago. MUCH BETTER. Lots of locals do come and fill the area during busy nights. My only compliant is that sound carries very well here. Very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JuannyChico
Hostelcatedral, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately the acoustic of the building sometimes make noise higher. We are working to avoid all the noise possible. We hope you visit us back soon.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Stayed there for only 1 night for Christmas Eve. Good location with a very cheap price. I booked the ensite with balcony, more than I expected. The balcony are hugh! So sad that I was travel alone, as that is a very cool place for a group of friends to chat with the bueatiful cathedral view there! The bad thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
Hostelcatedral, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Hi Joyce? We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. When are you coming back to visit us? We are looking for some options to avoid noise as much as possible, however, the design of the building spreads the sound out. Thank you, your comments are valuable and very helpful for improving our service.

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (250)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 307 in Mexico City
669 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 307 in Mexico City
1,337 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 307 in Mexico City
2,471 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 210 in Mexico City
394 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#3 of 210 in Mexico City
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro Historico

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro Historico
The beating heart of the city lies within Centro Histórico, the vast expanse of historical buildings and monuments that are a must when exploring Mexico City. Places such as the Museo Biblioteca Palacio Postal, Casa de los Azulejos and Palacio de Bellas Artes are the perfect eye candy for anyone seeking to admire arts and architecture. Don't forget to visit the wide variety of markets and plazas where any vintage item, handicrafts and jewelry characteristic of each state in Mexico can be found on Sundays. Admire majestic views of the city from the Monumento a la Revolución and Torre Latinoamericana, and round out the experience with restaurants of all cuisines nearby.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Price Range: $15 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They don't check the sheets and beds, leftover sheets from previous stay was still on some beds in the room.”
Mbsizkahgyca, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you stay here get a room on the lower floors”
  • View from the bar
lukek415, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in the 5th floor its impossible to rest!”
AleGo01, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“chose any other hostel, dont waste your money here.”
monaco-city, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms have poor ventilation -- take a small fan with you.”
robertam761, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$21* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$25
Hotwire.comUS$21
Hotels.comUS$21
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates