We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
westbank
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Holiday on a budget. Clean, central, on the beach, great views day and especially at night. Mexican family resort. enjoyed meeting and watching kids play in the pool and sand. Rooms spacious with lots of hot water. Quiet and very safe for two women travelling alone. Rodrigo, at the hotel travel desk, amazing man, very knowledgeable about surrounding area and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gdean
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, On behalf of the staff and Management of "Hotel Fontán ixtapa", we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to the Mexican Pacific. Please be confident that we’ve shared your comments with our team as motivation...

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

This is not a 3 1/2 star as stated. I will say we had the best Bell hop Sergio and Virginia at the first restaurant was an awesome waitress. We had bugs or beaches in our room the first three days. Our room was not clean and we did get put into a new room on the 8th floor after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brendalily F
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are truly sorry for not meeting your expectations. We are working on fully renovations to improve and provide you a better service. I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to serve you again. Bes regards....

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I took a chance based on reviews that stated it was clean. I've been 3 star to Mexico before and I am not hard to please on vacation. This place is so banged up and dinged on every surface its hard at first to tell if it is clean or not. Its not! I wish I had my pix to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lori G
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your personal review. We are truly sorry for not meeting your expectation. Probably you saw many kids playing because we are most like a familiar Hotel. We know the Hotel need some renovations, that´s why we are taking proactive action starting in may of this year with the remodeling plans....

Reviewed 4 April 2016

Our room was on the 5 the floor very nice view of the ocean. Room very very clean the beds were new and comfortable. The service and the waiters were very friendly and the food was good different themes every night for 7 days if people complain about the buffet they were eating everything the same day. The animation personnel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carole C
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Carole C, We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to "Hotel Fontán Ixtapa". We are overjoyed to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay. We are glad to know that you were happy with your room and the lovely view. Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with...

Hamilton
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Our background, in our fifties and have traveled all over Mexico and the Caribbean. As all have said, the resort is older but wow, rooms with a view and location can't be beat. My wife and I were in room 740, what a view! Full view of the pools, bay, mountains, unmatched anywhere we have been. The sunset took our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank somuchtosea
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that...

Queretaro, Mexico
Reviewed 26 March 2016

I visited the hotel during the week of Semana Santa for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my experience. I prefer 3 star hotels so this hotel suited me perfectly. My room was clean, the bed comfortable, the food and bar service were not disappointing. The best part of my stay was the hotel staff who were all very friendly, probably...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jultime61
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share comments about your experience. We are really glad to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. Your positive comments make us keep working trying to reach the excellence on service. We do have the option if you arrive before the check in time and the...

Regina Beach, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2016

This is at least my 5th time at this hotel. Have come back because of the way I was treated the 1st time. This time was different in many ways. The front desk, after my insistence, got me the rooms that I wanted and thought I had booked through their head office, but with too big a price for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan S
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would to thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations in this visit and for the inconvenience with the roof repair, you must understand that it is for you own comfort. The security guard was only doing his job, is new government policy about no smoking in some...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We spent a week of vacation here and definitely loved it. Location is great, only 20 mins from the airport and with shopping right across the street from the resort. The beach is one of the best I have been so far, smooth sand, no rocks (and no jelly fish either), makes for an amazing pleasure walk or run. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dele A
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review. We are really pleased to know that you like the rooms and enjoy the activities and food. Your opinion encourage us to continue providing memorable experiences. We will be really glad to have you back in the near future. Thank you again....

Calgary
Reviewed 18 March 2016

This hotel is situated perfectly on the most beautiful beach I've ever been on. It's a nice little hotel with a great selection of pools. The room was spacious and super clean. Everything worked and worked well. The hotel's website states that every room has a terrace. This isn't so. Every fourth room or so is without one. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dolores L
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank for taking the time to share your opinion. We are pleased to know that you liked your room and decoration with towels that the maid kindly made for you. We are truly sorry you have appreciated that the staff is rude, always we try to provide good service to all our guests with...

Prince Albert, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We've been to Ixtapa before but decided to take a chance on a more inexpensive hotel. We booked at the Fontan and we are very satisfied. We had read the reviews and walked by before on previous trips. On check in Luis was very helpful excellent English. Front desk was fast and efficient. We exchanged Can $ to Pesos, never...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cheryl S
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl, We appreciate your positive review and the recent visit to Fontán Ixtapa. We are pleased to know that you had a enjoyable experience during your stay with us. We will take care of the point that you mentioned and we will take proactive steps to avoid similar situations in the future. We do have remodeling plans, and we...

729 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (476)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (209)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (218)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Second Pool (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Oceanview (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.4 km away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.4 km away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.9 km away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 23 in Ixtapa
598 reviews
1.2 km away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.2 km away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Price Range: $77 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fontan Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Fontan Ixtapa
Fontan Ixtapa Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Fontan Ixtapa staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Fontan Ixtapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room in the north tower are the better location.”
 of 5 bubbles Merlynterra, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“higher floor to me aare perfect because you see the ocean and the beach some garden views”
 of 5 bubbles Anthony055, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“When you get to the hotel please just ask very politely what you would like and the staff will do their best to help you .”
 of 5 bubbles 103carolec, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else. If u can get an ocean view room with NO extra charge then go for it!”
 of 5 bubbles E6977FCdans, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“choose the closest room to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles I4840LKrogerp, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay