Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo

Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo

809 Island Hwy S, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6Z2 Canada
Traveller (70)
Two Queen Bed
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Join Wyndham Rewards Free
S$169
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
S$169
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#8 of 17 hotels in Nanaimo
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Days Inn Nanaimo is located off Trans-Canada Highway 1 with easy access to the Nanaimo Airport and both BC Ferry Terminals. We have 4 pet-friendly guest rooms, some kitchenettes, family rooms with bunk-beds and spacious 1 and 2 queen bedded rooms. The hotel is located minutes from the Nanaimo Waterfront and Historic Downtown Nanaimo as well as other popular visitor hot spots . COVID-19 has temporarily limited some of our amenities. Our Indoor Pool & Hot Tub is open to hotels guests only, by appointment. Our on-site Ricky's All Day grill is currently open for take out and dine -in service using Social Distancing Protocol. A complimentary hot breakfast is available to all guests at Ricky's All Day Grill from 7:00 am - 9:30 am daily. Daily housekeeping is not currently provided but our Guests can restock their amenities by visiting our Front Desk Team.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Family
Languages Spoken
Chinese
775Reviews3Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 250
  • 204
  • 93
  • 88
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
toniala27 wrote a review May 2022
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My past observations of Wyndham Hotels in general has been varied, sometimes nice, sometimes sketchy. We were skeptical at first but when we checked in and got to our room, I was pleasantly surprised it was very clean and the other guests were not sketchy at all. There were several other young families, the indoor pool was clean and our room had cool bunk beds in Avengers motif and my son couldn't have been more ecstatic. I suppose there were parts that could have used a bit of a reno, but nothing crazy. Very inexpensive place to stay, we were last minute guests that only stayed overnight to catch a really early ferry.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lubiere wrote a review Nov 2021
Ottawa, Canada4,806 contributions251 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked via Wyndham for 100$C GOC rate.

This is located at the beginning of the city, typical Days Inn, did not look to promising. Plenty of parking though. Check in was quick and friendly.

Was provided room on the first floor. Room was like a mini one room suite, with living room at the entrance (with sofa, LCD TV, fridge and work desk), then bathroom then bedroom, with king bed, a bigger TV (with cable box so easy Roku connection), decent wifi.

There is a good sized pool on the same floor, and they are serving breakfast in another room (hard boiled eggs, toasts, yogurt, muffins, coffee and juices). They provide you with a coupon which you redeem for breakfast or can use at Rickies upstairs for a 20% discount.

You need a car for this location, but the town core is 5 minutes drive.

