We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,694: English reviews
Cannes, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Employees super. Very helpful. Breakfast people so nice. Bathrooms could do with facelift. Certain bedrooms little old fashioned, could also do with facelift. Hotel is very well placed, near coffee shops, restaurants and beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U325LKcatherined
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client, Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means...

Harlev, Denmark
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Just returned after 10 wonderful days at this hotel in Mexico. We very much liked the location, because it was near to everything. We could enjoy the beach within 5 minutes walk and shopping possibilities as well. The staff at this hotel was extremely helpfull and their hospitality was excellent in general. A speciel thanks to Emanuel in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannelundquist2017
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Lundquist Family, Thank you so much for taking time out to write about our boutique hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay here with us and we thank you for your preference. We sincerely hope to see you both back at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. On behalf of management and staff we wish you all...

Delburne, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Excellent staff -helpful and very friendly. We would go back to this place in a heart beat. La Tortuga is close to 5th Ave, Coco Bongo and not far from Sr. Frog's . You can book your tours from the hotel at the same rate as the vendors on 5th Ave without any other requirements (listening to a selling speech)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathyrogowski05
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, Thank you for sharing your comments with us, it is always a great reward to hear that we have exceeded our client’s expectations which is what we are always striving to achieve. We have shared your comments with our staff and they extremely pleased and appreciate you taking time out to thank them. Please keep in touch with...

Reviewed 20 February 2017

La Tortuga was a cozy little boutique hotel right downtown. Walking distance to all the bars and restaurants around fifth avenue. Only a couple blocks to the beach and the pool was also nice. Everyone at the resort was extremely friendly and accommodating. Very reasonable rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you for sharing your comments with us, it is always a great reward to hear that we have exceeded our client’s expectations which is what we are always striving to achieve. We have shared your comments with our staff and they extremely pleased and appreciate you taking time out to thank them. Please keep in touch with...

Reviewed 18 February 2017

.the hotel is lovely we love the pool aria ,our room was not very spices but the terrace was very big overlook the street.fantastic bed huuuuuge speciali for my bad back.the aircon brill plus the cieling fan dann the job.mini fridge and safe bonus .this place is truly paradise.staf very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanagnes
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client, Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and attention to detail and your comments means...

Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewed 17 February 2017

If you want a convenient place and reasonable place to stay, this is it. Lush surroundings. rooms are just fine. Motel 6 price but upgraded. quiet location and just 2 blocks from 5th Avenue which is a zoo. I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monique Pearl M
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Monique, Thank you for taking time and writing your review about your experience at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Once again, on behalf of management and staff, we thank you for your comments, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and...

Bodo, Norway
Reviewed 17 February 2017

From the staff in the restaurant, to the bartender at the pool bar, very friendly and it was always service with a smile. At the front desk they was very helpful and informative. All in all it was a great stay and I highly recommend this hotel for your next vac👌🏾👍🏽

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimani N
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear much values guest, Thank you for taking time and writing your review about your experience at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Once again, on behalf of management and staff, we thank you for your comments, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Bad customer service, not family friendly, rude staff. Only interested in money and not your welfare. Do yourself a favor and stay at another hotel. Rooms were small. They told so many lies and had so many stipulations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank msp772
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Much valued client, Thank you for taking the time to review La Tortuga Hotel & Spa . We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are working to achieve a better service and your comments are a great help to identify our areas of improvement. Regards,

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Great location just off 5th avenue. Would have liked to have a bit more sun in the courtyard and use the hot tub but the vegetation is so high that the sun can't peek through. Hot tub was cold. We had a swim up room but it was too cold to go in the water. The concierge was very helpful....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 44sue4444_44
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client, Thank you for taking time and writing your review about your experience at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Once again, on behalf of management and staff, we thank you for your comments, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Off the busy central street,Fifth Avenue, is this quiet and lovely oasis. The courtyard area has meandering pools and hot tub shaded by trees and very insulating to the outside hustle and bustle. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious , clean and quiet. Everyone is more than helpful. Best value in Playa.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sylukin
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Much Valued Client, Thank you for taking time and writing your review about your experience at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Once again, on behalf of management and staff, we thank you for your comments, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming...

1,624 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1305)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (208)
Viewed
Room/Suite (207)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
5:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (446)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with Terrace (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,347 reviews
0.4 km away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,658 reviews
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,258 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
822 reviews
0.4 km away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium, meeting facilities,ice machine, water treadmill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $128 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Tortuga Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from La Tortuga Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the pool are quieter!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Mike-Sharron, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't park between the hotel and Quinta Avenida, even if there isn't a visible sign not to park or the curb is not painted yellow. We parked there for a few hours and the cops took the front plate away, so we had to pay a fine at the Transit office (which is an adventure in itself to find). At the Transit bureau, no one cared about the fact that there was no way to know that parking is not permitted in that particular area. This gives a terrible impression or the traffic regulations in this city.”
 of 5 bubbles 123mannya, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Little difficult with carrying luggage upstairs. Warning when booking with booking.com as any corrections with rooms would not be honoured. Had a couple back out and room could not be reimbursed or we could not use money from that room to upgrade with hotel”
 of 5 bubbles rogowskir, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't face Cocobongo.”
 of 5 bubbles kim484, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room towards the pool area”
 of 5 bubbles hannelundquist2017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5