We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residences El Faro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residences El Faro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residences El Faro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 12 December 2013

PROS: - beautiful scenery - luxurious room - big swimming pool by the sea - great location CONS: - lack of safety (an iPhone charger was stolen from our room after the housekeeping came by-we were worried for the rest of the trip, going through our things to make sure nothing's missing) - we were offered a free breakfast (not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stella J
Trevor C, Owner at Residences El Faro, responded to this review

WE are sorry you too had to endure a time share pitch, although no is an answer. We are however distressed to hear you believe property was stolen from your room. Please email Silvia at elfarooperations@gmail.com so we can investigate and respond. We have several property managers hired by owners managing individual condos, so we would really like to follow...

Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Our room was very beautiful. We stayed in room Reef 101 for about a week and the staff was very nice. Our flight was canceled on our last day and they were willing to help us stay and extra night until the airline could book us another flight out. I will definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Desi A
Denton, Texas
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Fortunately we missed the big snow/ice storm here in Texas because we were at our beautiful residence club at El Faro. Unfortunately, we just got home and I ALREADY miss my home away from home. Like always, our vacation was everything we expected and more. We have been a member at El Faro for 2 years now, we stay 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nt1010
calgary, ab
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here last year and had a great experience which is why we booked again for this January. Got a call today one month from our arrival date that they have over-booked the Hotel and the have moved us to another hotel. We were 6 adults booked in a 3bedroom oceanfront condo.. Now booked into a 1 bdrm (not even...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Cudabear88
Trevor C, Owner at Residences El Faro, responded to this review

I would be furious too. We are sorry to heart of your experience, but would like to know who you booked through, who handled your original booking, who moved you and to where. We were unaware of your situation until you posted on Trip Advisor, did you contact El Faro directly?. I find it interesting you blame the physical property...

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

My family & I just arrived back home from yet another great vacation at El Faro! We have been vacation club members here for 2 years now & absolutely love it! This makes trip number five for us. We are so spoiled! The service, amenities, and of course the place itself is gorgeous! Perfect view of the Caribbean, hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GJR3192
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This is a condo-hotel rental. Its location, room size, VIEW, property is AMAZING! You just can't beat being in the HEART of Playa! They are currently going through new management so the amenities are NONE...(as of right now) but once everything gets situated this will probably the best place to stay while in Playa!!!! The pool is unbeatable with its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MnWandy
wichita
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here again for the second time this year using our membership, and everything seems to be perfect, beautiful place excellent service gorgeous views, seems to be some confusion over the last administrator but our Vacation club membership and the people that helped us are exactly what we were promised, Restaurant was closed when we were there but theres...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mauraf92
Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at El Faro for 7 nts and actually our 2BR 2BA condo was well appointed, and we didn't experience any major problems....but this place is having some troubles. It was evident when many guests arriving who booked through a tour company had no reservations. We talked to a couple who had $1000 in cash taken from their condo....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Judy K
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have stayed here and many other places in Playa Del Carmen. This is a excellent location! Safe and secure, walking distance to everything you need. I am extending my stay as i write. I have been VERY fortunate to rent my stays with the right people here and have had several great stays. Only the usual issues one has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TunaTravels
Morelia
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have arrived (5 adults) and originally paid for a 3 bedroom condo with wifi access, but the room we have received had no internet and had a room with a storey bed. Finally they changed our room, but in the other room the tv in the main bedroom did not work, the owen in the kitchen did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jolie40
Trevor C, Owner at Residences El Faro, responded to this review

We are sorry and disappointed that your stay was not up to your expectations. We are in a transition from the disastrous management of Encanto who left us with no reservations or accounting records. We had no choice but to cancel all reservations and reconstruct. We have several property managers employed by homeowners. We would be most interested in knowing...

292 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (286)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,534 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,543 reviews
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
652 reviews
0.4 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
600 reviews
0.2 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#78 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our beautiful exclusive condominium property is nestled in the heart of downtown Playa del Carmen, and perfectly situated right on the beach. Our 65 suites have a fully equipped kitchen, dining and living room area. The complex is comprised of three buildings, Reef, Coral and Surf, with one, two and three bedroom suites. These individually owned condominiums are spacious and each offers its own distinct style. Owners and guests enjoy our expansive pool, or basking in the sun on our beach front lounge chairs. Enjoy the view from your balcony; the impressive colours of the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residences El Faro

Address: 10th Street, Between 1st Avenue And the Beach | on the beach, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto El Faro)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $313 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residences El Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residences El Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanto El Faro Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Residences El Faro Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residences El Faro staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Silvana, Washington
4 months ago
Alba, Texas
8 months ago
Underwood, North Dakota, United States

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Residences El Faro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views: Surf 208, Coral 303; Quiet: Reef/Coral block; Take 1hr massage. 30mins covers face down.”
  • Morning view of sea, pool and ground floor from coral 301
  • Looking towards balcony from kitchen of Coral 301
  • Furniture on balcony and looking into living from balcony of Coral 301
  • Looking at the sea/balcony from master bath of Coral 301
  • Looking at the sea from kitchen  of Coral 301
  • Part of balcony and entrance to balcony from both master bed and living of Coral 301
  • Looking into master bed and bath from balcony of Coral 301
GKPai, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 205 Surf”
JReed1956, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms in surf have view of sunrise”
oilers99, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get your property management reps phone number. The front desk doesn't help as the condos are individually owned.”
jamescN3066OO, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would choose a room on the reef side for less noise”
michelleg57, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5