Decent stay...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joan Spencer, Revenue Management at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo
Responded 8 Dec 2021
Luc, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Here at Days Inn, we continuously strive to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Rob Green Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brade J wrote a review Jan 2020
Vancouver, Canada3 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean hotel, large rooms somewhat dated hotel. Not in the nices part of town. The hotel advertised a breakfast which I found to be false advertising. The breakfast they provided was a typical continental breakfast, without the fresh fruit; no hot meals such as bacon eggs and sausages.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DaysInnNanaimo, General Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Trudy C, thank you for your feedback and for staying with us! As a Days Inn with an on-site restaurant we are not obligated to provide a complimentary continental breakfast but we do for those guests looking for something quick and easy. We feel that our offerings of cold boiled eggs, yogurts, cold cereals, instant oatmeal, a variety of breads, bagels and muffins, fresh fruits, juices, coffee & tea is ample for a cold continental breakfast. For those guests looking for a more substantial hot breakfast, our restaurant offers our Hotel Guests a 20% discount until 2pm daily.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
phil_rie wrote a review Apr 2022
Saskatoon, Canada59 contributions30 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Note to Manager/Owner. Your property has potential. Even if you do t have the money for new carpet or updating the paint, there are several improvements you can do with no money. Train staff to shut doors to keep rodents out. Clean the grounds, empty garbage and you won’t need all the rodent traps. Clean things well. Train your staff on emergency preparedness. Yes we were there the night of the fire emergency. All should know what to do, where the muster points are, how to control the scene, how to communicate with guests through the entire process. I give you an F for the training you didn’t give your staff.
This hotel is located in the South end of town. South and downtown are very sketchy areas and the North end seems allot safer and clean. Ricky’s Grill is attached to this Days inn and we had excellent service for dinner. I can not recommend this hotel. Too many others that are better managed. When you pay over $200 you need at least the basic standards for cleanliness and property upkeep. This owner falls short on both.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The coffee tastes like Keurig has never been cleaned. Our toilet would not flush properly and never stops running, wifi is 2 bars in my room and can barely access the internet on any electronic. Our stay was an overall poor experience and I would not recommend if you need to do any work online it takes way too long.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joan Spencer, Revenue Management at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo
Responded 4 Oct 2020
So sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. I hope you advised our Front Desk of these issues so they could have them dealt with. We cannot fix what we do not know. Thanks you for your feedback!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Go570176 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for an early morning flight out of Nanaimo, staff were great, checked in at 9 pm.
Room was clean looking at first however toilet dirty, food around tv console and floor; needs better attention to cleaning detail.
the smoking party section out the back of the hotel as well as on the lobby level needs to be managed better.
Beds were comfy, crappy sleep because of the noise and disappointment in cleanliness.
Up your game Days Inn.
Will be staying elsewhere next trip
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joan Spencer, Revenue Management at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo
Responded 8 Dec 2021
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us, and I am saddened to hear that noise from other guests disrupted your stay. I hope that you let the Front Desk Staff know so that they could take care of the problem. We have policies in place just for circumstances like this. Please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address problems like this as they happen, to prevent any future occurrences. Here at Days Inn, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Thank you again, Rob Green Manager Days Inn Nanaimo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Faith P wrote a review Dec 2022
Surrey, Canada8 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On October 8th we arrived at the days inn to stay for a night,  When we arrived the man at the front desk, asked if I needed a Handicap room I said no, so he said that he would give us an upgrade for some reason. And we stayed in room 103. When we first arrived we basically just checked in and left to go out for the evening. Before we left my husband had noticed that there was some kind of white water in the sink still , so he drained the sink. When we got back from our dinner I noticed spots of something on the floor, shortly after, I stepped in something wet. I looked at my sock and it was what appeared to be blood. Then I took pictures of the floor zoom in and realized that it was blood, there was drips of blood on the floor leading to the bathroom. Awhile later, I tried to turn on the lamp for for extra lighting and I got shocked by a wire hanging out of the light socket, in the lamp that was plugged in, I unplugged it, it was broken. Shortly after that I soon learned that the White water that was in the sink was bleach and it had bleached my dress. My husband went and got the guy at the front desk and he came in He looked and saw all of the things that we told him and and I said that I wasn't comfortable with the cleanliness of the room so I wanted the sheets changed on the bed.. When we took the bed apart,  I noticed that there was blood on the sheets. So I asked him to bring us all new sheets and pillow cases. And I changed the bed. He also removed the lamp, and said that he knows who stayed in there the night before, and basically that the guy was pretty wild.  The next morning when we talked to a new front desk person, he said that the spots in the carpet were hair dye and they had been trying to get rid of them for months. Unfortunately if you zoom in on the picture you can see that the blood is still wet, So it would not be hair dye.To top off the whole night there was A bus load of workers that Partied outside of our window most of the night.  Honestly  We really like the days inn, we stay at this accommodation almost everywhere we go if we're able But this just tipped the scales for us
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guide317215 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we came to check in my room was ready over two hours late. Even at that our room was was not clean. I sent an email to management and received a snarky response that it was because I called ahead saying could potentially be late just so I wouldn’t lose my room. Problem with this excuse was I was with a hockey team and nearly everyone was late several far later than my room. With the way our schedule was setup on checkout day several of us asked if we could have a slightly late checkout, a minimal request considering they didn’t honour their own check in time, we were abruptly told no. It was also advertised on their site that there was a meeting room to use, our kids team planned to use it for a pizza gathering, they told us no to that not because it was booked but because a few weeks earlier another group used it and the hotel staff didn’t want to deal with having to clean it up. I will go out of my way to tell people never to book at this hotel again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joan Spencer, Revenue Management at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Mr. Esau, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us, and I am saddened to hear that your stay failed to meet your expectations. As with many service industry businesses we were, and still are, struggling to hire an adequate number of staff, and so even with our whole staff working on that day, we were behind in getting rooms cleaned. To make matters even more difficult, for a period of almost 12 days we had one set of hockey teams checking out, and another set checking in. Both sets requesting Late Check Outs or Early Check Ins. To make it fair to everyone, we decided not to guarantee these requests to anyone. This is also part of the reason why the meeting room was unavailable. We had allowed its use by a hockey team previously and it was a disaster. To make matters more difficult we were short staffed, and EVERYONE was cleaning rooms. Also, we had received a number of requests from a number of teams, so, for many reasons, we chose not to rent it out. Here at Days Inn, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, but please remember that we are human beings who are doing their best in challenging circumstances. Our goal is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and sometimes we do not succeed. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Rob G. Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vturco746048 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Old hotel, need update.
Room was ok and clean, but A/C was doing terrible noise.
Smell like pot in the hallway. Even the kids noticed and said it stink.
No patio in any room. Not even a bench or table outside. we were 2 family and had to si in our car in the parking lot to have a drink and enjoy the evening.

Hotel is not in the best part of Nanaimo. Be aware....

I would go back only for work if I'm alone and it cost less than 100$/night
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joan Spencer, Revenue Management at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. Please note that our hotel was constructed in the early 80's and yes, we are constantly updating and renovating. This summer we broke a number of heat records, and our air conditioning units worked harder and longer than ever before. We will be replacing a number of them before next summer. However, unless you have a central air conditioning system, some level of fan noise comes with the cool air. We are considering setting up an outside seating area, as we have had more requests for that recently, however this is not something that has been requested in the past. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future. Sincerely, Rob G. Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave Kim wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the main reason for booking this location was that it provided hot tub/pool.
The Hot tub was in poor shape; only a single water jet was functional and did not offer any relaxation. The hot tub was luke warm at best.

The location and the rooms weren't too bad; however, it did not feel like a clean and well maintained hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joan Spencer, Revenue Management at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Dave, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us, and I am saddened to hear that the hot tub was not functioning properly during your stay. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. Here at Days Inn, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Thank you again, Rob G. Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb Y asked a question Dec 2020
Saskatoon, Canada27 contributions
Is there a secure place to park our SUV with bicycles?
Answer from jldevries
3 contributions2 helpful votes
same as above
Answer from DaysInnNanaimo
Nanaimo
In general the hotel's cancellation policy is to receive 24 hours notice prior to arrival to avoid a 1st night plus taxes charge.
Sandro G asked a question Sept 2016
Was ist das Mindestalter für ein Check-In?
Answer from DaysInnNanaimo
Nanaimo
Minimum age to check into the Days Inn Nanaimo is 19 years.
Connie M wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check pool before entering water. Check cleanliness of room"
Read full review
Chipper wrote a tip May 2022
Huddersfield, United Kingdom145 contributions88 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay north of Nanaimo, the area is much nicer"
Read full review
nriopel13 wrote a tip Jul 2021
Montreal, Canada3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose something else, honestly."
Read full review
Joan Bryant wrote a tip Feb 2020
Powell River, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we were on the first floor next to the washer and dryer room. get one on the second floor away from the hi way also.much more quieter."
Read full review
rjzedriver wrote a tip May 2019
Deseronto, Canada21 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request water side room, quieter away from road & great Sunrise view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nanaimo area.
PRICE RANGE
S$161 - S$234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
days inn nanaimo, nanaimo days inn
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandNanaimo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DAYS INN BY WYNDHAM NANAIMO (S̶$̶1̶7̶9̶) S$144: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 128 Photos (Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo
Which popular attractions are close to Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Nearby attractions include Westwood Lake Park (4.9 km), Newcastle Island (3.7 km), and Harbourfront Walkway (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asteras Greek Taverna, Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, and The View Oceanside Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Bastion (2.2 km).
Is Days Inn by Wyndham Nanaimo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Nanaimo HotelsNanaimo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Nanaimo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire