We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hostel Urbano

    In front of the Kennedy Park, San Pedro 645-7050, Costa Rica
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29 Oct 30 Oct
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$14
    View Deal
    Traveller (25)
    Dining (8)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Hotel Santo Tomas
    961 reviews
    #7 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    Hotel Casa Cambranes
    137 reviews
    #14 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    Hotel Ave del Paraiso
    99 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in San Pedro
     
    Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
    174 reviews
    #22 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    Overview
    • Excellent80%
    • Very good18%
    • Average1%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “pool table” (25 reviews)
    “pancakes” (28 reviews)
    “the kitchen” (18 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Family Rooms
    Multilingual Staff
    Laundry Service
    Pool
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Hotel Santo Tomas
    961 reviews
    #7 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    Hotel Casa Cambranes
    137 reviews
    #14 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    Hotel Ave del Paraiso
    99 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in San Pedro
     
    Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
    174 reviews
    #22 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (215)
    There are newer reviews for Hostel Urbano
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    31 - 35 of 174 reviews

    Reviewed 9 August 2016

    I stayed in a private bedroom with ensuite bathroom and it was super cheap. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and it has everything I needed. It's in a great location close to public transportation. I would definitely stay here...More

    Thank Abril S
    Response from Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel UrbanoResponded 17 October 2016

    Hi!! Thanks a lot for your review! We are glad you had a great time here at Urbano, our staff members always try to help and make our guests feel like at home :). Indeed we have different rooms: dorms, and privates with or without...More

    Reviewed 28 July 2016

    Stayed in a private room as a couple with shared bathroom. Not the cheapest option - but for us it was worth the money. Room clean - check, helpful staff - check, free breakfast - check, nice relaxed atmosphere - check. Plus Wifi and the...More

    Thank 1Jofmany
    Response from Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel UrbanoResponded 1 August 2016

    Hola!! Thank you very much for your lovely review! It's always nice to read that our guests had a great time here at Hostel Urbano and in other places of our beautiful country! As staff members we always try to help all our guests with...More

    Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

    My favorite hostel ever! The dorms are clean and and the beds are cozy. Juan, an employee, is the best and makes amazing pancakes in the morning. Pool table, yard space, great kitchen; feels more like an Airbnb than anything. AND there's a cat! What...More

    Thank Smoratz
    Response from Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel UrbanoResponded 19 July 2016

    Hola! Thanks for your lovely review! We love to help all our guests and let them know where they can go to enjoyed their stay here in San Jose center and San Pedro (the bars, restaurants, popular events, the costarrican life...) which is great, because...More

    Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

    Ill keep it short and sweet. This is the best hostel in San Jose. The cat Lola is a doll and Alfonso might be the nicest and most helpful person in Costa Rica. Stay here, you will be happy. The location is incredible and we...More

    Thank kevlar2332
    Response from Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel UrbanoResponded 19 July 2016

    Hi!! Thanks for your lovely review. As staff members we always try to help all your guests with everything they need related to the hostel, the city or other places. We are glad you have fun at the bars near by. We hope you come...More

    Reviewed 6 July 2016

    breakfast = terrible beds = hard was shouted at by a member of staff for watching television 5 minutes it HAD to be off...outrageous also the cat is mangy and horrible and gets in to peoples beds, really unpleasantMore

    Thank alexandermunro
    Response from Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel UrbanoResponded 19 July 2016

    Hi! Hope everything is great!! We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience, but: - You should know that we never yell our guests, and that we always tell them that the TV must be off after 22hrs because we have rooms next...More

    Hotel Santo Tomas
    961 reviews
    #7 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    Hotel Casa Cambranes
    137 reviews
    #14 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    Hotel Ave del Paraiso
    99 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in San Pedro
     
    Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
    174 reviews
    #22 of 78 hotels in San Jose
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Laundry Service
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$12 - US$21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 7
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Urbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Costa Rica >
    • Province of San Jose >
    • San Jose Metro >
    • San Pedro
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (25)
    Dining (8)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Hotel & Grounds (40)
    Family and Play Areas (12)
    Nearby
    Hotel Santo Tomas
    961 reviews
    2.64 km away
     
    Hotel Casa Cambranes
    137 reviews
    .60 km away
     
    Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
    174 reviews
    1.07 km away
     
    Hotel Ave del Paraiso
    99 reviews
    .57 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Na Praia Seafood & Raw Bar
    143 reviews
    .58 km away
    Neshuma
    89 reviews
    .28 km away
    Cafe Kracovia
    138 reviews
    .53 km away
    Le Chandelier
    42 reviews
    .61 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Costa Rican Language Academy CRLA
    58 reviews
    .78 km away
    Universidad de Costa Rica
    175 reviews
    .36 km away
    My Costa Rica
    96 reviews
    1.24 km away
    Interbus
    299 reviews
    1.05 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    crn97
    3 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Hostel U | Property representative |
    Hi! We are one of the most safest countries in Central America, but as any city you must be careful. The hostel is located in a safe area, there's a lot of movement do to the university, mall, stores, banks near by and... More
    0
    Votes
    Google Translation
    BrittSk
    8 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Hostel U | Property representative |
    No, it's not included. We can send you more information if you write us :)
    0
    Votes
    Google Translation
    Joe R
    10 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from 1Jofmany | Reviewed this property |
    Hey, the staff were very friendly when I was there and offered me lots of material on tours - if you email them they can probably send some details through. When we did go on a zipling/canyoning trip they booked it for us... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "aim for a room upstairs facing the garden if you can :)"
    Read review
    "Garden windows, not to the street"
    Read review
    "Booked a private room; had balcony access and a private bathroom which was great."
    Read review
    "LJ is so far the best one in the whole place!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing