We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
Start your review of Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
 Click to rate
Assemini, Italy
Reviewed 12 January 2017

It is In the heart of the city. It is an old but renovated and elegant building. Breakfast is abundant, continental or british/american as well. TV in room. It has a private parking near the hotel. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roburq
Sombra del Agua H, Gerente at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear guest, we´re pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you for share your opinion about our Hotel. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you soon again. Best Regards Carolina Reyes General Manager

Montebello, California
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. The experience was great due to the fact that it is around the corner from the main attractions of this colorful city. We stayed in room number 222 on the second floor. The two beds were very comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was also good and the hot water in the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catabella2013
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The internal courtyards and gardens make this an attractive place, but the maintenance to the rooms needs some attention (security safe didn't work, no plug in the bathroom basin, bathroom window couldn't be secured and there was a musty smell in the room). The reception staff were responsive, but unable to solve some of the shortcomings. The breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DennisJA
HolidayInnSCLC, General Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Carolina Reyes Gerente General

Mexicali, Mexico
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My family visited this hotel while on tour in Chiapas, we had 2 stays during our tour, on the first one we were given a room on the right side of the stairs on the first floor, it wasn't bad but the a/c had a smell that bothered me a little ( humidity maybe...) In our second part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karla014
HolidayInnSCLC, General Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear guest ! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We´re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We take note about your comments to work hard to improve our room quality. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Carolina Reyes General Manager

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 23 April 2016

The Holiday Inn is perfectly located in the heart of San Cristobal, just off the main pedestrian thoroughfare that runs through the middle of the town…the rooms are fairly well appointed, certainly good enough for a night or two. The breakfast spread was very tasty, varied, and good value for money. Service was friendly and efficient. Special thanks to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJOnline
HolidayInnSCLC, General Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We´re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Carolina Reyes General Manager

Boca del Rio, Mexico
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

I enjoy staying at IHG Brand hotels because they offer a standard hospitality and high quality facilities. This hotel was no exception, the check in was fast and neat, they prepared in advance all the paperwork, just two signs and done. The suite was spectacular, my family loved it! There is a garden with a fountain outside the room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mexcbeto
HolidayInnSCLC, General Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear mexcbeto, thank you so much for your review . We appreciate your loyalty to IHG Brand. We´re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us .  We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Carolina Reyes General Manager

Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewed 4 April 2016

the front office staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially since our son's favorite stuffed animal needed to be forwarded to us after our departure... the rooms wasn't very big but we had everything we needed, it was very clean and the breakfast was outstanding. it would be hard to beat the location, which is very central to all attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheSt0rk
HolidayInnSCLC, General Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear TheSt0rk, Thank you very much for your review .We´re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Carolina Reyes General Manager

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel. The room was spacious, cozy, and very clean. It is located near the two main plazas and the cathedral. It is the best area in town, also near nice restaurants, bars, and cafés. We spent a couple of nice days in this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lunazapdos
HolidayInnSCLC, Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear Lunazapdos!!, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.  We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Carolina Reyes General Manger

Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewed 19 February 2016

This is not our first time here, however the room they assigned to us had contact with the sidewalk, I want to believe that is the main reason they have "boarded up" the windows. If you happen to get a room with a street view you will find that they are handsomely hacienda type of windows, with wooden shutters and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cata G
HolidayInnSCLC, General Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear Cata G, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you had during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Carolina Reyes General Manager

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2016

The hotel is centrally located and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The nightclub across the street is noisy after 10 p.m. but this did not affect our sleep. We spent many happy hours in the attractive courtyard which our room overlooked. Unlike other reviewers we enjoyed the buffet breakfasts. The restaurant is pretty deserted at night but there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canbrits
HolidayInnSCLC, General Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review

Dear Canbrits, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Carolina Reyes General Manager

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 km away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
144 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
239 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
125 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
278 reviews
0.2 km away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Calle 1ro. de Marzo 15 | Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espanol)
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $84 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas
San Cristobal De Las Casas Holiday Inn
Sombra Del Agua Hotel San Cristobal San Cristobal De Las Casas, Chiapas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to get a room on the second floor, those are big and very nice”
 of 5 bubbles karla014, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose the inside rooms, for the street level rooms have glassed-up windows.”
 of 5 bubbles catag59, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard view was great”
 of 5 bubbles canbrits, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Requesting a quiet room did not work for us. Maybe you will have better luck.”
 of 5 bubbles E5096XBkarenb, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the nightclub noise”
 of 5 bubbles janew268, 14 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5