We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$104
Priceline
BestWestern.comUS$104
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (187)
Room & Suite (126)
Dining (51)

About

#5 of 17 hotels in Nanaimo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Located in Nanaimo,BC, the Best Western Dorchester Hotel is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shops
Sun deck
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
816Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 241
  • 284
  • 156
  • 82
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Yin W wrote a review 20 Nov
London, United Kingdom53 contributions206 helpful votes
We stayed here on two separate occasions on the way to and from Tofino. Unfortunately on both occasions the rooms were really dirty. Dirt and dust everywhere in the corners and up against the edges of furniture clearly a sign of rushed vacuuming. As many others have noted, mold and mildew everywhere in the bathrooms and skirting boards. On the second time round there were plenty of short hairs (leg hairs) in the bed. The restaurant (The View) was the highlight of the stay. Very good food for a decent price. The staff were all very friendly but unfortunately this is not enough. I would much rather have a clean room and rude staff than the other way round. Nonetheless I would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamara Turcotte, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that your stay with us did not reflect the high standards that we are known for, and we are reviewing your feedback with our team. It is clear that we can improve further, particularly in our housekeeping. If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Yours sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VancouverLil wrote a review Aug 2021
Langley, Canada632 contributions169 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dorchester. It is centrally located and within walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. The hotel was a little old, but very well maintained. Our room looked out onto the harbour and it was so comfortable and clean. We were also very impressed with the Covid protocol. I would like to really call out our maid. She was wonderful! We opted for not having any room service but she checked in to find out if we needed anything. I was also very impressed by the use of soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion dispensed in a large container, very reminiscent of how they do it on the cruise ships. Really better for the environment. Well done! We will look forward to staying at the Dorchester again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: No bad rooms. But the third floor has a really nice outdoor patio that can be used by hotel guests!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Park, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Dear VancouverLil, Thank you for staying with us and I’m glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of our team, your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We also appreciate recognizing our staff, our COViD protocol and our eco friendly amenities. It’s been pleasure accommodating you. We hope to welcoming you again in near future. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C M wrote a review 18 Nov
1 contribution
+1
I have never written a negative review, in fact they have always been positive but I caution anyone thinking of staying there. To begin with there are limited free parking spaces. I began my stay by driving around for 40 minutes in downtown Nanaimo trying to find parking after ultimately settling for nearby pay parking. Getting safely up to the hotel as a single female in the dark was another adventure. My hotel room was filthy. Not only was it in disrepair but there was hair and filth everywhere. There was hair on the ceiling, in the bathtub, in the bathroom drawers, and in the bed. The surfaces had not been wiped down and the floor was dirty. The toilet didn’t flush properly and the filthy shampoo/conditioner dispensers were empty. The beds were uncomfortable and the hotel was noisy. Vacuuming of the hallway began at 6:30am. The worst part was when I opened the curtains in the morning to be greeted with so much condensation as to not see out, accompanied by copious amounts of mould in the window sills, under the frame, and down the wall. I travel a lot and stay in multiple hotels and would never, ever stay at this hotel again. The pictures will speak for themselves. Be sure to check out the ones with mould. Ugh.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamara Turcotte, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. As the new General Manager, I can assure you that housekeeping and maintenance is obviously one of my main priorities. I have forwarded all your comments to the staff, and they are very apologetic and are grateful for being made aware of areas that need more attention. I do apologies for the misunderstanding with regards to parking. We offer free parking to our guests, not only in our lot, but also in the overflow lots directly across the street and on the street directly in front of the hotel. I was informed by the Front Desk Manager that after speaking with you at check out, that she had authorised a full refund, because we did not provide you with the service you deserve. I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with exceptional service. If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Yours sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolunruh10 wrote a review 18 Nov
Abbotsford, Canada1 contribution
Stay at the Coast Bastion instead. The hotel was filthy....rooms not cleaned well at all. Wiped the floor with a white face cloth as I spilled water, my footprint was imprinted on the side that was on the floor because the floor was so filthy (laminate floors that have not been washed.) Got picures to prove it. Black hair in 1 bed. Beds were uncomfortable doubles.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamara Turcotte, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andrecerqueirali2022 wrote a review 10 Nov
Victoria, Canada1 contribution
I was at the BW for one night only. The room was ok with a nice view. The problem was the cleaning. i found pieceS of popcorn at the edges of the bed, in the floor, also in the corners. Very unpleasant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lorna705 wrote a review 9 Nov
Alberta, Canada4 contributions
Where to begin. We checked in and automatically regretted it. After travelling all day it was late and we thought it can’t be that bad. Well it got worse. The smell was rancid it was like they used no cleaning solutions in the water to clean the hotel. The room was NOTHING. Like the photos. It was so small and the window looked out to a brick wall less then 4 feet from the window. The bed was hard squeaky and so uncomfortable. The bathroom was also still dirty. We did not get any sleep the housekeepers kept banging into our door. We considered this hotel a nightmare compared to the 8 other places we stayed in. Motels around town looked better for the price. Biggest disappointment. We’ve also not been reached out by any management
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamara Turcotte, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. The hotel has a number of different room types, from Standard Economy type rooms, like the one you were in, as well as larger City or Harbour View rooms. I do hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel10661476562 wrote a review 6 Nov
16 contributions2 helpful votes
went to Nanaimo to pickup a motorcycle unfortunately on the way back we heard from BC ferries that they would be canceling the final sailing for the evening, this meant that we have to find a hotel. This location was absolutely prefect its basically just a 10min drive form the Ferry docks which made this absolutely perfect. best hotel on the entire island but maybe I'm being bias since i always stay with BW lol ,. not the less this was a perfect place to Escape the storm!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dave K wrote a review Oct 2022
Vancouver, Canada16 contributions
This is the best location in Nanaimo with restaurants, stores, take-out and amenities close by. Across the street is the historic Bastion and a scenic walk along the waterfront. Quiet rooms and friendly staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jindsingh wrote a review Oct 2022
Surrey, Canada1 contribution
Lovely hotel, clean, good room - loved the set up of the room, and well situated for a so I could walk to the conference everyday. There was parking included that helped. Best of all was the restaurant- really lovely staff and nice food - the actual hotel itself is also lovely
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
akaboreese wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
I'm a Best Western fan! I enjoy the benefits of great rooms, service, locations, and points that do not expire. We loved the view from our room. Windows opened. Heat/cool was great. Pillows, bedding, service was excellent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western nanaimo, nanaimo best western
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandNanaimo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN DORCHESTER HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 295 Photos (Nanaimo, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Harbourfront Walkway (0.2 km), Nanaimo Museum (0.3 km), and Breakout Nanaimo Escape Rooms (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asteras Greek Taverna, The Nest Bistro, and Gabriel's Gourmet Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Dorchester Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Dorchester Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Bastion (0.09 km).