We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barcelo Maya Colonial

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barcelo Maya Colonial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Maya Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,778: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've seen a lot of complainers, if you read one review, read this one. First of all, this is a spectacular hotel. I see people complaining about the rooms, I have no idea what you are talking about. The room I got was on the 2nd floor and was completely spotless and the maid cleaned it every single day. Ceramic...

 Report
Helpful?
17Thank LakerSteve
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services. Also let us comment that Asuncion and the rest of the staff will be very happy to host you again! We hope to see you soon at Barceló Maya...

West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

3rd time at this resort! Great service. Great beach. Great food n drink. Comfortable clean safe. Wonderful for families n mixed age groups. Kids will have a blast. There are wonderful water play areas. You can stay at one and play at the other sections. The new Reno at the Maya Beach is beautifully done. Check out the new buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JBLB
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial - Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards!

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The grounds were clean and the scenery was absolutely beautiful, the room was very spacious and comfortable. Loved that were lots of free water activities and close to city. The number one thing that left bad impression was checking out, I never told by the store staff or front desk that I couldn't pay for my room bill with us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angie W
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. We regret the misunderstanding of information you had during your stay with us. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards. Best regards The Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Lets start with the Positive: 1. Beach, even though rocky entrance, at some parts of the beach, but overall pretty good, without big waves. Finding chairs-not a problem. 2. Grounds are well taken care of. Now, the Negative: 1. Old rooms, with broken fixtures. Ants in the room. Old school AC. Had to change rooms because the first one they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 3pleC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. We have followed your suggestions during your stay about towels, shampoo, soap, broken bath. We regret to know you are not having a pleasant time despite the effort of our staff. It will be a pleasure...

Suwanee, GA
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Checked into our "Ocean Front" rooms with very disappointing view from patio (see attached photo). No ocean anywhere in sight, just children's pool slides. Complained to concierge who told me there was no expectation of a view of the ocean from the "Ocean Front" rooms because they did not refer to them as "Ocean VIEW " just "Ocean FRONT." She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denisev1
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards. We hope to see you soon in our establishment and...

Bolingbrook, Illinois
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After reading some of the reviews, we were a bit concerned, but everything turned our great. We were there for a wedding, traveling with a large group. It was our first trip with our toddler twins, and were worried about how they would handle everything. Also, our first all-inclusive. Check In: a bit slow, and not very responsive at first....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jasbds
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services. It is great to know that all your party enjoyed their stay; also let us comment that Alberto and the rest of the staff will be very happy to...

North Tonawanda, New York
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The resort itself is beautiful. Kept up very well and very clean. Rooms were very nice and clean as well. The house keepers came to our room everyday as well as the people to restock minibar. I read reviews that they slacked in all of those and it was not true for us. The reviews about the food at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah g
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards. Your recommendations have been analyzed with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Management; We are sure that the staff will be very pleased...

Niceville, Florida
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've read reviews for months leading up to our vacation at Barcelo Colonial May 26th-June 2nd. My husband and I and sister and BIL met for a week of relaxation. It was our 4th all inclusive experience and their 1st. In fairness to this review we compared Barcelo to Iberostar resorts since we have stayed with them on our last...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hokietravel
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial staff involved in your entire satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your trip. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards. If you ever decide to come back...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this resort from May 23-May 30, 2014. We (me, my husband, 2.5 year old son and 9 month old daughter) travelled with my in-laws and another couple with a 2.5 year old daughter. I should start by saying that we have been to 3 Gran Bahia resorts and we love that chain but wanted to try something...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nancy A
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial staff involved in your entire satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your trip. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards. If you ever decide to come back...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My only previous experience with an all-inclusive was a long weekend that my wife and I spent at Sandals Royal Caribbean in Jamaica several years ago. We had a lovely time on that trip, but we also paid top dollar. So, I wasn’t sure what to expect out of our week at the Barcelo Maya – particularly given that we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tiebee
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction. Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future. Best regards, The Management

5,164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4784)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (121)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1394)
Viewed
Dining (322)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (813)
Viewed
View from Room (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (255)
Viewed
4:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1711)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (320)
Viewed
Amenities (129)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Junior Suite Deluxe Ocean View Club Premium (35)
Viewed
Kiddy Pool (8)
Viewed
Olympic Pool (7)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (59)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,512 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,598 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
2,886 reviews
17.1 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
16.9 km away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#70 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
11,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez | Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $326 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barcelo Maya Colonial staff and other travellers.
508 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (508)

Questions? Get answers from Barcelo Maya Colonial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Prestige Premium rooms are right near the beach/pools”
 of 5 bubbles emilyn79, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay on 1st floor with nice patio, garden, lawn chairs, table & chairs and beautiful view.”
 of 5 bubbles madywahl, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Handicapped, bottom floor, garden view, very large, room 6451”
 of 5 bubbles 147lois123, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Veracruz second floor quiet and convenient location.”
 of 5 bubbles GerriG_12, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor, nice to have walk-out area.”
 of 5 bubbles 12CarolD, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5