We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Posada Yum Kin

Traveller (414)
Room & Suite (408)
Pool & Beach (87)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $10 USD per day each.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Hidden Gems
Traveller rating
  • 478
  • 140
  • 24
  • 6
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Iana T
Reviewed 1 week ago
This is our fifth year that we visited Tulum and stayed at Posada Yum Kin. We usually stay for 2 weeks there with our 2 kids, ages 3 and 5. We feel like we are going home when we stay at this lovely place. In fact our kids call it home. We love it that we have a kitchen there and can cook at night. Taxis to the beach are easy to get and we like to explore the little stores in the neighborhood. Overall, a great value place to stay while in Tulum. The plus would be that we always meet interesting people and families staying there!
Thank Iana T
Response from Dan - Balvina B, Director de Recepción at Posada Yum Kin
Responded 1 week ago
Dear family, many thanks for your visit, it is a honor to received you every year and see how your beautiful family enjoy the place, we appreciate that you choose PYK to spend your vacations and we hope to see you next year. Best regards
Ikast, Denmark
Reviewed 2 weeks agovia mobile
Nice room in top, clean and fine breakfast. Great little cosy complex build in Nice materials. Coffee not so good and bed is quite soft. Normally the hotel was next to the jungle, but the government gave some land to some poor people, so now the hotel is fronting a slum village. It gave us a different experience, as we really saw local life in Tulum. But it also gave noise from dogs, kids and a lot of smoke from burning garbage. I feel Sorry for the hotel owners, as they can do nothing about it.
Thank TripMember09242015
Response from Dan - Balvina B, Director de Recepción at Posada Yum Kin
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your visit, we appreciate your comments, unfortunately for us and owners, we can´t don nothing with the situation, but some people can understand that, like you.
Sarah B
Reviewed 5 weeks agovia mobile
This place is fantastic. Aside from a few things being a bit overpriced (snacks at the front office, laundry service), everything was wonderful here. Breakfast is especially good, the coffee is amazing! The pool wasn’t too busy when we were there, it was very relaxing to cool off in after a long and hot day of exploring. Very clean, staff are personable and attentive, pricing is great.

The hotel is in an empoverished neighbourhood, which may be shocking when you arrive at first, but the residents were all very friendly and we never felt unsafe there. A lot of these people are living without running water and basic necessities, but they’re incredibly welcoming and happy to have people there contributing to the local economy.

We’ll be back here when we’re in Tulum next, for sure.
Thank Sarah B
Response from Dan - Balvina B, General Manager at Posada Yum Kin
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your comments Sara, we appreciate that values the work we do every day so that all our guests are happy and enjoy their stay with us, we feel the prices, however it is not something that employees can establish , nevertheless we will take into account that point and we will gention something about it, it was a pleasure to receive you, when they want to come back here we wait for you.
Azusa, California
Reviewed 30 Oct 2018via mobile
Don’t be fooled by the location as you are driving to this hotel. I booked this hotel around 10:30 PM iand was able to check in 10 minutes after I booked without any issues. It was a bit difficult to find however once we arrived we were shown to our room and told we could handle the check in the following day since they saw we were tired. They told us about breakfast which we normally do not get up for but decided to try it and it was delicious. The staff recommended a couple of places to visit and they were super friendly.The place was super clean and affordable. I highly recommend this place if you’re looking to relax and enjoy a quiet time.
Thank Trek274924
Response from Dan - Balvina B, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin
Responded 31 Oct 2018
Thank you very much for your visit, we give the best of us to provide the best service, it is pleasant to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and do not hesitate to return that we will be gladly waiting for you. Best PYK Team
Reviewed 3 Sep 2018via mobile
We stayed an entire week at Pasada Yun Kim in Room 1 - out Agar was amazing. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. Giving us advice on where to visit and things to do. The hotel is a small 13 room place and we were in down season. So it often felt like we were the only ones there in our own hacienda escape. The pool was a great reprieve for the afternoon heat after returning from a day of activities. The AC was freezing cold. The breakfast were good and fresh. And the bed comfortable. The hotel used to be in the middle of a local area, which we liked; experiencing the people and the culture over being locked away in a resort. There are many taco al pastor and pollo asado stands around in walking distance, fresh fruit stands. Some may be put off at seeing the “real” side off Mexico, but everyone was extremely friendly. We walked most of our days to the town. The beaches were a bit far, even on bike, but given the current sargassum / seaweed issues, we were fine - we visited many cenotes in the area. A great sit down restaurant “Takos Kukulkan” right down the road (their review to follow - that tacos were the best I’d ever had - and I’m from Texas) The office staff were Great! Nayeli was amazing - even spent the day confirming our transfers for us when I couldn’t get through.

I am only giving a 4 Star for the reason that the hotel no longer offers bike rentals - it is listed on the website, not a huge problem, just inconvenient to have to go into town to rent. Many of the hostels and hotels offer bikes in the area. Some may complain that there is no bar.... but the rooms have blenders, so cold frozen margs were not an issue! We will surely return.
Thank Kobegracie
Response from Dan - Balvina B, Director de Recepción at Posada Yum Kin
Responded 10 Sep 2018
Thank you very much for your visit and for your valuable comments, it was a pleasure to receive you, it is very nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, the goal is to make you feel at home, come back when you want us to be here and about the bicycles, we feel much longer to be able to provide the service, since due to our hotel rotation, the taxes to pay for the service are high, which would affect in some way the economy of the visitors or on the contrary it would not work, since the price could not be the right one. Best regards, see you soon.
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
24 August 2017|
Response from Dan - Balvina B | Property representative |
Hello, will be a pleasure welcome you at home, we have 1 bigger room who have 3 single beds and 1 king bed in the same room, but separate bedroom, for make a booking you need paid the half of the total amount of your bill... More
23 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Dan - Balvina B | Property representative |
Hello Laura, Many thanks for your interest in staying at Posada Yum Kin, it would be a great honor to have you as our guests. We include breakfast everyday of your stay, our facilities feature a pool and we have free... More
Google Translation
Alisia S
10 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dan - Balvina B | Property representative |
Hello Alisia Thanks for contact to us, we have a small restaurant where the breakfast is served, is open just for breakfast, but if you like to eat or dinner there, you let us know, we can offer you a menu according at your... More
Room Tips
"all the rooms have unique decor and character"
1 week ago
Read review
"i would pick pool view!"
29 Aug 2018
Read review
"All the rooms are unique and well kept"
24 Jul 2018
Read review
"Stayed in room 11, it was nice and sunny and had a good view, no kitchen."
8 Apr 2018
Read review
Show More 
US$71 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
posada yum kin tulumposada yum kin hotel tulum
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulum
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing