We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 259: English reviews
richmond
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'd recommend the place except for having only a handful of beach chairs..!! An ongoing issue despite the reps and guests suggesting it. Lots of loungers poolside but not 'allowed' to be taken to beach. Reason given that the local guests sit on them ( cheap plastic lounge chairs at the beach) en masse and break them... well maybe put...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank demiany
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. Your comments, are very welcome, they are important and it help us to improve. About the food, we do have a different menu every week. By the beach, we will get more lounge chairs. We are glad to hear that you liked the activities,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was ok for the star rating, but there is a period of 2 hours a day between 5-7 pm there was no place open to eat at the resort. My family was quite disappointed. They had to go elsewhere to eat. Also my adult kids booked the zipline tour through the resort. They were told there we 11 ziplines...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Firstly, i would like to thank you for your recent visit and feedback. Our main restaurant opens from 7 am to 11 am for breakfast, 1 pm to 5 pm for lunch and 7 pm to 10:30 pm for dinner. We do have open our snack restaurant from 12 to 6 pm. We are sorry for the inconvenience...

Mirabel, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just to give you an idea... i'm 47 , been traveling since i'm 18 and this was my 6th time in Ixtapa. I stayed 3 times at the Fontan and 3 times at the Presidente which is now Holiday Inn next door. I was at the Fontan from January 21 to 28 of this year. The hotel is now occupated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DancesWithTheSun
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your personal review. We do have a lot of Mexican families because that´s what we are: a familiar hotel. We do have security guards all day long taking care of the people do not eat so close to the pools. We do have lounge chairs at the beach, and we...

Hamilton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are returning to your beautiful resort in March. Could you please confirm if not all rooms have a balcony. We stayed on the 7th floor. Our friends stayed on the 3rd floor and they loved their view and they also had a balcony. When we try to book it says only some have balconies and terrace. Sincerely Ann Root-Gillis.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sungoddessHamilton
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It will be a pleasure to have you back with us in "Hotel Fontán Ixtapa". Most of our rooms has a balcony and personally i will ensure that we assigned one for you. You will be very welcome and I hope you enjoy your stay. Best regards...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I were at the Fontan the week of Jan 13 - 20. Our experience was both good and bad. We started off on arrival with not getting a balcony in the room that we had requested. The manager said to come back tomorrow and we will move you into a better room. We went back the next...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marscellas
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your recent visit to "Fontán Ixtapa", and share a review about your experience. It was a few things that you enjoyed and others not, but this comments from you, our guest; it help us to improve. We will continue on renovations as the pools, to offer you a better service if...

Kindersley, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at the Fontan in January, 2017. The rooms were typical, we weren't expecting much for the price but the plugins are limited (we bought an extension cord across the street) and the beds are quite hard with lumpy pillows. Also, in our bathroom, the faucet in the sink was too close to the vanity and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gotthetravelbugtoo
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate the time to post a review. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay at our hotel. we do every effort to ensure that our guests receive the best service and attention from our staff. Our main concern is your totally satisfaction. We will continue remodeling our rooms as we did...

Penticton, BC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We visited the hotel in January and had the all-inclusive package. The location of the hotel is excellent; right on the beach and clothes for swimming and body surfing. We had an excellent hotel room on the seventh floor overlooking the beach ocean and pool area; it was pretty spectacular. The food was average, but there was a good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank boborr
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel during your recent stay with us. We appreciate your valuable comments regarding the service and treatment you received from our personnel in general, we do every effort to ensure that our guests receive the best service and attention from our staff. We are working hard...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We were here for our second year and we are extremely pleased with the Fontan. We traveled as friends and occupied rooms 818 and 819 with breathtaking view of the beach and sea. we feel we are really getting good service at a reasonable price. A lot of improuvement and renos have been done since last year. Good beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank richardxlalo
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for expressing your experience at the hotel and destination during your recent stay with us, As a "Hotel Fontán Ixtapa", we do every effort to ensure that our guests receive the best service and attention from our staff. We will be happy to host you again in a future

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

well the food was terrible the staff was nice only one plug in the room for charging devices if you did not get to the pool or beach at 6 am forget about getting a chair on the upside great restaurants nearby were good the excursions were not value for money quite a rip off for some too many kids...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tish C
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are truly for not meeting your expectations. We did solved the plug outlet problem, putting more in the rooms. As we did fully renovated our pools, we will continue working with the rooms and restaurants, until we have a fully renovated resort. We hope you give us a second chance and visit us again in the future....

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Food was not good. Hotdogs were called sausage at breakfast. Not many choices at buffets. No beer or pop stocked in fridges in your room. I saw only 6 lounge chairs on the beach and they won't take one down there from around the pools. Pool areas very small and crowded. It may be a nice place to visit if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris M
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations. We do have a different menu everyday of the week. At the beach we do have around forty lounge chairs and regular chairs. We do have our fully renovated three pools and the jacuzzi area, including our new pool bar....

788 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (538)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (235)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (218)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Second Pool (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Oceanview (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.6 km away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
642 reviews
0.4 km away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.4 km away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
368 reviews
1.2 km away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.4 km away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#10 of 23 in Ixtapa
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Price Range: $108 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fontan Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Fontan Ixtapa
Fontan Ixtapa Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Fontan Ixtapa staff and other travellers.
74 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (74)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Fontan Ixtapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 975fm, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“6-7th floors, main building. Bar fridge. Rooms ending with 39 or 40 are full sun during the day but great for sunset & evenings”
 of 5 bubbles brettm603, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for the new rooms, they renovated a few.”
 of 5 bubbles DancesWithTheSun, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any room with the view of the ocean and mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles sungoddessHamilton, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Balcony is a must for the Ocean View rooms.....”
 of 5 bubbles Marscellas, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5