We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Victory at Mersea

TripAdvisorUS$85*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Victory at Mersea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of Victory at Mersea
 Click to rate
Dss
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here with two other adults for one night. The rooms are a bit small and not decorated to our taste. A bit chintzy and fussy. But the beds are comfortable and the shower rooms are excellent. The rooms were over the bar and there was a bit of noise late at night which did stop at midnight. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RogerEJ
Sevenoaks
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early so told the barman that we were going for a walk, leaving the car and booking in later. He was very friendly and helpful so we were off to a good start. We stayed in one of the garden rooms away from the potential noise from the pub. It was very quiet and comfortable. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plattypuss52
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Apologies over the wi-fi it really does have a mind of it's own, but if you ask at the bar there is another code that you can use, which is a bit more reliable. We have tried putting out the fresh fruit and yogurts but found that...

Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After hearing good things about the Victory was stayed 2 nights around Easter. I can't remember the room we had but it was the first one behind the gate. The good things plenty of tea and coffee and nice shower and towel warmer. Bad things internet very spotty and the the noise at night because they had a singer that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UKVISIT
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not totally enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately the wi-fi has a mind of it's own but if you ask at the bar they can give you our personal code which can be better. Apologies for the noise from the pub, we do try and keep the noise down...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff friendly and helpful (one of our party is gluten-free). Late lunch on Bank Holiday Sunday but still welcomed and allowed to move to a table by the window. We had roast lamb and pie of the day. Plenty of seating inside and out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your meals and that our staff made you welcome. Hope to see you again soon

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I stayed at the Victory for a couple of nights at Easter (2017) so that I could enjoy a 50th anniversary with ease and comfort. 50 years ago I visited Radio Caroline in Easter 1967 and as I have always been a supporter, I wished to visit their current ship this Easter. I considered the options, and decided that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T0nyB
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that yoou enjoyed your stay with us. I must admit that room 1 is my favourite room, I love the views. Sorry that you had a problem with the internet, I suspect that you were using the cloud. Should you ever return ask the staff for our personal password, which should...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Stayed here on Good Friday evening. What can we say? It's a fab location. One of the only proper accommodation on Mersea. We had room 6 it's the best. Very quiet. Good for families too. An absolute Stonker!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wimbledon90
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found Room 6 an absolute stonker!!! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Reviewed 16 April 2017

We had two very good friends from Devon staying for a few days and decided to give The Victory a try. We aren't locals but had heard some good reports. We weren't disappointed, we enjoyed a lovely meal and the staff were most attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catchingm
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, really pleased that you enjoyed your visit, hopefully see you again soon.

UK
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Stayed one night in a room at the front with a balcony. There was access to the outside from the balcony, which meant it was easy to go out for a pre-breakfast walk without having to go through the pub. The bar area was loud, but some might like the lively atmosphere! We ate in the restaurant area at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkerUk
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The bar can get pretty noisy at times but pleased that you managed to find a quieter spot in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon

suffolk england
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Had a lovely stay here for one night. Great location, great food and service. Staff very friendly and helpful. Arrived late afternoon and then the 6 of us had drinks in bar, then evening meal. All enjoyed the food. Lovely early morning walk around Mersea and then back for breakfast, was great and staff were so accommodating with our food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue410
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to elcoming you back again soon

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed here for one night with family and had a really nice time. The location is beautiful and the staff were very friendly. We stayed in room 8 and the shower was very good and powerful. The constructive criticism would be that the room got very hot during the night and became quite stuffy. Also, we had dinner in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I m pleased that you had a nice time but would like to apologise that your plates weren't cleared. That is unusual I will have a word with the waiting staff. Look forward to seeing you if you are in the area again

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersea Island
11.9 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
649 reviews
12.7 km away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
16.1 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
537 reviews
17.1 km away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
250 reviews
13.8 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Victory at Mersea

Address: Mersea Island 92 Coast Road, Mersea Island CO5 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Price Range: $136 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory at Mersea 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Victory at Mersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory At Mersea Hotel Mersea Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Victory at Mersea staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
hertfordshire
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Victory at Mersea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to the garden rooms if you want quiet, or over the bar if you want the views”
RogerEJ, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 with balcony”
Cretanboy, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room no 5 at the rear nice and quiet”
globbies, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For families, room 6, sea views, 3”
OhmyGod12, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a balcony if possible and book early to avoid disappointment they are very very busy during the summer months.”
LichfieldPenny, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$85* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates