We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

672 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 622: English reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I am randomly traveling around Canada for my vacation. Stopped here for the night and I am very impressed with the staff, accomodations and food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds must have had new matresses as I get an excellent sleep that night. The food (I had the baby back ribs)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, thank you so very much for your very complimentary review! I am so happy you chose us for an overnight stay. I am also very happy you had a good nights sleep. We hear this a lot. Things like "best sleep ever": I think this goes along with peaceful and relaxing which we also hear a lot....

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

The Inn itself is beautiful, it is a shame they don't offer horse riding there anymore (insurance issues apparently). The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was pretty good for dinner, breakfast was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Lisa C, thank you for the mention of our beautiful Inn and friendly and helpful staff. We all appreciate hearing those words. We had to stop for the reason you mentioned. The insurance premiums started getting larger than the total equestrian revenue. Hope you will return one day. David

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The rooms are clean and attractive, the staff is friendly and helpful, the food is wonderful and the location is lovely. One could travel with horses, since an equestrian center is onsite. Painted turtles might even be seen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank latigo5406
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Beautiful old tranquil Inn with perfectly suited decor. Welcoming and charming. Our mountain view was beautiful. Yes it is a way outside Kamloops but it's worth it and so close to Highway 1. Food was very reasonable and 24 hour tea and coffee very welcome. We had a great stay and wish we had more time there. Would recommend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happytrippers20
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear happytrippers20, thank you very much for choosing STIGR and for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. I love the appreciation of our décor. We are obviously not a typical downtown corporate hotel but we do offer the expected amenities. The biggest compliment is your wish you had more time here. Thank you. We look forward to to welcoming you...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We're traveling from Seattle to Jasper and stopped here for the nite. Ask for a river view room. King bed was very comfortable and room was recently remodeled. Dinner was superb and prices reasonable. Had the continental breakfast which is really a full breakfast and Pauline's service was superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wishware
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Wishware, I am happy you chose STIGR for a stopover between Seattle and Jasper. I am also happy you enjoyed your time with us. Pauline will love reading your comments about her service. I want to thank you for your mention of our continental breakfast as we have been listening to our guests and have added to our breakfast...

Seattle
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The center is about 10 miles east of the city but its location on the river as a previous horse ranch makes it special. We have the hot tub and pool overlooking the river to ourselves. We shared the property with a few European tour groups but did not know they were even there as dinners were in separate rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeNWUSA
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear JoeNWUSA, thank you so much for your very kind words! I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and love to hear you would return for another stay. My favorite meal is the local Kamloops Trout. Glad you joined us after your 5 days of camping. Glad we have tons of hot water. We would love to welcome you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

nice looking hotel but a long way from anywhere Room was a good size with a comfortable bed. There was no safe in the room although the hotel advises that you out your valuables in the safety deposit boxes at reception.There are no deposit boxes only a hotel safe which staffbmembers have access to. there was bo fridge in roon....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Christine F, we are about 15 to 20 minutes outside of downtown Kamloops and we do feel that this is part of our charm. If any of our guests want a mini fridge in their room we are happy to provide one, just ask the front desk and it will be available upon check-in. Have not previously heard of...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This was my 5th stay here (we come here every year for a golf tournament) and I am really looking forward to it each time and STIGR never disappoints. I was so happy to see the expanded breakfast buffet this year. Loved it! The staff is so nice, thank you for you patience with us (our nights tend to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubbelbine
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear bubbelbine, Wow! Thank you so much for being such a loyal guest! 5 years, how great is this. We do enjoy having you and your group here each year. I appreciate you mentioning the continental breakfasts. We have struggled with this and feel we now have the solution. Our guests will tell us if we do. Feedback so far,...

Blackpool, Lancashire
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed for 1 night en route to Jasper. The property is set in fantastic grounds with beautiful scenery all around. We had a room overlooking the river and the views were just incredible. Room very spacious and bed huge and really comfortable. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub and made the most of the view! We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear JP1, thank you choosing STIGR to stay en route to Jasper. Thank you as well for your very lovely review about your experience with us. Happy you found you bed comfortable as the main reason for the visit is a great nights sleep. Karen, our Executive chef will sure appreciate the great food comment. Love that you would recommend...

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of the positive reviews and the beautiful scenery shown on the pictures through Trip Advisor. And what we've experienced is far beyond our expectations. Besides the gorgeous scenery and the cozy clean room, we were impressed by the staff's extra help. As we would take grey hound in the midnight on the check-out day, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apple M
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Apple M, WOW I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for all of your compliments about your time with us. I know Rocky will be thrilled that you mentioned him in your review and he was more than happy to take you to the greyhound station. We have a great team. Karen, our Executive chef will...

708 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: $102 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
7 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblaine53, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Tansay, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River view best”
 of 5 bubbles happytrippers20, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A view of the farm on one side with little traffic vs the river i with a highway on the other side of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeNWUSA, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river have a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles R703RZsandral, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay