We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Jasper

159 reviews
Save
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good32%
  • Average30%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“bed dorm”(6 reviews)
“bottom bunk”(3 reviews)
“large dorm”(2 reviews)
Free Parking
Kitchenette
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Room Service
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (159)Write a Review
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
16
36
39
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
16
36
39
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormbottom bunklarge dormlounge areaenjoyed my staygood nights sleepstayed for one nightrecommend staying herevisit jaspershort drivemountainlockabletemperamentalhikemidnightwhistlerheating
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

On arrival I was overwhelmed by the size of the dorm and felt claustrophobic where my bed was. Without any fuss, I was offered a bottom bunk by both the door and a window which made me much happier. I had the best two nights...More

Thank thejoeybeard
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Good stay, despite being in a 28 bed dorm. Kitchen is good, and recycling impressive. Plenty of space and equipment. Ladies washrooms probably need refurbishment soon, showers very awkward. Lights out from 10 pm to 8 am policy perhaps a little excessive, but different visitors...More

Thank carolineahs
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI-JasperResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at HI Jasper. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We do our best to keep our older facilities working as well...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

There's a bit of a monopoly in Jasper which is why this hostel gets away with charging $40 for a tiny, humid corner in a room of 24 people. Perhaps if the cost was $20 I wouldn't complain, but this was a basic hostel where...More

Thank annja2015
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI-JasperResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at HI Jasper. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Our hostel Front Desk is very busy, particularly during the summer season. HI does have plans in place to build a new...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017

This hostel was around long before my first visit 28 years ago and it hasn't changed much. There are 3 types of rooms a large female only dorm; a large co-ed dorm and private rooms for 2 to 3 people. The walls are thin and...More

Thank Ginger I
Response from Michel T, General Manager at HI-JasperResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your review of HI Jasper. Your description of our property is quite accurate, and captures some of our strengths and limitations. The proximity of sleeping areas to our common areas is one of the main reasons for our quiet time of...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017

This is definitely the worst place I have ever stayed in and I have traveled a lot! Last year me, my boyfriend and friend stayed at the Hi Hostel in Maligne Lake and it was awesome! We had high expectations, especially because of the brand...More

Thank Annalee D
Response from Michel T, General Manager at HI-JasperResponded 6 August 2017

We are very sorry to read that you had a poor stay at HI Jasper. Our hostel does have large dorms, the shared dorm with 44 beds (numbers 1 though 28 are in another room), with a current non-member rate of $47.96 including taxes, as...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345625
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Victoria M
22 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
We are located about 7km from town and up a mountain road. During our summer season, there is a shuttle run by Sundog transportation going from the town up to the hostel several times during the day from around 8:30am to... More
1
Vote
Northmandy
18 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
We usually have some space available over the holidays, though it is busier over the holidays than most of the rest of the winter season.
0
Votes
mkenny2016
4 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
Hi Maxine and Steve, The best way to check this is through us directly, on the HI Canada website or to call us directly at the phone number on our website. Our private rooms are already booked for most of August, and much... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Be ready for a very large dorm if you don't have a private room. Plugs only available on one side of..."
Read review
"private rooms good value and best chance of sleep for 2 to 3"
Read review
"Go for private rooms, dorms are like 60+ people in one room"
Read review
"Ask for a lower bed. I prefer close to windows, if you do not ask for one further away."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing