We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with the family. Pleasant desk staff called 15 minutes after I got to my room and answered all of my questions. Lobby had snacks/water/coffee out at different times of day. Our room had a microwave and kettle in addition to the expected coffee pot/fridge. Kid enjoyed the swimming pool and a quick phone call saw towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank eiffelkiwi
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review on your past stay. We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay. Again, thank you so much and we hope to see you very soon. General Manager More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

It's a challenge to find a reasonably priced room in Calgary, but this hotel worked out just great. We had a good sized room with a king bed. The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed longer than planned and enjoyed our stay. We had one morning without hot water, but the front desk clerk offered a fair discount (when... More 

Helpful?
Thank dirkyyc
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your past stay. We are very pleased you had a pleasant stay enjoyed the hotel amenities. I do apologize for the inconvenience of no hot water. We immediately took action and the situation was fixed and is 100%. Again, thank you so much and we will see... More 

Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

or what! Then we get moved to room 211. I don't notice the black grout in the bathroom shower until the morning, YUK!! I grab one of their white wash clothes and rub and the grout a bit and it COME OFF!! UGH this had to have taken months to get like this. I look a the other areas of... More 

Helpful?
Thank chardraper1
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on your past stay. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I understand you have spoken with a manager and the issues were acted on. If you would like to speak more about the situation, please feel free to contact me at gm_calwest@sandman.ca Thank you and... More 

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights here after a marathon drive. The hotel has up to date decor which we appreciated after staying in more worn looking places on our trip. The facility was clean and our room was comfortable. We were given a suite at a very reasonable rate. Despite road construction at the location, the room was quiet. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meg M
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review on your past stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to see you again. Have a great day! Thank you, More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

What a great place to stay at very clean and comfortable rooms, the staff very helpful and courteous and the location excellent just only a minute off the highway great place if you driving it's only one hour away from Banff Alberta i recommend it to anyone ..

Helpful?
Thank Elias S
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your past stay. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location. Thank you so much again and we look forward seeing you again. Thank you More 

Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This hotel was very nice with upgraded rooms. It was also very clean with newer bedding . The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the suites over night. To gain access to the suites on the third floor you need to use your room key in the elevator. There was a bit of an issue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your past stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed the location and were able to gain access to your destinations easy with the highway construction. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward seeing you again. More 

Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My wife and I wanted a location on the west side of Calgary and this proved perfect. The photos looked great and it was easy access to Highway 1 as well as the entire west side of Calgary. The front desk was friendly and efficient and the room services were also friendly. That said, we were disappointed in the room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank D4ORD
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your past stay. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and staff. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the A/C unit, hotel rooms keys and that you were disappointed in the room. If you have a moment I would... More 

Manitoba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Stayed here for a night before heading to Banff. A very modern hotel with a pool and nice hot tub. The beds were very comfortable and it was very quiet at night. The only problem we had was that the air conditioner wasn't working properly, but that was a minor inconvenience. I would consider staying here again if I needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank GoCardsWS2006
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking you time to write a review on your past stay. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel. My apologies that the air conditioner did not work properly. We have looked into this and have fixed the issue. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon! Thank you, More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is seriously understaffed. There is only one person available at night to check in guests, play housekeeper and help with other questions. Our room had dirty sheets and wasn't cleaned between the two nights we were staying there. The location of the hotel is convenient but that's about it, I will never stay here again.....

Helpful?
Thank FleurdeLys2
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations. The front desk is staffed according to occupancy levels and a house person is also on staff to ensure housekeeping requirements are addressed. Rooms are serviced on a daily basis, unless the Do Not Disturb Sign is on the door... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Spent one night at this hotel. First visit and we would return. Located just off highway #1 across from the Olympic park. Very quiet. Comfortable beds. Lots of construction happening around the hotel, but did not impact our stay. Greeted by friendly and helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank alberta222
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review

Good Day! Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again! More 

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#38 of 109 in Calgary
623 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located across the world-class Canada Olympic Park, along the Trans-Canada Highway, and only a short drive from downtown Calgary, Sandman Hotel Calgary West is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Address: 125 Bowridge Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 3R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $101 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary West
Sandman Hotel Calgary West
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room in the SW corner of the 3rd floor was quiet and bright”
 of 5 bubbles dirkyyc, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a clean room”
  • sticky stuff (spill?) on coffee tray in room...not our mess!
  • not clean
  • coffee ring...NOT ours!
 of 5 bubbles chardraper1, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room are very quiet doesn't matter which room”
 of 5 bubbles EliasS362, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It is nice to have a room with a south view of the Olympic Park.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnD178, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“King size rooms are large and spacious. Views of Olympic park from the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles alberta222, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay