We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Creggans Inn

Booking.comUS$139*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$139*
US$139*
US$139*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Creggans Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Creggans Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Cairndow
Reviewed 23 February 2015

As a local who recently wrote a really bad review of the Creggans I have been 4 times since that review as I was assured the new chef raised the bar. Pleased to say the food has been good, the menu more varied for starters and mains. The staff have never been a problem and 4 of us enjoyed a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James N
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Thanks James for updating your review. We're delighted to hear you're enjoying your local Inn again. See you again soon, Archie.

Glasgow
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We've lunched here before as a handy stop off when in the Cowal peninsula and it's not that much of a detout off the main Inverarary/Oban road if touring the West Coast. You can't buy the location or views but this place does not rest on its laurels. A friendly, warm and informal atmosphere is the vibe. We were checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARDNAHOE
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We loved reading all about your stay with us and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our team. We'll look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Best wishes, Archie.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Had great lunches over the years and tried for an overnight stay and it was just as friendly with fresh seafood, great beers and wines, with the great views and good weather, this is hard to beat. The Inn has family members playing around and makes it casual and friendly with red squirrels in the lawn, peaceful with great sunsets....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Thank you David for your review, you managed to see the red squirrels!! We're very pleased they're staying around for our guests. Look forward to seeing you again sometime, although I can't always promise red squirrels! Best wishes, Archie.

Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

Having last visited almost 20 years ago, I warned my fiancé that the Creggans was fabulous in its day however, I did not know if if would be the same today - how wrong was I?!? We were welcomed by a lovely gentleman and two fabulous and friendly dogs who my daughter instantly fell in love with! I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Funkeemonkee77
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Hello Funkeemonkee77, (great name by the way!) Thank you so much for your review. It sums up what so many of our guests feel when they visit us having had memories of The Creggans with their own parents. We're delighted it met your expectations and it’s super special to us that you are creating new memories for your children to...

Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Just had a excellent Valentines diner hear tonight, food was excellent ,staff very friendly and welcoming ,service was fantastic ,anyone visiting Strachur should pop in for a spot off lunch or diner ,we have stayed hear on many occasions and it was great just wish we where staying tonight as breakfast is superb ,excellent value for money .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Novajane F
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Thank you NovaJane F, Fantastic review, we're over the moon! Best wishes from all the team here, Archie.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Have had lunch at the Creggans on two occasions, which have been very good, especially as our dog was allowed in the bar. On the strength of that we wanted to stay the night as it is described as a dog friendly hotel, and sample the fine dining menu. Imagine our surprise, when told pets cannot be left on their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RussellH39
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Dear RussellH39 I’m so sorry you don’t agree with our dog policy. We love having dogs around and we are happy to have them in the bar and the rooms, but as with some other hotels unfortunately we can’t allow them to be left alone in a strange room where many of them feel lonely and scrape the doors and...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Dropped in for lunch today while out for a drive in the stunning local area. Good bar lunch, soup and sandwiches with soft drinks in comfortable surroundings even if the decor is slightly dated. Good service and will call again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jgmatsea
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We're really pleased you enjoyed our food, I'll pass your comments onto Chef and the kitchen team. See you again soon, Archie.

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We had wanted to stay at this hotel for a long time. As is our usual way of doing things, we tried it for a meal first. The restaurant was almost empty but the waitress seemed to be too harassed to concentrate on her (very few) customers. The latter part of our order was given to her retreating back. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horan2015
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Hello Horan2015 We were really disappointed to read this review. We really did try our very best to satisfy your dietary requirements, an ingredient which is included in our handmade burgers. Your waitress, on hearing this did go back and forwards to speak to chef working with him to try and find something you could eat. Chef was happy to...

Huntly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Joined a group of friends for 3 days deer stalking and had wonderful stay at this hotel. Cannot recommend highly enough. Other reviews reflect my own and our group feeling - well run, clean, staff excellent, value for money and great food. Located on edge of the Loch, Archie and his staff were first class and took care of us....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrew p
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for such detailed feedback, the extra information really helps other guests thinking of booking or who have booked with us. Come back soon, it was great having you all to stay. Archie.

Manchester, Georgia
Reviewed 6 February 2015

My new husband and I visited The Creggans Inn while in Scotland for our honeymoon. The entire trip was wonderful, but The Creggans was, by far, the best experience our time in the UK. We had a beautiful room overlooking the stunning Lock Fyne. The attention to detail is overwhelming. The staff were all so kind and accommodating. And dinner,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Issy4110
ArchieMacLellan, Owner at The Creggans Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for such a fantastic review. It was our pleasure having you stay to celebrate your honeymoon. Hopefully we've left you with many happy memories to treasure. See you again when you're next back in Scotland! Best wishes, Archie.

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strachur
5.5 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,338 reviews
22.5 km away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
614 reviews
6.3 km away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
407 reviews
19.4 km away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
337 reviews
37.9 km away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Creggans Inn is an award-winning, family-run hotel and offers the perfect retreat for the discerning guest. Each of our 14 bedrooms has been individually decorated and has its own disinct character, ideal for relaxing and unwinding in. Many of our rooms feature breathtaking views over Loch Fyne. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Creggans Inn

Address: Strachur House Loch Fyne | Argyll, Strachur PA27 8BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Strachur
Price Range: $223 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Creggans Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Creggans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creggans Hotel Strachur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Creggans Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Creggans Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a loch view”
johnmQ668AV, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 18 is lovely and has a great view over the Loch”
mcneillgordon, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have a dog take one of the rear coms with Garden view as there is a separate stair and entrance.”
G8515VPjohnh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not recommended for those who cannot use stairs (no lift) we had room 16 which was lovely - and warm!”
  • view from first floor residents lounge
  • view from bedroom
  • view of Loch and garden from bedroom
960anns, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the Loch”
jimc158, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$139* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$139
TripAdvisorUS$139
Agoda.comUS$139
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates