We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Victory at Mersea

Orbitz.comUS$98*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$101*
US$98*
US$101*
US$101*
US$98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Victory at Mersea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Victory at Mersea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Essex
Reviewed 29 April 2016

An enjoyable overnight stay at this unpretentious hotel. Our room had everything you could want - plenty of coffee/tea/biscuits/bottled water/tissues/bathroom accessories - and a balcony to take the air and appreciate the nautical view. Staff were charming and the "Victorious Breakfast" was fantastic. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelmaniac18
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Arrived on a busy Sunday afternoon, had a lively pint sitting outside facing the sea. Enjoyed an excellent dover sole in the evening before retiring to a very large bedroom with en suite bathroom, facing the sea. Kippers for breakfast, followed by a brisk walk along the sea front. Very helpful staff, highly recommended will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alastair s
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The kippers are my husband's favourite breakfast too, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We've just returned home from the most relaxing weekend at The Victory to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room (we booked the superior double) was excellent. Dinner on Friday night was exceptional, and breakfast each day was a pleasure. We will definitely be staying here again on future trips to Mersea Island....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlecrafter
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay to celebrate your 22nd wedding anniversary. I must admit he superior double is my favourite room! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Mersea.

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

If you are happy to be overcharged (massively) for average food served by school kids at snails pace even when they are no where near capacity then this is the place for you. The only thing it has going for it is the location. It needs a complete revamp of menu, staff attitude and have coach and horses driven through...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We had a Groupon for dinner, bed and breakfast recently. I was really looking forward to going but felt disappointed in general. The staff were very slow to deal with us initially, when we were taken to our room there was a very unpleasant smell on the stairs and corridors, which was also in the room, we were told it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia P
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I think you will find that the unpleasant smell was the fat trap. It is emptied on a weekly basis and does give off a very unpleasant smell but it only lasts a few minutes. The sticky tables were caused by a change of sanitizing product, that has now been...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

My room was accessed through the car park which didn't seem great at first, however once entering my room it was clean comfy and warm. The only criticisms I would have of the room is the bathroom blind was too small for the window and there were gaps at the sides which made me feel a bit vulnerable especially with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank srobins
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found the room comfy and warm and we will look at the size of the bathroom blind. I appreciate your comment about the store room door and I have asked the head chef to have a word with his team about letting the door bang. Unfortunately it is sometimes very...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We stayed over having visited the Shed. We were a group of 8 and welcomed into this very buzzy restaurant. Service was fab and breakfast was excellent with full English or kippers. Rooms were really clean. Recommend the sea views.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olderthanur
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon

london
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights for our 48th wedding anniversary, the staff were very friendly the dinner was excellent but we were not asked if we would like a dessert, as they were laying up for breakfast we had coffee in our rooms. Very small beds and a lot of dust and plastic on floor (still there next day). Settled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apples069
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. However I am somewhat confused, I think that you stayed on Tuesday 22nd March with a Groupon offer (as our records show that is the only date where guests left a night early) and the pub was closed and the alarm set at 11pm. I have checked with our front of house manager and he...

London, England
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We stayed in this hotel last Wednesday night. We ate our evening meal the evening before and had breakfast in the morning. Our room (No. 2) overlooked the oyster beds and moored boats. The room was clean and very comfortable. There was a balcony outside with a table and chairs (I can imagine its lovely to sit out there in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Corlal
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your compliments to Estelle, Toni and James. We hope to welcome you back to The Victory soon

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

We went for lunch here after being recommended it by family & we were not disappointed! The decor is really nice, light & airy, the service was very friendly and the food was delicious! Two of us had the falafel & sweet potato burger & my partner had fish & chips, all the food was of a good standard. My...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaraPomeroy
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. You are quite right, you can't please all of the people all of the time but I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will return

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersea Island
11.9 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
650 reviews
12.7 km away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
16.1 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
537 reviews
17.1 km away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
250 reviews
13.8 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Victory at Mersea

Address: Mersea Island 92 Coast Road, Mersea Island CO5 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Price Range: $136 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory at Mersea 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Victory at Mersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory At Mersea Hotel Mersea Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Victory at Mersea staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
hertfordshire
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Victory at Mersea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to the garden rooms if you want quiet, or over the bar if you want the views”
RogerEJ, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 with balcony”
Cretanboy, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room no 5 at the rear nice and quiet”
globbies, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For families, room 6, sea views, 3”
OhmyGod12, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a balcony if possible and book early to avoid disappointment they are very very busy during the summer months.”
LichfieldPenny, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$101
TravelocityUS$98
Expedia.comUS$98
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates