We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 April 2016

An $85 per night room for $218. Not cool. If I wanted to spend my weekend in a closet I could have stayed home. The gentleman at the front desk was rude and condescending. I did not sleep due to the fact that every time a neighbour came home it sounded like they were entering our room. I've used this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewlS8752BE
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad you were able to join us again for your recent stay; however I am disappointed to hear that your experience was not as it should have been. If you wouldn't mind emailing me at the address provided below, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

We checked in on Tuesday and are due to stay until tomorrow. We walked into the room and were surprised as it is not what we had been expecting. We were under the impression that we would be in a recently renovated room, however the room needs a lot of work. As seen in the pictures I have posted. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephanieCBaxter
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feedback from your current visit. We sincerely apologize your recent visit with us has fallen short of expectations with regards to service and room upkeep. We strive to provide the utmost service and room quality to each of our guests and we apologize we have fallen short of our goal in your case. This...

Stony Plain, Alberta
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Not only does the Mount Rotal have a great location right in the heart of downtown, but they have an amazing team of staff members. I've gone to Banff about 6 times since the beginning of the year and they never fail to remember you and make you feel at home. Great experience, would definitely recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karleigh_megan
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful recommendation and for your continued patronage to the Mount Royal. Our staff strive to offer a level of service that exceeds expectations and your feedback shows their efforts have not gone unnoticed. It is fantastic that they make you feel at home and elevate your overall experience. Thank you again, and we cannot wait to...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 30 March 2016

the hotel's all good. just a few noises of people walking on the hallway at night or beds creaking from the room right above us. hotel's very convenient as it is at the heart of downtown. the price i would say was not too friendly. understandable though because it was a holiday weekend when we checked in. still the room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tincmcho
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted you found the Mount Royal a nice place to stay and enjoyed the central location; however, we do apologize for the noise you experienced and the condition of the shower. We are pleased to see though that the room was clean and complete for your needs. We would love to...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Very sweet and friendly,excellent location,big room with windows all around.We stay in the big suit.The best view from your room on the street.there was noise from one of the pub,but slept well for some people might be to loud.The price was good for the location and free parking.I will come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbarasZ5048KL
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the feedback from your recent experience at our hotel. I am pleased to hear you had such a memorable visit and found the room and view so delightful. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Overpriced. Basic amenities like fridge/microwave are missing, which are in almost every hotel now. Bathrooms are too small, people can get hurt using toilet seat. They say that they have a safety policy...wonder how strong is it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 399adsd
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at our hotel. Your feedback is appreciated and is reviewed at the highest levels of management. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations in regards to amenities and pricing. Our prices do vary considerably throughout the year and seasonally. Please know we will take very seriously...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Booking the reservation was a headache because the lady had a lot of difficulty taking our information. She even called back twice to reconfirm to which the booking still didn't go through..they neglected to say the hotel was under renovations so ended up going to their sister hotel. There we had to switch rooms due to the first one having...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raya W
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback from your recent experience with us. I sincerely apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations in regards to service standards and room quality. I will certainly share this feedback with all of our management team to review and address with our department heads. We would love the opportunity to provide you with a...

Regina, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 28 March 2016

The location is very convenient. The rooms are modern but not fancy. It was comfortable and relaxing. It was only a 1 night stay bit very enjoyable. The location is very convenient because it's right on the main straight where all the shops are.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank skvisitor2016
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that your first stay in Banff was with us and that it was very enjoyable. Thank you very much for the feedback. To know that our location was very convenient for you and that you found our hotel comfortable and relaxing: this is very rewarding. It would be great to welcome you back for...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Enjoyed our stay at Miunt Royal Hotel. Only stayed for one night after a long day of snowboarding at Sunshine. It was perfect for what we needed. Great location!! Clean rooms and friendly staff. I would reccomend it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahsA2290VW
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feedback and recommendation. We are so pleased to know that your stay was perfect for what you needed and that you appreciated our friendly staff, clean rooms, and great location. We would love to see you again on a snowboarding trip. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 26 March 2016

perfect location. no car needed. shuttle pick up behind hotel. lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. rooms were clean and bed was perfect. service was great. the wings from the restaurant were awesome. i ate in the bar. the bar staff was lots of fun after a day of skiing. i would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladyskr
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review of your stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it is a pleasure to hear that you found the service great and the bed perfect. It was also a pleasure to read your comments about the bar staff, which I will pass along to them. Finally, the fact that you enjoyed the perks of...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#17 of 32 in Banff
976 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#15 of 32 in Banff
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,338 reviews
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#10 of 32 in Banff
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $145 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner suites give ample view of the beautiful mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles CelineDelisle, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
 of 5 bubbles virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
 of 5 bubbles DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
 of 5 bubbles TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5