We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

686 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 636: English reviews
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Arrival at the hotel was ok. We had to carry our suitcases up the stairs ourselves to our room. Evening meal was not remarkable, both our main courses were not good, stir fried vegetables with sauce came without sauce, the salmon had no taste because of a very spicy sauce, but the apple chutney (as described on the menu) was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rowanpu
Toronto-ish
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Lovely quiet hotel with very friendly staff. I always enjoy my stay here. I come to town to visit my family and sometimes work. The rooms are clean, quiet and restful. Amazing view of the mountains and Thompson River. This time I came with my husband, who also enjoyed the wine selection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liebstermio
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for being a loyal guest, we really appreciate you staying with us. Happy to hear you always enjoy yourself and thank you for mentioning that your husband enjoyed our wine selection. Look forward to you returning. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. It sure helps us. David

Reviewed 13 July 2015

Our stay was unfortunately for only 1 night. This hotel is very unique and is in a lovely setting. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The little extras like the toiletries, robes and cuddly teddy bear made for a special stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 out of 5 review! Our team is here to make sure that our guests are well taken care of and they truly love hearing that you felt that you were. Hopefully one day you can return for another visit. Glad to hear you enjoyed the little extras and thank you...

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2015

My husband and me did a golf and stay. Had a wonderful day of golf at Canoe Creek. Got to the hotel and was greeted by such friendly staff. Dinner in main restaurant was excellent! We had the best waitress, so personable. Service superior! Only negative comment, hot tub had quite a bit of dirt in it, but there had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandi S
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

So happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning the friendly and superior service, this is most definitely what we strive for. Happy you enjoyed your dinner in madisens. You are correct the storm does blow a lot of debris off the overhanging trees along the river. It has been suggested we remove the trees...

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We visited Kamloops town first and explored a bit before heading a few kilometers back toward the East to the South Thompson Inn & Conference Center. Although the town was pleasant enough, it was clear when we arrived at the South Thompson Inn that there was nothing in the downtown area that could compete. Entering the property, one is struck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whitley B
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay with us. I enjoyed reading this very much! You wrote a great review. Thank you for your breakfast comments. This has been a difficult area for us and we have been working on making this better. From recent comments about breakfast we seem to have succeeded. Thank you again for...

Princeton, Canada
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Stayed here for meetings. Very beautiful location. Room overlooked the river. Heritage style of room, very quiet. Nice patio to sit on outside of my room. Lovely, comfy robe provided. Excellent coffee!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 49Linda12
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I enjoyed reading your comments. I appreciate your “Excellent coffee” comment. It is Lavazza an awesome Italian coffee. I really enjoy a good cup of coffee as well. Hope to see you again! David

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Stayed here with my partner for one night on our way back to Vancouver from Calgary. I found the Inn through Hotels.ca originally but booked the stay through the Inn's website. The room was easy to boom and reasonably priced, and we ended up in room 10 which is a standard double queen room overlooking the river. The Inn itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leasha892
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

What a great review. Thank you for choosing STIGR as your accommodation while traveling back to Vancouver. You wrote a very detailed account of your time with us and I really appreciate you taking your time to do this. I am happy to hear you will come and stay with us again and I love your description “bursting with charm...

Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I, along with our two month old son, stayed here for one night on our way to Victoria. It was like stepping back in time (not in a bad way!). Really well kept hotel in a gorgeous location. The staff was lovely and we loved the llamas! We would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen G
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate hearing you will stay with us again, we love having guests return. Appreciate you mentioning our staff, Thank you. David

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We stayed for a night here whilst travelling between Jasper and Vancouver and after getting a little worried after a drive through a very industrial area, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is outside of Kamloops and in a lovely setting. The hotel is well appointed and clean. We arrived late and just in time for dinner which I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing STIGR as your stopover. I am very happy you enjoyed your meal, our executive chef will be thrilled to hear this! If you do want to stay longer we will be happy to help you find things to do. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels. David

Long Valley, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We stopped here overnight on the way from Banff to Vancouver. The ride in on the main highway is a bit misleading given some industrial and commercial properties, but the Inn itself is set back from this main road and is located in a scenic setting that's very peaceful. While some of the accomodatins are not the most modern, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

· I always appreciate our guests taking their time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is very helpful for our guests in their decision on where to stay. So thank you for your comments. Love hearing comfortable, clean and friendly. For first time guests when they cross the river to our road they do get a start when they...

707 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: $104 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both Mountain view or River view rooms are well appointed and cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles theshelleyhepburn, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblaine53, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Tansay, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River view best”
 of 5 bubbles happytrippers20, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A view of the farm on one side with little traffic vs the river i with a highway on the other side of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeNWUSA, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5