We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Calgary North Thriftlodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Calgary North Thriftlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Calgary North Thriftlodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed 2 times, one night each, on our way from and to the airport. Being on the main road to where we were heading the location worked. There are a few hotels right in the area I will check out next time I go this route. But, both times got a smoking room. First stay, the room was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovinvallarta
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hola Lovinvallarta, I want to thank you for your review and for your patience while staying at our property. I am very sorry to hear it was not up to your standards so please accept my apologies. I am very sorry about the A/Cs being loud, we are working on that issue so this changes next summer when we get...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Never will stay here again. Horrible location. Heard the train the whole night. The top latch to lock was broken. So I do not feel safe as my son could have easily gotten out. The was a stain on our pillow and a hair on another.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicole k
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hello nicole k, I am very sorry to hear about your experience at our motel. Please accept my apologies, this is not how your experience should have been. I already looked into this issue and we are working hard to get it fixed. Thank you for your review and have a wonderful day!

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3nites in Nov we have a good stay. Room is clean bathroom is also clean even is small. Breakfast is available at 6am with coffee muffin juice and fruits. WiFi is superb. Convenient to go around. Banff train stain just cross the road. Good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tassieyasmin
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear tassieyasmin, Thank you very much for appreciating our hard work and for liking us! We are sure we will see you next time you are in Calgary. Have a great day!

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2016

An over night stay Nov 20th was a quiet night, with a clean room. Continental breakfast was a nice add on. I'll use this lodge as my hallway point stop over (wpg to vcr return by car) - i'll use this motel in future - Good value for the money - Don (Surrey BC)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VcrRocker69
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hi VcrRocker69, I thank you very much for such a nice review. We do our 110% to please our customers. We will see you next time you stop over in this beautiful city!

lnnisfail
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirby1915
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 803skylerb
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I celebrated our 4 year anniversary. Booked into the Thriftlodge. Had a good night minus some crazy people banging on our door all hours of the night. So in the morning a manager came to my room and said that we had a noise complaint.. well for one it wasn't us cause my boyfriend slept the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear Samantha D, I am sorry about this bad experience you had at our property. I have to say it was not the manager that came to your room, it was a front desk staff. I was the one who talked to you and your boyfriend and I am happy we got this sorted out. Thank you again for staying...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Room was ancient, thermostat was broken and on extreme heat. We had to run the crappy air conditioner to even survive. We were woken up by the water pipes rattling in the middle of the night. The room looked like it could be rented by the hour.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaxwilson964
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hello jaxwilson964, I am very sorry to hear that we were not up to your standards. Yes, our building is old but we do our 110% to please everyone that walks in the door. Have a wonderful day!

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We got the place cheap but it was horrible in my opinion. We got the smoking room and I pretty much got suffocated our whole stay. I didn't get a good sleep because every time I breathe, I would inhale the smell of smoke. The couch was old too. There was a coffee maker in the room but no liner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear Maria L, Thank you for your review and I am sorry you did not have the experience you were expecting at our property. You are right, we still have some smoking rooms and I do hope you asked our front desk to move you to a non-smoking room. I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in...

Prince Albert
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We recently stayed at the Calgary North Thriftlodge and had an affordable stay. The beds were comfortable and the staff was courteous. The breakfast was good and got us off on a good start the next day!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary P
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hello Gary P, Thank you very much for your nice review on our property. I hope you stop by and stay with us next time you are in town. See you soon!

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#46 of 109 in Calgary
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Calgary North Thriftlodge

Address: 2304 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $51 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calgary North Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Calgary North Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary North Thriftlodge Hotel Calgary
Thrift Lodge Calgary
Thriftlodge Calgary
Calgary Thrift Lodge
Calgary Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Calgary North Thriftlodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Calgary North Thriftlodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They pretend to have WiFi, they don't.”
 of 5 bubbles Pyebucket, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“If you book a non-smoking room, you may get a smoking one anyways (even if you pre-paid). Just avoid this motel.”
 of 5 bubbles 259jinnyl, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Rooms that are very close to the main office have 1 signal internet whereas the other have none.”
 of 5 bubbles Dabbler1, 17 May 2014 | Read review
“If you want a room to sit and watch TV ... choose another. All amenities (coffee, fridge, microwave were good) but TV very low quality.”
 of 5 bubbles 699deanc, 4 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Do not drive here and stay here......”
 of 5 bubbles 296arthurp, 10 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5