We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Mendoza, Argentina
Reviewed 9 February 2015

My weekend in the Hostel was super! I did not have problems regarding the service, reservation, expectations, etc. They were very kind in the treatment and always available to help and give an advice. Recommendation: the free walking tour with "Ivan" To improve: the breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pablo D
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios, sin duda nos ayudan a mejorar¡ Saludos y regresa cuando quieras¡

Decatur, Georgia
Reviewed 30 January 2015

I LOVE this hostel! I recently stayed here for my first visit to Mexico City and I will definitely be back. The staff was friendly, the hostel was clean and as a woman traveling with another female, we felt very safe...both in the hostel and in the area it was located. The rooftop bar was so much fun to hang...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greta1010
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios¡ Saludos¡

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2015

All in all we did have a good time staying here. It's in a superb location, has good security and friendly staff. The rooftop terrace and bar have a great view, though the bar tended to start playing really loud music really early - not exactly an early evening chillout spot. Dorms are ok but bunks are basic - you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghughes87
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, they helpus to get better¡ We will talk with our bartender about his music, but we like to think that our bar its your as well, we are open to change the music, we take request all night long. Our breakfast, has hot and cold food, such as: eggs, hotcakes, fruit, juice, cereal, coffe, bread, etc....

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Not going lie, when I first arrived in Mexico City I was a little worried about finding a good hostel but luckily my local friends there knew where to go. Located right in the middle of Zocalo, this hostel has a fantastic view overlooking Mexico City with plenty of restaurants nearby and the cathedral within a 2 minute walk. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveWandersDotcom
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios. Regresa cuando quieras¡ saludos

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

Positives: Location, almost right on the Zocalo. Great free breakfast, cornflakes, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, hot cakes, toast and coffee. Roof top bar/terrace is nice. Dorm rooms are good, handy with a light and two electrical sockets to charge devices. Negatives: Wifi definatly needs improvement as it cuts out a lot. They do have a couple of computers downstairs but usually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vanessa F
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We are working with our internet provider, this problem its been fix as we speak... Hopefully will be ready really soon¡¡ please come back any time and let us know what do you think about our improvements. We are glad you have fun and enjoy your staying with us¡ Cheers.

Melbourne
Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

This is a good clean hostel. Professionally run and very good location for seeing the zocalo and the cathedral. The bar on the roof it's the best feature. Great views over the zocalo. The only downside is that the private rooms are very basic and that the bar tends to be a little party-hostel-esque. Overall a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios, sin duda nos ayudan a mejorar¡ Sobre las habitaciones privadas, tenemos de diferentes tipos, tamaños y...

Reviewed 17 December 2014 via mobile

ups: small things like two Sockets and a reading lamp at each bunk, small dorm (4 persons), TONS! Of New People everyday perfect for Solo travellers and to get to know People on your Trip. rooftop bar with amazing view, Party every night if You want! LOCATION! directly on the zocalo and Metro is easy to reach. Nice staff, cool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aron M
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios¡ Vuelve cuando quieras... Saludos y por aca nos vemos¡

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2014

I think this use to be a party hostel but is not any more due to the protests. Is nearly deserted, manager was rude and THERE'S NO WIFI. Pay only for your first night when getting there as if you decide you want to leave there's no refunds. I booked a double private room as a treat after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swenswen
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments they help us to get better¡ We apoligize for your bad experience that you have with us, usually people like us¡ We did experience some problems with the wifi, we are working and fixing this matter "RIGHT NOW". I think we offer you some alternatives to help you with the internet problem, right? We have a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2014

So close to everything in Centro Historico! The room I was in had a great view out toward the Cathedral & Zocalo. When I arrived, the staff were friendly and helpful - they let me know about the free breakfast, wifi password and hiring towels. The rooms have giant lockers where you can safely store your things and if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguelita304
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments... We are glad you have fun with us. Come back any time¡ Safe travels

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Catedral is the most regular hotel of the line so far. Bad internet sign, unpleasant customer service especially from the Mexican people in the from desk ( they don't know where they are, they cannot advise you about train lines, they don't even have scissors). Some hand dryer machines don't work,they don't clean the sheets and sweep the room floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CesarSantamaria
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, they helps us to get better... Just so you to know: - We send all our sheets (everyday) to a special loundry service. (we do take care of all our sheets, (cleaning, color, etc) If someboy wants change his (hers) sheets, the only thing that we ask is let us know in the frontdesk and we...

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 303 in Mexico City
1,257 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 303 in Mexico City
568 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 303 in Mexico City
2,310 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 198 in Mexico City
379 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#4 of 198 in Mexico City
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro Historico

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro Historico
The beating heart of the city lies within Centro Histórico, the vast expanse of historical buildings and monuments that are a must when exploring Mexico City. Places such as the Museo Biblioteca Palacio Postal, Casa de los Azulejos and Palacio de Bellas Artes are the perfect eye candy for anyone seeking to admire arts and architecture. Don't forget to visit the wide variety of markets and plazas where any vintage item, handicrafts and jewelry characteristic of each state in Mexico can be found on Sundays. Admire majestic views of the city from the Monumento a la Revolución and Torre Latinoamericana, and round out the experience with restaurants of all cuisines nearby.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Price Range: $14 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you stay here get a room on the lower floors”
  • View from the bar
 of 5 bubbles lukek415, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in the 5th floor its impossible to rest!”
 of 5 bubbles AleGo01, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“chose any other hostel, dont waste your money here.”
 of 5 bubbles monaco-city, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms have poor ventilation -- take a small fan with you.”
 of 5 bubbles robertam761, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a lower floor and one that faces the street as you will get more of a breeze than a room that faces the inner courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles CanuckChica, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5