We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel El Tukan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel El Tukan
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I did buy a Deluxe room. I was assiged to a bad and dirty room. Bad service. High price for low service. Bad service front desk. Restaurante tulips is not bad but once my dish has 1 woman hair. Bathroom besides front desk was dirty

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Otávio A
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotels website is miss leading!!!!! It offers kool beach... thats a lie!!!! Was very disappointed. The room was ok smelled of sewer. Beds were ok to sleep on small hard pillows. Air conditioning was a plus. It was right on 5th ave. the big plus for this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aesilva3
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for the visit, have a great day.

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was right on 5th, close to shopping and the beach but far enough off the main to be fairly quiet. Staff were great. We added a few days and the all inclusive, which was a little on the high end, but workable. Pool area was small with limited recliners, another give up at three to get a seat. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robsreviews1
Akron, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been to a few resorts, condo rentals and hotels in playa del Carmen , we would not stay here again. Front desk greeters were just ok, no phone in rooms so if you needed more towels you have to go to the desk and wait.very basic room, we had what they called a "suite", had to ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 59lisan2013
Alberta
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were well aware this wasn't a 5 star place, and in fact, we were surprised how nice it was, given the price and some reviews. Things are basic in rooms, and the place is aging, but grounds and pool are nice. Only real complaint with the room itself was the bed being too hard, which is common at cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubasavage
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

We thank a lot your comments, have a great day.

Kelowna, BC, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay, my mom (77) sister (53) stayed here from Jan.26th, 2017 to Feb. 2, 2017. Overall it was a good experience and the large beautiful trees and greenery makes you feel so relaxed and like you are in a jungle. We got a super cheap deal off of TripCentral (travel broker for Air Canada Vacations and others) for $765...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank OkanaganGals
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Thank you very much, hope to see you again soon!

Ottawa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very well located in the middle of all the action....We were premium all inclusive guest in room 312...Room was ok except for shower which need to be redone...Yes we did ear lots of noise during the night (Light sleepers beware) Food in restaurants was good....Kool beach club was very very nice....Living Bar had super drinks and beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rushrush70
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much, it was a pleasure to have you home with us, see you soon.

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am not sure why this hotel gets negative reviews. First of all, if you are looking for 5 star amenities then book a 5 star. We knew going in what to expect and it exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 10 days with the Premium all inclusive plan. I would say it was definitely worth it as the food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TLMB M
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, it is always a pleasure to have you home with us, hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There are some negative reviews of El Tukan on tripadvisor. The concierge, Jesus located a lost bag. He found us at the breakfast buffet the following day. Only good experiences with all staff here. The room is updated. Great mattress, lots of hot water, good pressure. Fruit bowl and water bottles in the room upon arrival. Towel art and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

It is always our pleasure to serve you, hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed 17 February 2017

I stayed here for a few days and it's quite okay. My room was large enough, bed was huge (!!) and the AC worked pretty good. Bathroom was basic, but clean. Best of all is the location: right in the middle of the tourist area. So when looking for a bar or restaurant, just step outside and you found them!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Hi Peter, thank you very much for your visit, have a great day.

1,216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (628)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (74)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (209)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (565)
Viewed
900 Block Pool (11)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (63)
Viewed
Main Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (142)
Viewed
Standard Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 km away
Nina Hotel
Nina Hotel
#134 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
0.1 km away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#117 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
349 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#133 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
556 reviews
1.0 km away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
260 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#112 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel El Tukan

Address: 5a Avenida Norte, Entre 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $62 - $816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Tukan 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel El Tukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tukan Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Tukan Condotel Hotel
El Tukan Condotel Suites Beach Club
Hotel El Tukan Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Tukan staff and other travellers.
55 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (55)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Tukan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“What i did buy from this hotel was diferent what i did received - Pay $$$ for few”
 of 5 bubbles 60ot_vioa, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to have their own character, we lucked out on the top floor, one room. It was great.”
 of 5 bubbles robsreviews1, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 304 at all cost, you WILL be woken at 6 am everyday by staff banging around! Top floor rooms may be better....”
 of 5 bubbles scubasavage, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Huge ice machine near pool area, stay away. Noise is terrible.”
 of 5 bubbles dfraticelli, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a more quiet room as for an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles Dansav301, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5