We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4700 Island Hwy N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1W6 Canada
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$111
eDreamsUS$111
Agoda.comUS$111
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (133)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (241)

About

#4 of 17 hotels in Nanaimo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Private Lake front balcony or patio on every room. Beautiful view over Long Lake. All rooms also feature fridge/freezer, microwave, and Keurig coffeemaker. Continental Breakfast, parking, and free wi-fi included for all of our guests.. Sit and enjoy the sunrise from your private balcony. Pet Friendly. Watch the wildlife, or the model sailboat club. Enjoy the available "Grab and Go" breakfast boxes available from our lobby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
447Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 206
  • 186
  • 30
  • 16
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lara D wrote a review Oct 2022
Courtenay, Canada3 contributions
Catherine Audet is the worst General Manager I have ever experienced. Her customer service skills are incredibly poor. Worst service ever!! Room was dirty and outdated. I was charged for parking when I didn't stay the night! Check in took over 45mins! Honestly I have never experienced such poor customers service ever and I have been in the industry a long time! I do not recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Dear F2367CUIarad, I was saddened to read your review of our property as we do not feel it fairly reflects the interactions that you had with our hardworking team members. The core values of our hotel are built around hospitality for all our guests, to create a memorable and comfortable stay. I can certainly understand the stressful situation of travelling, however, extreme disturbance and using foul language towards our team members will not be tolerated. We understand that you do not wish to return, and we wholeheartedly accept this decision and wish you the best in your future travels. Warm Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
saberus wrote a review Sep 2022
Edmonton, Canada137 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
Rooms were extremely spacious and well equipped. Staff were friendly. Rooms had great views onto well-maintained common green space and out across Long Lake. It’s a bit out of the way, and a good 15 minute drive away from the amenities of the downtown core, but overall quite easy to drive in and out of town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 14 Sep 2022
Dear saberus, thank you for your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Long Lake. We thrive on providing the best experience to our valued guests while in charming Nanaimo; from perfectly cleaned and well-maintained classic rooms and suites, to outstanding customer service. We hope to have the privilege to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ally_zheng wrote a review Aug 2022
Vancouver, Canada27 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
We stayed two nights in a room with two Queen beds. The hotel is dated and hallway’s carpet stained and dirty. Balcony has a nice lake view but there are some ants running when we open the door. The balcony door wasn’t lock properly so we have to call the front desk to have a technician to fix it. The beds are too soft for my family , the individual A/C unit is quite noisy when it runs, so we felt hard to sleep well. The second night we heard clearly the above unit someone constantly walk across the room back and forward during 1-3 am and really affected our sleep. 1) Room is spacious, come with fridge & microwave, & coffee machine. The washroom clean & updated. Generally speaking, room is clean, except one of the bed sheet has a little color stained ( maybe need bleach to remove it?) 2) free breakfast: cold & limited choices. Quite disappointed. Service from 6:30-10am. 3) service is good and responsive, front desk staffs are helpful. 4) parking is not free since I booked it from Booking.com. $9 one time charged. 5) very convenient location, lots of restaurant around! 6) considered I got a get away deal & paid less than $500 for two nights I would say I can’t complain too much.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear ally-zheng, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for sharing your comments and concerns. Your room should have been perfectly cleaned upon your arrival; we will use this opportunity to better train our team and use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. If I may be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to connect with me at 250-758-1144. We want to make this right, and hope you will consider us again, on your next visit to charming Nanaimo. Kind Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
POLLYANNA57 wrote a review Jul 2022
Queensland, Australia475 contributions204 helpful votes
Ended a long Holiday with 7 nights in Nanaimo and could not have had better accommodation. At Check-Inn warmly greeted by very pleasant lady. Always helpful. Our room was comfy, clean and looked out to the beautiful Lake complete with Goslings and baby hares walking around the lawns under the verandah. Very photogenic. The Kitchenette was amazing. Frig. Microwave, Hob, Pots, Pans, Crockery, Cutlery and good supply of detergent etc., The bedroom/Living/Dining area spacious and efficient bathroom. The Hotel encourages Enviro friendly practices and we happily ditched unnecessary daily Housekeeping visits but if I ever needed anything (Bin bag, something minor) Housekeeping Staff were visible and happy to provide it. The Guest Laundry was fantastic. Elevators in the various Wings. Parking effortless and safe immediately outside the building. We grocery shopped nearby in a huge complex and never ate out but the area is surrounded by Restaurants and Fast Food Chains. Close to the various Ferries, which we used easily to get over to the islands. It was always bliss to get home and sit out on the verandah and watch kayakers and Paddle Boarders out on the Lake. The Spa Pavilion looked amazing. Optional Breakfasts were Continental style. Basic but OK. Surprised the juice was in tetra packs, but plenty of fresh fruit, Muffins and breads, able to be enjoyed out on the lakefront Terrace as well as inside. We highly recommend this wonderful Hotel as an alternative to Hotels in the busy and often unattractive CBD.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 30 Jul 2022
Dear POLLYANNA57, thank you for your wonderful review and your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Long Lake in charming Nanaimo. We thrive on providing the best experience to our valued guests; from perfectly cleaned and well-maintained classic rooms and suites, to outstanding customer service and fabulous amenities. We hope to have the privilege to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick W wrote a review Jul 2022
Campbell River, Canada96 contributions19 helpful votes
Very comfortable place to stay when visiting Nanaimo. Have stayed 3 times now when in town for medical appointments & always happy with both the room and rates charged. Access was good as room can be entered from car park (no corridors!) making it superior during COVID-19. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Dear 284rickw, thank you for your lovely review! We are very pleased that you had another comfortable stay at the Inn on Long Lake, located in beautiful Nanaimo. We certainly appreciate your wonderful feedback and will be sure to share them with our dedicated team; they take great pride in providing superior service to our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Kind Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lona A wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions4 helpful votes
this is one of our favourite places to stay when we have to be in a city. It is close to everything and the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful . Rooms are clean and artistically decorated. great amenities and a lovely lake to boot! I have stayed here at least 4 times - it is a go-to place to sleep and enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Dear Lona A, thank you for taking the time to share your delightful feedback; we are honored your selected the Inn on Long Lake again for your Vancouver Island getaway. We certainly appreciate your kind words and will be sure to share them with our dedicated team; they take great pride in providing superior service to our valued guests. Thank you for your loyalty; we look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Warm Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chaching1197 wrote a review Jun 2022
Puyallup, Washington135 contributions91 helpful votes
Great place to stay if you need a stop when driving Vancouver Island from South to North. Great customer service - all staff were friendly and helpful. They have SUPs and kayaks that you can rent and launch right off the property to enjoy Long Lake. Everything was clean which makes you feel safe. Great breakfast selection too. And...they have a welcome pack for your dog that includes doggie bowls, towel, poop bags and some treats! My dog loved his stay and he got a lot of pets and hugs from staff! Will definitely come back here to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Lots of parking, close to some kind of a mall where there are some stores (sorry forgot the name).
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Dear Chaching1197, thank you for taking the time to share your delightful feedback. We are very pleased that you and your treasured pet had a comfortable stay at the Inn on Long Lake. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed our wonderful amenities and fabulous breakfast. We hope to have the privilege to welcoming you back again very soon. Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SushiKite wrote a review May 2022
Campbell River, Canada29 contributions6 helpful votes
Just stayed one night but would stay here again for sure. Clean rooms, comfy beds, especially good for my bad back. Clean bathroom. Complimentary breakfast. I would definitely stay there again. The staff are friendly and it's centrally located.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Dear SushiKite, Thank you for your wonderful review and your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled you selected our beautiful property for your getaway in lovely Nanaimo. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your delightful feedback. I am very pleased our team made your stay both pleasant and comfortable. We are indeed committed to upholding the highest levels of cleanliness and want you to feel at ease when you visit our hotel, knowing you will experience the quality you expect from the Inn on Long Lake. We look forward to having the pleasure to be your hosts again, Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna L wrote a review Apr 2022
Sunshine Coast, Canada36 contributions26 helpful votes
This is the second time we have stayed here. Great place. Rooms are clean. View of the lake is great from your private balcony. Rooms have a microwave, coffee maker, mini fridge, tv, balcony with chairs. Enclosed hot tub on the premises. Deck out to the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Dear donna174, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback! We are honored your selected the Inn on Long Lake for your stay in beautiful Harbour City! We certainly appreciate your kind words and will be sure to share them with our dedicated team; they take great pride in providing superior service to our valued guests. We look forward to have the pleasure to be your hosts again very soon. Sincerely, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SRSMontana wrote a review Mar 2022
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
I get the COVID thing, but deciding not to pass the savings on to your customers in ANY WAY isn't right. You don't pay for labor to clean (the carpet was littered with the last patrons snack bits), you want patrons to conserve water and electricity which we do, and you can't be bothered to provide good service. You left me a stinky dish towel, dirty dishes and a sponge to wash them with that looked like it was used to clean the floor (gross I might add). You want us to recycle coffee pods although you don't empty the recycle receptacle when it's full, you don't restock the coffee, tea or condiments, leaving patrons to get it from the front desk or call and wait endless hours for it. You expect patrons to leave the trash for hours on end outside the doors, stinking and looking like crap, yet have the nerve to charge full rates. The grab and go breakfast should be called grabbed and gone breakfast because at 7.45 there wasn't a breakfast sandwich to be had. The selection is meager if the sandwiches are gone leaving yogurt and pastries (not really getting what you pay for here). This is a classic example of how the loss of profits during the pandemic = recovery at the expense of consumers. It's shameful, really.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Dear SRSMontana, Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us to comment about your stay. We were devastated to hear you had such an experience with us. I invite you to connect with me directly should you wish to discuss further. We want to make this right. I am looking forward to the opportunity to speak with you. Kind Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn on long lake hotel nanaimo, hotel on long lake
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandNanaimo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE INN ON LONG LAKE: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 531 Photos (Nanaimo, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn on Long Lake
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn on Long Lake?
Nearby attractions include Exit Nanaimo (0.3 km), Nanaimo North Town Centre (0.4 km), and Galaxy Cinemas Nanaimo (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn on Long Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn on Long Lake?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn on Long Lake?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn on Long Lake?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn on Long Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include Smokin' George's BBQ, Saigon Kitchen, and Umai Sushi.
Are pets allowed at The Inn on Long Lake?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Inn on Long Lake offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn on Long Lake?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Bastion (8.2 km).
Does The Inn on Long Lake have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is The Inn on Long Lake accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.