We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Orbitz.comUS$101*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 309: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is not very communicative about some of the things that matter. Housekeeping is good. I have never stayed at a hotel which served breakfast on paper plates before and for the room rate I expected better. It's ok, it's clean and the beds are very comfortable but I wouldn't stay here again if I wanted to enjoy a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 205jill
FOM-HIEX-Edmonton, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

It is disappointing to be considered average in a review so I will share your feedback with our team. Most hotels are using disposable items in the breakfast bar unless they are a full service property that also have a restaurant. We are considered a great choice for corporate guests particularly being in Downtown location however there is great access...

Richmond, Virginia
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Stayed at this location for two nights in mid-December. Room was very comfortable and clean. The bed slept very well. The staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful. Especially for a downtown hotel, the noise level was pretty quiet. Some of the north facing rooms have balconies that would probably be nice in the non-winter months. No issues here....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KenS9
About Hotel's Favourite Review
St. Albert, Alberta
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Holiday Inn Express in downtown Edmonton is a surprisingly modern hotel in a building that is fifty-five years old. After being built in 1962, and very modern in its time, the hotel has been recreated in two or three varied chains, and now is a very satisfying member of the Holiday Inn Express family. The nine-storey exterior has not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RAL46
FOM-HIEX-Edmonton, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

With such a great and detailed review we may have to offer you a job as a sales person at our property. We thank you for staying with us and for such a positive and detailed review of your stay. I am sure our staff will have an extra special day after reading these comments. We certainly look forward to...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel had excellent staff and was quite clean. We stayed in the honeymoon suite with a living area, a jetted tub, electric fireplace, etc. It was a very good place to stay. The decor was a little dreary but overall it was a solid, clean friendly place. The breakfast was very nice too. We did have to pay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
FOM-HIEX-Edmonton, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Mandy, Thank you for staying with us and for your very detailed review. All hotels advertise their rates for rooms and taxes and fees are added on top prior to your departure. Unfortunately being a downtown hotel we do not operate the parking lot so we are not able to offer free parking to our guests as it is a...

Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came in later in the evening, had booked a king executive suite. Walked in the door and the front desk girl rolled her eyes and I immediately knew this was going to go sour. First she couldn't find my reservation after several attempts of looking. Finally spelled my name and then she found it. She says you booked a room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol F
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Carol F, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel due to the level of service you received and the room allocation. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have...

St. John's, Antigua
Reviewed 18 April 2017

I actually stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September of 2015 for a Graduate Students Conference hosted by Athabasca University, but I only now realized that I have not reviewed it. The receptionist at check in was efficient and friendly. He checked me in quickly and was very helpful. I had only one issue with my room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
FOM-HIEX-Edmonton, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Susan J, Thank you for your review. I am happy you didn't miss your flight. I am happy to hear that our team didi their job well and made you feel welcome and appreciated. We certainly look forward to your next visit with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Edmonton, Downtown.

calgary, alberta
Reviewed 13 April 2017

So we check in Friday at 3 ish only to be given a room that folks had smoked in. I was still gagging while I was calling the desk downstairs to get us out of there. They gave us the room next door. Why would they even bother sending anyone to that room until it had been completely fumigated? Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qvminich
FOM-HIEX-Edmonton, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

It is disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations. It seems like you had a few issues with your stay including access to the business center which i am not sure why as it is used often by our regular guests and i have no reports of issues. Your overall experience is not the norm for our guests and...

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed there twice once for a doctor appointment and the second time for a concert it's a great location in a very nice part of town rooms are clean and modern staff is friendly and helpful it's a great value for a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This hotel seems very popular for out of town concert goers, as were we. Our biggest complaint was the noise, even though the hotel says "no smoking on balconies" its pretty obvious this hotel is the choice for smokers because of the balconies. The rooms aren't very soundproof,so until 3:00 AM we listened to the balcony door above us slide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polo789
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Polo789, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and for staying with us. I am elated to read you found the staff service during check in and check out to be excellent. Our hotel does have the best location for most of our travelers attending concerns and I am happy you noticed this....

Grande Prairie
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Slow check in process. Beds were okay. Don't pay at the parking outlet as it only goes until 6 am, the hotel gets a different rate. Parking is very tight and limited. Breakfast is standard. Elevators are slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMichael12345
FOM-HIEX-Edmonton, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Charla, I apologize for us failing to meet your expectations on your stay. It is quite unusual that we get negative comments regarding our check-in process. This may be due to the odd occasion when we have a plethora of persons that happen to arrive at the same time. We are intending to replace both our elevators this summer as...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
King Executive (29)
Viewed
King Feature (35)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Spa Jacuzzi (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Two Queen (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#58 of 93 in Edmonton
271 reviews
0.4 km away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
935 reviews
0.8 km away
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
0.3 km away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,424 reviews
0.3 km away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Smoke Free Downtown Edmonton Hotel's Location is IdealThe Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown offers unparalleled service & amenities for your next visit to Edmonton, Alberta. Our hotel's staff will make your stay memorable.Guests of our renovated Edmonton hotel know our location, in the heart of downtown, means they can walk to the Alberta legislature, TELUS Field or the Citadel Theatre. There are so many things to do in Edmonton, from the 30 annual festivals, events at Rexall Place and the wonders of the West Edmonton Mall, that only a downtown Edmonton hotel's location will do.Corporate travelers know that a hotel's location in Edmonton can help them and our downtown location means easy access to the University of Alberta and the Shaw Conference Centre. We know what business travelers want when they travel, so we have free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. There's a 24-hour Business Centre and meeting rooms that can seat up to 200 people and we'll even handle your catering needs.Our guests know that the Holiday Inn Express Edmonton hotel's amenities add value to their stay. There's the free breakfast buffet each morning and easy access to the Free Press Bistro in the hotel. 90% of our rooms feature a balcony as well as a pillowtop mattress. You can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or the steam room after a workout in the Fitness Centre. Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Address: 10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Price Range: $146 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Alberta
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a higher room for less traffic noise.”
RAL46, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Book at another hotel!”
PrairieLily73, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you like a quiet room, ask for a higher floor.”
jesuis0709, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 301- loud noise from the elevator”
HeidiJ320, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The south side rooms have views of the River valley.”
pscott44, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$101
Hotwire.comUS$101
Expedia.comUS$101
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates