We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Chips

Show Prices
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barra de Navidad
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Casa Chips
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Casa Chips
 Click to rate
Port Moody, Canada
Reviewed 24 February 2017

This remodelled building is in one of the best locations in Barra. We stayed a month in the Sky Master Suite and were very impressed. It was our second time. The stove and cupboards had been replaced, plus there were new pots and pans. The managers, Damien and Iris, were very friendly and provided for our every need. We loved...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doug M
Warner Springs, United States
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The week of January 8th, I made a reservation for a suite at this hotel for 25, 26 and 27 January and paid a deposit and received a receipt for the three days. The suite was a very nice and well decorated room with a kitchen. I checked on 23 January to verify my reservation and was told that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter P
Charles L, Owner at Casa Chips, responded to this review

Hi Walter, Thank you for your review ,I will investigate what occurred with your reservation. Could you give me feedback as to which suite you had reserved , so I can get to the bottom of this . As the owner / director I am not always knowledgeable about reservations made through our hotel office personal while I am away...

Reviewed 5 March 2016

Loved our stay in this quaint hotel on the beach! Walking distance to shops restaurants and bars. Brush up on your Spanish to converse with hotel staff. Very friendly owner who wa available via email for correspondence.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
barrachips, Owner at Casa Chips, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your comment.We try to please and reassure our guests that we will do whatever is possible to make their time with us relaxing and comfortable.

Sorrento, Canada
Reviewed 3 March 2016

A huge disappointment right from the start. First off the door would not lock second the kitchen cupboard intended to hold all the dishes and non refrigerated food stuff had been removed from the wall no pots at all ( 3 days later we received one) two burner propane stove only one burner worked cleaning was done only 4 times...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ribbet01
Charles L, Owner at Casa Chips, responded to this review

My apology,sorry you had a rough time with the kitchen,we have taken your issues and our manager is remediating them. I realize that being near the ocean we do get rust on our appliances and they should have been maintained better. I do know that you had two pans and that a boiler was brought to you the next day....

Toronto
Reviewed 1 March 2016

View fabulous sunsets from your own private terracea and enjoy watching the surfers - yes, they have returned! The newly renovated Sky Suite features ample closet and dresser space, air conditioning, a quiet ceiling fan, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen and RELIABLE WiFi. The bedroom with king size bed is large, bright, breezy and comfortable. The English speaking staff are aways...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AugustinaBarra
ny
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel. The location and room were perfect. The people were very nice. Would definitely stay here again. We loved the whole town. There was AC and wifi in the room and clean drinking water. The room had a kitchen which we really didn't use much. The balcony had views in both directions. There is no pool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kimberlyconway
barrachips, Owner at Casa Chips, responded to this review

Although we have no pool ,we do have a beach and guests receive towels and folding chairs if they wish to hit the beach.Also we have an arrangement with other hotels to use their pools for a small additional fee. Please return and be sure to get a pool pass next time. Gracias

ct
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We stayed for Christmas and New Years in room #10 which is top floor with a beach front terrace. Gorgeous sunsets and the sound of surf are everyday events. Located next to all shopping and restaurants on the pedestrian street. Amazing trips to surf at a open beach and visiting a nature preserve to snorkel and see Booby birds were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
Spring, Texas
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Stayed at Casa Chips for 28 days in January 2016. The family running the place was very friendly, helpful and easy to contact. The hotel does not accept credit cards but, since the owner lives at San Francisco, CA, payment was simply made by bank transfer. Most rooms have a private balcony and there is a common terrace with shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 83Alex1
barrachips, Owner at Casa Chips, responded to this review

It's a pleasure to read your comment and how easy it was for you to use a simple bank transfer for payment. We certainly hope you will have a chance to return and enjoy the company with our family . By the way our kids were thrilled to see you drive up on your motor bike.

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed at Casa Chips for 2 nights around New Years. We had a great experience. The hotel is right on the beach, in a very central location, easy to walk to everything. We had a great patio and our room was very clean. The view from the Terraza was amazing at sunset, a very nice place to read or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess V
barrachips, Owner at Casa Chips, responded to this review

Thanks very much ,we really appreciate your review and we are hoping you have a chance to return to enjoy more sunsets at Chips and of course to explore the many natural sites in and around Barra de Navidad.

vancouver
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Our stay was more than a month post hurricane Patricia. Prior to our stay Greg, the owner, who was not on site assured me that all was good with the hotel, "a little painting was needed". In reality, the restaurant at the front of the hotel was damaged and was being repaired during our stay. The hotel next door was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulvanc0uver
barrachips, Owner at Casa Chips, responded to this review

Paul's comment is dramatically excessive and overreaching.,First of all , the owner's name is Charles not Greg. Paul sent an email that he was unhappy about the poor weather and the town's slow recuperation after being hit by a level 5 hurricane. I had explained to him in an email that except for some superficial damage our hotel did well...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barra de Navidad
0.0 km away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#8 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
50 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
75 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
0.6 km away
Cabo Blanco Hotel
Cabo Blanco Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
222 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
#1 of 3 in Isla Navidad
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa Chips is a small boutique hotel located on the beach in Barra de Navidad, Jalisco. Amenities include rooftop deck and beachfront restaurant. It is centrally located near all restaurants and stores in Barra de Navidad. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Chips

Address: 198 Miguel Lopes de la Gaspi, Barra de Navidad, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Barra de Navidad
Price Range: $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Chips 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Chips staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Chips staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The only good room that we saw was the oceanfront suite, very noisy on street side”
655walterp, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look before you rent”
ribbet01, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Beach front rooms are #s 5,7,9,10”
446ronl, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Some suites have 1 King size bed, others have 2. Some view the ocean.”
83Alex1, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Beach front rooms have a great view”
445judyn, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5