We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The South Thompson Inn and Guest Ranch is as comfortable as it is luxurious. The service-from the front desk to the restaurant-is exceptional and the staff really goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. The location, right on the river, is beautiful. Sunsets over the water every night from the gazebo, and the grounds are immaculate. Pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justarandomdude
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

What a great review and you are most welcome! It is us that should thank you. First for staying with us and then for such a great review. Thank you for choosing STIGR to stay and also for all your very nice comments about your time here. I am happy to hear you felt welcome while staying with us, thank...

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We recently spent one evening at the South Thompson Inn and Guest Ranch. I had 'bid' on the package in an online auction fundraiser. Our special package included a wine and cheese welcome tray, a gift certificate for dinner at madisons (their on site restaurant) and complimentary continental breakfast. The service we had was excellent, from the front desk, to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

So happy to hear you won the bidding and came to enjoy a special getaway with us. We support quite a number of charities with our gift certificates and this one was a benefit to the charity, to you and to us as we now have a new supporter. Thank you for your kind words about your time with us....

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Very helpful and friendly staff. A nice continental breakfast. Room was clean and nicely furnished. Enjoyed having our morning coffee in the pergola at the front of the hotel and our breakfast on the patio overlooking the pool and hot tub

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al K
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I love reviews from guests that stay 4 days or more and still like us. I am happy to hear your enjoyed your breakfast and your room. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back again! David

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to win 5-days/4-nights In Kamloops with accommodations at this lovely Kentucky-style inn. It is close enough to all a amenities that you feel comfortable but far enough away to enjoy both the countryside and the river. Rooms are a wonderful combination of old and new with a king size sleigh bed, antique dressers and night tables....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPFABED
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

How fun to have won this trip! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room and love hearing that you will definitely stay with us again, thank you! Debra (my daughter) will be thrilled you mentioned her in your review. She loves helping our guests and as you said no request is too small and with her none too...

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We were staying for one night as part of a road trip and arrived late after a long drive. Our room keys didn't work- actually the lock wouldn't open, so we were moved to a different room with a river view. Every aspect of our visit was a pleasure. Our room was a standard with two queen beds. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank b00mer47
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your beautiful description of your experience while staying with us and your description of our property! Sorry the lock to your original room did not open. I had not heard about this so I guess our maintenance team fixed it in the morning. Glad you enjoyed you meals with us. The trout in my favorite....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Felt like a country inn from the long white fence and horses .The rooms had a great view of the paddocks with horses just so peaceful.The room was big the bed comfy and staff so friendly.We ate dinner here it was top quality.We also had breakfast and had read previous comments that it was small and not value for money.We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor, we appreciate you took your time to do this. I also appreciate your comments about your time with us and your comments about our breakfast. Love hearing that you will come back and stay again, thank you! David

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We only planned to stop in Kamloops for one night as a stop over on the way from Jasper to Whistler, unfortunately due to a Mosquito infestation in our accommodation in Jasper we had to move early and therefore had to book an extra night at the South Thompson. When we arrived a little fed up from our Jasper issues...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philmac28
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your experience in Jasper. I am happy that you were able to stay with us for a couple of nights, bug free. Thank you for your comments about our team. I am happy to hear you were well taken care of. We get a lot of great comments about our team. We make sure we hire...

Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2015

This was our 4th time visiting the South Thompson Inn and we were thoroughly impressed once again!! From the lush green lawns to the picturesque views, this place is heaven on earth! Staying at the Inn is so peaceful and relaxing. We spent a bit of our time in the pool and hottub beside the river, and one afternoon golfing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris H
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review! I loved reading every word! I am so happy to hear about your experiences with us and love that we can keep impressing you. We all would like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year. We do have a lot of weddings...

Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We stopped by without much notice with our dog and 2 children to this very nice place on our road trip. This feels really like we are guests to someone's ranch (which is exactly what it is). Very friendly staff, rooms and amenities are without pretention and perfectly adequate. The main house is litterally on the river and they told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephane B
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I am very happy you came to stay with us on your road trip. I appreciate your comments about your time with us. I hope your dog had a good time exploring our property and hopefully your children were able to enjoy the pool. The leash rule is for dogs who do not always listen to their owners. I am...

Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the South Thompson while we were visiting friends in the area! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and accomodating! They were always willing to answer any questions or fulfill any requests. We would definitely recommend this venue to others!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gbny
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

So very happy to hear you had a great stay with us! Thank you for mentioning that our team was always willing to fulfill your requests. We all strive to have our guests enjoy every minute while staying with us. Thank you for recommending STIGR. Hope you will return in the future. David

724 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
900 reviews
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: $101 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both Mountain view or River view rooms are well appointed and cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles theshelleyhepburn, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblaine53, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Tansay, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River view best”
 of 5 bubbles happytrippers20, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A view of the farm on one side with little traffic vs the river i with a highway on the other side of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeNWUSA, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5