We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Calgary
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

I booked my room months ago for Stampede July 3-12th, 2015 at a rate of $125.99 for a specific room. Yesterday I got an email saying because it's during Stampede they will not be honouring my reservation and they can rebook me at the rate of $259.99 for my room. It doesn't matter that I have booked it with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin.miss C
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Good Day Erin, Thank you for your review. As you know, we try to maintain the integrity of our hotel in all regards; this includes rate parity as well as image. We maintain our rates on par with many hotels throughout the year. If you recall, we had set some conditions to your future reservations due to your past stay...

Edmonton
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Fairly decent room for the price. Stayed two nights with the usual late night party noise outside the room next door. Not-accessible friendly, i.e. no grab bars in washrooms, breakfast room upstairs, third floor, no elevator. decent wi-fi, and pool. Pet friendly - ground floor rooms with exterior access.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
Raymond, Canada
Reviewed 7 June 2015

The staff were very accommodating and allowed for early check-in if I was willing to switch my room preference, which I didn't mind doing, and they were very kind about making sure I had everything I needed and were also willing and able to get me a room inside the hotel on the first floor so I didn't have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherLeighCameron
Reviewed 27 May 2015

I have stayed here many times! It is very close to chinook mall, and not too far to ikea and the big box stores. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and it even comes with a continental breakfast. . I stayed here with my mom when my youngest was only a couple months old and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Booking online for 2 nights said needed by hospital day surgery , but was able to go home , 2 nights not needed , checked out, But can not get refund for second night not stayed, Too Bad So Sad Sucka,,,,,,,,,,,,,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L B
Reviewed 5 May 2015

The first time we stayed at this property, we were very pleased. The room was clean and had had some updates done to it. We were in the main part of the building, close to the front desk. The second time we stayed, we were in one of the rooms with an outside door. The updates were not done as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

We were given the last room available which may have been the problem. The room was in need of a lot of work. Dirty and stained. Bed was clean. Mouldy fruit in the breakfast room. Very disappointed especially after seeing other guests reviews and pictures. Would not stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chewie111
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 21 April 2015

As my title indicates, I have stayed at this hotel once before (reviewed June 29, 2014). This time around (April 15th – 16th) I was still relatively pleased with my stay, although, the lacks of tongs for the included breakfast still seem to be a problem (as pointed out in my previous review). Two tongs are not sufficient when there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barfly60
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued business and kind words. We always like to hear about the positive and negative aspects of your stay so we can make our hotel better for you. As per your request, we have added more tongs for the breakfast area so there is no mixing between items and an added cleanliness. We hope to see...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 20 April 2015

To be honest, I booked this hotel just for the price. I was on a longer stay so wanted to keep the costs low. But the hotel was surprisingly good. It is professionally maintained and clean. Took a room with the kitchenette and it was very convenient. Beds are well made and linens are clean. The hotel is far from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna198
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

We always appreciate feedback on your stay. Our front desk is available 24 hours a day to respond to any problems you may have. We have made sure the Wi-Fi is continually up to speed so there is no more lagging for our guests. I am happy to hear the front desk assisted you immediately! We are working toward the...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and found it to be quiet and comfortable. A good value for the cost. The only complaint was that the housekeeping staff should be taught how to use a dust cloth. I dusted the lamps and bed headboards myself. The shower head in the bathroom of room number 114 is badly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OnepeopleOneblood
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you had a quiet stay. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests! We take room cleanliness seriously, so as per your review, we have upgraded the dusting methods our housekeepers use so we can eliminate as much dust as possible. We have also looked at the showerhead from the room and changed...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
224 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 109 in Calgary
170 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Days Inn - Calgary South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
728 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is ideally situated in the energetic heart of Macleod Trail. Our location puts you just minutes away from a variety of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centres, pubs and nightclubs. Our many amenities and friendly welcoming staff will help set the stage for a total piece of mind during your stay. We offer 73 tastefully appointed guest rooms that will make you feel at home. You can count on our combination of outstanding value and personal service to make your stay as convenient and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 7505 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $81 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge South Calgary, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge South staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware of the concerns/issue listed and get clarification of Hotel policies...”
296arthurp, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Second floor!”
4Kittens, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
  • Ceiling
  • Bathtub mildew
  • No drain pull
  • Mold and dust on vents
17kenz, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Newer section more modern, but at least some units in older section have a kitchenette.”
AllInclusiveLizard, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Loved the Pacific suite.”
marybY5346UH, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5