We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Calgary University

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Calgary University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Calgary University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

We were evacuated from fort mcmurray during the wildfires in May2016 and we called the hotel trying to find a place to stay to figure out what to do. The manager, Gustavo, treated us so kindly and offered a room in the hotel, so nice of him! Great staff, clean room, high speed internet, new bath towels and quiet location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apgoncalves
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear apgoncalves, I am a strong believer that when these unfortunate disasters happen it arises a lot positive energy from all of us and I am glad we had the chance to accommodate you and your family at our property. We were all happy to have you and help you with whatever was in our hands. I thank you for...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Looking for cheap room to sleep and shower overnight. This works. Was clean and provided basic services. Friendly staff. However Hot water took a while to get going but once going was piping hot. TV channels on basic cable and most channels didn't work so kids didn't watch. Beds were hard and not very comfortable for longer stays.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DongCM
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello DongCM, I want to thank you for letting us know how your experience at Travelodge was. I know nothing is perfect but we do try our 100% to make our customers feel very comfortable at our properties. I can tell you I am going to look into the couple of issues right away. We appreciate you and thank you...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The hotel was amazing, good service, nice room, only thing I wish they had was more choices for the continental breakfast, like more choices for eggs and maybe sausage and bacon.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 733crystalc
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello 733crystalc, I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review for us! Also, thank you for your advice and as a matter of fact we are looking into options for hot breakfast. Thank you again and we will see you next time you are in Calgary.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip G
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Medicine Hat, AB
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Was impressed that the internet had been upgraded. The renovations as in decor in lobby breakfast area and painting throughout inside and outside has brightened the hotel. It would be nice to see some more options with the complimentary breakfast...such as bacon, sausages and fruit salad added to the existing items :)

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CeeDee1
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hi CeeDee1, Thank you very much for realizing the changes in our hotel since you were here last and by saying that, I want to thank you for giving us another opportunity. We always strive to make our customer feel like home when they stay with us. Thank you and we will see you next time you are in beautiful...

Edgewater BC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

I have stayed several times and am quite pleased with the overall experience; room decor, staff friendliness and cleanliness of the rooms. The continental breakfast has a good selection of items to choose from. One suggestion I have is the addition of a microwave oven to warm the pastries, croissants etc. at the breakfast bar. Serving counter space may not...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gowested
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hi Gowested, I am very happy for your review, there is nothing better than reading a positive one with a few tips! I am wondering what happened the day you had breakfast because we do have an oven to warm pastries. We are going through each room and see what fridges are loud so we can replace them. I will...

Sangudo, Canada
Reviewed 20 February 2016

The service was great. We were staying do to doctor appointments and they were super understanding and helped with the rate!! Very clean and the breakfast was good too! We would stay again

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deannas793
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello deannas793, I want to thank you for such a nice review. Here at Travelodge Calgary University we strive to help our customers not only to get a nice, clean room but also to feel welcome and pampered at all times. Have a wonderful day and we look forward to see you soon!

Craigmyle
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanna B
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 12 December 2015

I always stay at this hotel because it's newly renovated and a good value for the price when compared to other high end competition. Two complaints this time: The internet password didn't work and the night front desk couldn't help. My other issue was that the tv channel selection is poor. If you love sports, you may want to think...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank okafor77
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hi okafor77, I am glad you took the time to write about our property and thank you very much for giving us your feedback about the internet and the channels. I wonder what happened with the wifi. We have a brand new system and it is pretty easy to log in, user friendly and it is awesome. I will check...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Room was nice and clean but overly warm. I couldn't open the window or figure out how to reduce the temp (thermostat didn't seem to affect it at all). The mattress was okay but not great. I wouldn't want to sleep on it for long. Service was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and the hotel was quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I8273FYchristineh
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello I8273FYchristineh, I am so sorry you had a hard time with the window in your room, I do hope you were able to let our front desk know so our maintenance staff came to assist you! We always strive for a great service and try to make all of our guests' stay pleasant. Have a wonderful day and we...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#43 of 109 in Calgary
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#47 of 109 in Calgary
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $77 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travelodge
Calgary Travel Lodge
Travelodge Calgary University Alberta
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Calgary University staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
HUGHENDEN
over a year ago
Prince George, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Calgary University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rates under $90”
 of 5 bubbles dwaineg2016, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I found our room in 325 to be very quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 220marceld, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“better to be on third floor so no footsteps will be heard”
 of 5 bubbles older72wiser, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe the room would be less smelly if you ask for a room that was never a smoking room. Like never.”
 of 5 bubbles Stiklette, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms can be warm and the air conditioner is noisy, but the windows do open.”
 of 5 bubbles hollyb754, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5