We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountaineer Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,056: English reviews
Berkeley
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The room was not at all as pictured on the website. When we arrived, the supposed "luxury" room ($200/night) had ripped and stained carpet and food crumbs next to the couch from the previous guests. The "fireplace" was a cartoon fireplace - not even a heat source - this is unacceptable at this price. There was hair in the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H1030OHrachels
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered regarding the service received during your stay. I will investigate the oversight of our housekeepers as we pride ourselves on maintaining a very high standard of cleanliness and service. Unfortunately our close proximity to the train tracks is a product...

Esterhazy
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The location is fine along the main street in Lake Louise. The price is about as low as yyou get in a tourist hotspot. The room had not been properly cleaned before we arrived (little bits of tissue embedded int he rig.) The wifi was slow. The biggest issue in our room was the sloping floor - the foundation must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V6227ISpatrickl
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience of our hotel. We do our best to accommodate your needs and appreciate your comments, as we have just completed renovations to the hotel and are planning further improvement. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, so that you may have a wonderful experience...

Yukon
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Hotel was nice enough. Rooms were standard, nothing fancy, but they were certainly adequate for our needs. We took advantage of the laundry room which was nice. The Hot Tub was first rate and very large. Breakfast left a little to be desired as they were frequently out of some of the food and coffee was out. They were slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G4742XFrichardw
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodations. I trust your travels through the Canadian Rockies were truly memorable and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.

Paris, Canada
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Barely Average hotel, with average service, average breakfast. Nothing to rave positively postive. A negative rave: Towels were absolutely threadbare and in dire need of replacement. Would suggest to others not to waste their time here. Move on to Banff if you want to visit the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 30Meli
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. We all hope you had a wonderful experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Coopers Plains
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We only stayed 1 night but loved every minute. Staff were friendly and the kids loved the waffles for breakfast. We were also able to do a load of washing while we were there. I would totally recommend this place at anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 743ailsad
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. Your information is very important to us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the breakfast waffles and I trust you had a wonderful time while in Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Very nice updated room with nice clean bathroom and comfy bed. Breakfast is adequate and convenient but nothing special. We would stay again if in the area. Train tracks nearby but not noisy. Well-maintained property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb T
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your amenities and that you found our lodge to be clean. We all hope you had a wonderful experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Shrewton
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Good location. Comfortable room other than there was no adjustment we could find for the heating and we found the room too warm at night and the testing was noisy. Breakfasts gave good choice and were very acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F8946TNpeterr
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities and found our location convenient. I trust you enjoyed all your travels through the Rocky Mountains and arrived safely back home.

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We spent a night here to break up our trek up and down the Icefields Parkway but it would also have served as a good base for exploring the Lake Louise – Moraine Lake area. Our room was large – long and narrow but with a glass wall (artfully shaded and curtained to ensure privacy and keep out early morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJN30242
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and that you slept well on our new mattresses. A great sleep is a big help when exploring the mountains! I’m glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and I hope the rest of your trip was...

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Very easy to find since it is at the first 4-way stop off of Highway 1. The price wasn't a bargain, but pretty much everything in Lake Louise is expensive. Breakfast was in a basement room across the parking lot. That room was large and did not ever get too crowded. There were a good selection of items including 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksufan88
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your fantastic comments. Your feedback is extremely important to us. I’m glad you were able to find our location accessible and that we were able to help start your day of hiking well with our complimentary breakfast. I trust you had a wonderful time while in Lake Louise. We look...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The room was comfortable and clean - the bathroom was spacious. The location was excellent and our window was facing out onto a forest which was awesome. Next time I will ask for a ground floor as we found the stairs to the 1st floor steep for carrying a heavy suit case into our as there was no lift.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene J
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I trust you had a wonderful time exploring the natural splendor of Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

337 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (8)
Viewed
King Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Two Queen (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.4 km away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
871 reviews
2.4 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,438 reviews
2.9 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,925 reviews
1.7 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
678 reviews
5.8 km away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: $166 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Denver, Colorado
2 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground level rooms are easy access with parking right outside the door.”
 of 5 bubbles 438grahamt, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Due to water pipe noise, I would recommend staying away from the first room on the right (ground floor) just base the front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyH588, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in building across from main lodge can be noisy depending upon your neighbors. You may find more privacy in main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles RickandJoann, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main building so that you have easy access to the Jacuzzi”
 of 5 bubbles lvwei1123, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second Floor Room not in the lodge”
 of 5 bubbles BarbSt_Louis_MO, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay