We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Expedia.comUS$62*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$94*
US$62*
US$94*
US$62*
US$94*
US$62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Cold rainy Canadian night - and the heating did not work at all. Thin comforter blanket did not help much. Next morning they checked the heater - yup it's broken. I am staying for the week, so I need a room with a heater. But they could not understand when I asked for help moving my room. The manager was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank userrick
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed. We are proud to offer staff service 24 hours to assist guests with any issues they encounter in their room; however as a limited service economy branded property we do not have porter services available. Had the front desk been informed about...

Marana, Arizona
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This property actually turned out to be very good in many respects. We stayed on the top floor in a corner room so it was very quiet. The pool and spa are quite nice. Breakfast is fairly good with the usual suspects--pastries, bread, hard boiled eggs, apples, juice and coffee. We left our car and walked a very short distance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darryl L
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We take pride in our hotel and our staff and are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Seven Hills, OH
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I didn't expect a lot because I considered this a budget motel but it was great. Our jaws fell open when we entered the room. It was large, had a sofa, clean, and the bathroom was huge and modern. The room also had a microwave and refrigerator. We had a most comfortable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NKODIS
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful words! We love hearing when we have exceeded guests expectations and cannot wait to serve your accommodation needs the next time you visit Calgary!

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We spent one night at this Econo Lodge and were very pleased. For the $92/night (CAD) rate, it was exceptional. The room was clean, complete with a mini fridge and microwave and large area with a couch and coffee table. The hotel was quiet, and the breakfast was simple (continental, mostly carb options). We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank penguinchatter
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations the next time you're in town.

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

it was our first time as a group to book here... we had so many concerns and questions but the front desk personnel was very accommodating and very helpful.. she's also very approachable.. that made our 2 nights stay very comfortable.. the room was very nice..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank val a
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We take pride in the services we provide to our guests and are always happy to hear when we have exceeded guest expectations. We look forward to having the opportunity to show you another great stay the next time you are in town!

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

My gf and I are on a cross country road trip. We stopped for the night. Our room had a horrible musky moldy smell. We were not comfortable sleeping in this evironment. We would not return here or reccommend this location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex S
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we're sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We hope your next stay in Calgary is a pleasant one!

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Don't confuse this hotel with the Motor Inn. This location is updated and has a pool, hot tub, and light breakfast. Two popular restaurants are close enough to walk in under five minutes; Big T BBQ and Nicks Steak and Pizza, both are highly rated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccormack_md
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback and we're glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your next short visit to Calgary gives us the opportunity to show you another great stay.

Great Wolford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Room, bathroom, beds clean and comfortable. Communal areas a tad tired and dated. My main criticisms are the slow check in and the polystyrene crockery and plastic cutlery that spoiled an otherwise pleasant breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WolfordWanderer
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we're glad to hear you had a great stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Belfair, Washington, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2016

My wife and I have been on a 60+ day road trip and if I have any consistent complaint against the places at which we stayed is the less than stellar internet. We relied heavily on the internet for this trip for communication and planning. Many times we had to go to the 4G network even though the place we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travelin41126
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please allow the hotel to clarify: We do offer internet access at our property; however we do not have IT experts employed at the property and have hired a property support team to assist guests with any issues they have with the internet,...

Spruce Grove, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I googled pet friendly hotels in Calgary and there were 3 econo lodges come up. Somewhere in between me clicking the book now where it said bring your furry friend and the time they took my money, the wrong econo lodge was booked. I went through booking.com and even asked them to verify it being pet friendly and got no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, even though you never actually stayed with us, and allow the hotel to clarify. Aug 1 was a holiday and the Guest Services Manager was off; however at 8:34am she received the following email from you: Good morning. After researching for a pet friendly hotel I made an online reservation...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#38 of 109 in Calgary
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Address: 2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $82 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Calgary, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If room is between lobby and road, choose second floor to avoid heavy foot-noise from the balcony walkway.”
Traveller99ab, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose an east facing room (unless you like it hot!), east view is pleasant.”
thengling, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floors in the corners”
DarrylL833, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask a room in the main building”
Celia63, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“So close to the Tom Baker Cancer Hospital. We stayed in the tower. very quiet.”
loisp825, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$62* /night
View Deal
Econo LodgeUS$62
Orbitz.comUS$62
HotelQuicklyUS$94
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates