We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountaineer Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,070: English reviews
Calgary
Reviewed 22 November 2016

So convenient, comfortable, just the place for a quick visit. Great breakfast! Right in the middle of the Rockies. Easy to get to so many lakes from there. Moraine Lake, Emerald Lake, Lake Louise, all my favourite!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 55yvonnel
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the Canadian Rockies, were happy with your accommodations and breakfast! I trust you arrived home safely and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Calgary
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The beds seemed cleaned and were very comfortable but that is where our positive experience ended. I had to wait 15 minutes to check in because the front desk clerk was yapping to the person ahead of me. I wasn't even acknowledged. The room needs cleaning, filthy behind the bedside table, someones dirty q-tip on the floor. Ceiling was half...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Albertatraveller4
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your recent stay and for any inconveniences that this may have caused during your visit to Lake Louise. We are very sorry to hear that our services fell short of the...

Three Hills
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We were very pleased with our stay. The room was very nicely renovated to modern, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub and steam room and the large variety in the breakfas room t was very nice and the staff were very helpful. We would go back there the next visit we Lake Louise!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shilohn658
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your fantastic comments. I am glad to hear that you were happy with your accommodations, enjoyed using our facilities and received a warm welcome from the staff. I trust you had a wonderful time exploring Lake Louise and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Campbell, California
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We spent four nights in this motel. The first night our room was in the main building where the office is located. The plumbing noise was so intolerable that we didn't sleep at all. The next morning we were put in a clean room which was much quieter although quite a bit smaller in the building across from the office...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Lake Louise and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, some of the local dining areas and were pleased with the cleanliness of the room. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered regarding...

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We stayed at several hotels during our tour of British Columbia and the Rockies. Non was high end luxury, nor were any low end budget. They all had good bedrooms with two queen beds or one bed either queen or king size with a sitting area. They were all clean as were the bed and bath linen. Individual comments follow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear you were satisfied with your room and enjoyed the hot tub area. We hope you had a wonderful experience in Lake Louise and to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Wi fi was a disaster-- front desk tried to help but they knew the system was very poor. No land phone in room so had to use cell phone to contact front desk. Most unusual . Front desk did come to room to help quiet TV noise in adjoining room--- thanks for this. Room small, but adequate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenCapeCoral
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found your room adequate but apologize for the inconvenience you experienced by not having a phone in your room and the difficulty with the WIFI signal. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located across the road from the local shopping centre which offers everything you need. There are 2 gas stations across the road and walking distance to the local bars & restaurants. It's only a short drive up the mountain to the beautiful Lake Louise. The hotel offers a continental breakfast and has a pool / hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the comforts and cleanliness of your accommodations and that you had the opportunity to really explore all that Lake Louise has to offer. I trust your travels through the Canadian Rockies were truly memorable and we look forward to...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my family. The location is perfect the breakfast was good and the front desk staff were very kind. However, the room we stayed wasn't that clean. The room was stinky and some part of room was dusty. The washroom was moldy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank youngjun S
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. Your information is very important to us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our property and the friendliness of our staff. I apologise about the issue with your washroom, as we pride ourselves on maintaining a high level of cleanliness. I trust you...

Fullerton, California
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Electricity was out for a day in the entire city. But there was no mention of this in any emails prior to arriving. What am I paying for then? It was already overpriced compared to my nice Calgary hotel. Bathroom was stained and dirty, room was stuffy, and the place felt old. Needs a remodel and some improvements for sure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhotoNate
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. Your information is very important to us. It is unfortunate that the electricity was out during your stay and I apologize for our oversight in not forewarning you. We are currently engaged in renovating the hotel to surpass modern standards so we greatly value your input regarding the...

Glenroy
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Very tidy and clean facilities. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Found this hotel online and tied it in with the sister hotel in Jasper. Excellent value for money. Very happy and would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulineb315
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your bed and breakfast and that you found our lodge to be clean. We all hope you had a wonderful experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (8)
Viewed
King Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Two Queen (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.4 km away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
879 reviews
2.4 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,466 reviews
2.9 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,025 reviews
1.7 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
679 reviews
5.8 km away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: $141 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Denver, Colorado
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground level rooms are easy access with parking right outside the door.”
 of 5 bubbles 438grahamt, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Due to water pipe noise, I would recommend staying away from the first room on the right (ground floor) just base the front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyH588, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in building across from main lodge can be noisy depending upon your neighbors. You may find more privacy in main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles RickandJoann, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main building so that you have easy access to the Jacuzzi”
 of 5 bubbles lvwei1123, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second Floor Room not in the lodge”
 of 5 bubbles BarbSt_Louis_MO, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay