We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Alma

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Alma
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alma
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We chose the location as it is a quiet alternative to the nearby strip of motels. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was spacious and well appointed with large windows overlooking the campus and Olympic Oval. Unfortunately, the bathroom counter had not been wiped down and was covered with sticky residue from last guest. We took advantage of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TEDtours
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear TEDtours, we greatly appreciate your feedback about the hotel and your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites and breakfast in the bistro. Our housekeeping supervisor will be following up with the housekeeping team to ensure nothing is missed. We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Alma on your...

Ballina, Australia
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Very disappointing. We had a 2 Br apartment with a kitchenette which had nothing but a microwave. We don't drink coffee and asked for a kettle and were told to boil the water in the coffee maker. There was nowhere to sit and chat, had to sit on our beds to watch TV, very unsociable. The beds were very high...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lesley B
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear Lesley B, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate you comment your feedback about the rooms. While the 2 bedroom apartments you have booked are located in the same building as Hotel Alma, they are not part of Hotel Alma but are part of Seasonal Residence which is part of the...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 April 2015

I stayed for one weekend at the beginning of this year and I came away impressed by the value that this property presented. I'll begin with the location because that is what brought me to this hotel in the first place. I was involved in an event at the Olympic Oval, so the location was perfect (with the exception of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mr_Dimas-Lehndorf
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Mr_Dimas-Lehndorf, thank you very much for your input and for sharing your experience at Hotel Alma on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you found many aspects of the hotel and the services provided to be superb. Our team is always here to assist guests and work hard to make each...

Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

I was very thrilled by convenient location. My meeting was in same building. Room was VERY small. Nice to be able to open a window though. Kept stubbing my toes on wooden box frame bed was on. Would be back only for university business solo. Very helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank April Joy B
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Joy B, we are happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and that you are thrilled by the location of the hotel. Our staff work hard to provide excellent service to all our guests and help in any way possible. The location of Hotel Alma makes it very convenient for guests coming to the University...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Booked 2 rooms here in Feb 2015. The rooms were well appointed and clean. Staff were friendly & helpful at check in/out. Those were the positives... On the negative side, however, the rooms are small. Like REALLY small, even by European standards, for example. Felt a tad claustrophobic, but fortunately we weren't in it long. The couple we came with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegeislers
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello thegeislers, we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Alma. It’s great to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and we definitely strive to provide excellent customer service! The Eurostyle rooms are our basic standard rooms. For your next trip, please consider our One Bedroom Suites which are more spacious and offer a bedroom with...

Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel has been used by the university guests and visiting lectures as it's located at the campus. In general it's OK. Prices are decent and the standard is fine. Not over exciting but I don't think it's meant to be.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alexloewenau
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Alexloewenau, Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Alma on Trip Advisor! Hotel Alma caters to a variety of guests including visitors of the University of Calgary and guest lecturers. It is definitely convenient for anyone with business on campus and nearby. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to welcome you to campus again in...

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

I had to make a last second reservation for the weekend and ended up with Hotel Alma because of its location. On the U of C campus, it was only a few minutes away from a wedding I was to attend. I can see the location being very convenient and being a real upside for the place potentially. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Devin H
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Thank you Devin H for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on your most recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your comments on the service provided by team Alma. Whether you are attending a wedding or a conference or just visiting the city, we try our...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Okay. So I stay at tons of hotels in Calgary, and if you don't need to be on Calgary's university campus, don't bother staying here. While the décor is modern and nice, the rooms are very tiny. They don't let you print things for free (like most hotels do), and on top of that, you have to pay for parking,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missmac2014
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello missmac2014 Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Alma experience. Hotel Alma does offer many complimentary services not offered by many other hotels such as breakfast, Internet access, local and long distance calling within continental North America, access to a world class fitness facility, Olympic size swimming pool and the Olympic Oval with many other services at discounted...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2015

We stayed here for one night for convenience, as we were going to a show at the student union. We were pleasantly surprised, everything was modern - the hotel had been decorated to a high standard and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katie T
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Thank you Katie T for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on your most recent stay & for giving us an excellent rating!! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your comments on the service provided by team Alma. We are very proud of our team and the services...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 March 2015

The Hotel Alma is an ok hotel. It is located on campus of university and the exchange students use this hotel for housing. It is within walking distance of Children's Hospital. The included breakfast was pretty good, coffee was excellent. The same area was used for serving dinner, though it was mostly microwave prepared food. There was a small selection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irishgal121212
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Irishgal121212! Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Alma. The lower floors of the building are occupied by a mixture of Canadian and International students and is called Global Village. While the top three floors are Hotel Alma. Hotel Alma was designed with the environment in mind and our Euro-Style rooms reduces our carbon footprint to minimize our...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#48 of 109 in Calgary
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#40 of 109 in Calgary
637 reviews
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and conference facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $109 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alma Calgary, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Alma staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Alma staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room closer to the elevator if you want to minimize walking. Hallways are quite long.”
 of 5 bubbles DreamyOwl, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“cheapest dorm style room is good value queen suite is recommended if you can afford; I choose north sided rooms”
 of 5 bubbles drdavidl2014, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had heard that some of the rooms were quiet or at least didn't have paper thin walls. I was not in one of those.”
 of 5 bubbles keetcanada, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can't think of one.”
 of 5 bubbles Tasiturn, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you have a baby, pick the one bedroom with den”
 of 5 bubbles samanthaaM8337RD, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5