We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2014

The staff at the hotel are great. The rooms depending on which one you get can range from clean to dusty. If you are staying here ask for a "renovated" room. Room: for some reason you cannot control the temperature of the room. Although clean, there are several things that need updating. The coffee machine is really old, kinda gross... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit R
HYohannes, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Rabbit R: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate you creating list of things for us to consider. Your comments were forwarded to the respective departments for review. When you have a moment, please contact our hotel and ask for the Manager on Duty, so we may discuss... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Booked the nicer room for two days. The heater in the room made horrible squealing noise. Woke up the first night and the roof was leaking water in 4 different places. Went to get new room and had no jacuzzi suites left. Got downgraded to a room half the size. Didn't have to pay for the first night was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank S10_88
HYohannes, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear S10_88: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize that your stay was less than perfect due to a leak in your suite. Unfortunately, you may have come during a time when we were quite booked up and as a result, we did not have another... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2014

I'm not one to complain but the horrible experience forces me to warn travellers. First, it is really a construction site. I was surprised the hotel,remained open. Secondly, the Internet doesn't work. I had to trouble shoot the problem with their IT specialist for 1/2 hour. The specialist concluded it was a problem with the hotel. This wasted valuable time.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gord178
HYohannes, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Gord178: thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations while you were with us. You will be happy to know that a plan of action is now in place to ensure that our fitness equipment are in good condition at all times; and that we are expecting to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Pool/sauna wasn't working. Elevator lights didn't work. Entrance wasn't welcoming/lot's of construction going on. Loading lane was blocked. Too expensive for what they offered! Great selection for breakfast! Front desk receptionist was very welcoming. Friendly cleaners.

Helpful?
Thank ammanda5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ammanda5, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. While I am pleased with your kind comments regarding our staff and breakfast served, it is disheartening to know that not all aspects of your stay were exceptional. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the on going renovations. I have taken note of your... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

The good thing about this hotel is that it is in a very good downtown location within a reasonable price range... The rooms are nice and have cozy little balcony facing the street (but still nice)... Otherwise, it was a bit disappointing - the hotel is undergoing renovation and constructions, so it wasn't very comfortable. The breakfast was ... well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kot79
HYohannes, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kot79, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for providing us with you feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize that your stay was less than perfect with us as we wished for you to have a more satisfactory stay. Thank you for acknowledging our location and our rooms as we are glad that... More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2014

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Edmonton for one night for business. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the check in went smoothly. The hotel is in the midst of a significant renovation which will be very nice when completed. I stayed in a king suite with a couch and the room was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank workinonretirement
HYohannes, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Workinonretirement, thank for providing your feedback regarding your stay with us and for gifting us with a lovely 4 star review. We apologize that your rate did not meet your expectations; however, in the future, we recommend that you call us directly so that we can obtain the best rate for you. As well, we have various packages that... More 

Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2014

We were in Edmonton for the ITU World Championships Sprint Triathlon in which my girlfriend was competing. The hotel was fully booked with athletes from all over the world with some not having received their bikes or any other equipment that they needed for the upcoming races. However the hotel staff, especially Estere and David were simply fantastic in making... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hansuu
HYohannes, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Hansuu, thank you for taking the time to gift us with a lovely 5 star review. We are glad that we were able to accomodate you and your girlfriend's requests during the ITU event, as it surely was a busy time for the hotel. Additionally, thank you for acknowleding our award winning staff, as they are the ones that... More 

Richmond, BC,
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I stayed in this location for 3 days….while they were under renovation. And the upgrades are both interior and exterior. The service level was exceptional given the state of the property. However, when you are under renovation, the stress levels of the guests can run very high.....so to alleviate this management had a meet and greet for all loyalty guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank marathonguy
HYohannes, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Marathonguy, thank you for gifting us with a lovely 5 star review and for sharing your experience with us while staying at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Edmonton. Thank you for acknowledging our reception to the guests, as this is just one of the many ways we wish to thank our guests for their business. We are glad that... More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2014

It's a Holiday Inn and as such has some standard criteria that it tries to meet for the kind of hotel it is and for the price. We stay here for work often and I find that this hotel meets it's own standards admirably. This past visit the lobby was being renovated and so it looked a mess but It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wilfcalgary
HYohannes, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Wilfcalgary, thank you for gifting us with a 4 star review and for your comments regarding your recent business stay with us. We wish to thank you for your kind words regarding our deluxe breakfast and hotel staff. As you've kindly indicated, we try our best to bring forward some standards above the brand and we try to make... More 

Winnipeg Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2014

I was working in downtown Edmonton for the latter half of May and the full month of June and had the pleasure of staying at this property in the heart of downtown Edmonton. What a gem! The staff is extremely friendly; Estere and David in particular, and GM Kent Murray made me and my co-workers feel like family. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Dweller
HYohannes, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Hotel_Dweller: thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for gifting us with a wonderful tagline labelled "Exceptional Stay!" Thank you for acknowledging our clean and spacious rooms, as it is our award winning staff that makes it all happen. As we are an environmentally friendly hotel, using steel and glass cutlery is consistent with our... More 

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
King Executive (29)
Viewed
King Feature (35)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Spa Jacuzzi (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Two Queen (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#16 of 95 in Edmonton
803 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#49 of 95 in Edmonton
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#39 of 95 in Edmonton
411 reviews
Downtown
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 95 in Edmonton
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Smoke Free Downtown Edmonton Hotel's Location is IdealThe Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown offers unparalleled service & amenities for your next visit to Edmonton, Alberta. Our hotel's staff will make your stay memorable.Guests of our renovated Edmonton hotel know our location, in the heart of downtown, means they can walk to the Alberta legislature, TELUS Field or the Citadel Theatre. There are so many things to do in Edmonton, from the 30 annual festivals, events at Rexall Place and the wonders of the West Edmonton Mall, that only a downtown Edmonton hotel's location will do.Corporate travelers know that a hotel's location in Edmonton can help them and our downtown location means easy access to the University of Alberta and the Shaw Conference Centre. We know what business travelers want when they travel, so we have free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. There's a 24-hour Business Centre and meeting rooms that can seat up to 200 people and we'll even handle your catering needs.Our guests know that the Holiday Inn Express Edmonton hotel's amenities add value to their stay. There's the free breakfast buffet each morning and easy access to the Free Press Bistro in the hotel. 90% of our rooms feature a balcony as well as a pillowtop mattress. You can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or the steam room after a workout in the Fitness Centre. Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Address: 10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Price Range: $147 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Alberta
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure there is a bad room although the views are mostly of downtown buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles 835barbr, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Close to LRT”
 of 5 bubbles 696jamiee, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views”
  • Small step-out balcony with sliding screen and glass doors.
  • Jacuzzi Suite
 of 5 bubbles Etoile_of_NE_Ohio, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“West side has a river view, east facing rooms have nice city view. Our room was next to the ice machine & elevator, perfect for our group.”
 of 5 bubbles pdinc, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Starbucks is just two blocks down! :) :) :)”
 of 5 bubbles troyw129, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay