We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    HI Victoria Hostel

    516 Yates St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1K8, Canada
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$39
    View Deal
    The Fairmont Empress
    3,889 reviews
    #21 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.6 km
     
    Hotel Grand Pacific
    2,138 reviews
    #13 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.7 km
     
    Hotel Rialto
    1,572 reviews
    #5 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.4 km
     
    Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
    2,004 reviews
    #22 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.8 km
     
    Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
    1,158 reviews
    #18 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.3 km
     
    Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
    1,907 reviews
    #7 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.8 km
     
    Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort
    1,607 reviews
    #9 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.4 km
     
    Magnolia Hotel And Spa
    2,834 reviews
    #2 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.5 km
     
    Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
    434 reviews
    #15 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.7 km
     
    Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
    1,385 reviews
    #17 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.8 km
     
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
    932 reviews
    #8 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.6 km
     
    Embassy Inn
    712 reviews
    #14 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.8 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent6%
    • Very good29%
    • Average36%
    • Poor18%
    • Terrible11%
    Travellers talk about
    “mixed dorm” (2 reviews)
    “great location” (15 reviews)
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (116)
    There are newer reviews for HI Victoria Hostel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    31 - 35 of 90 reviews

    Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

    This place is cheap dirty and nasty. Drug addicts, homeless and general riff raff,the staff were rude and unhelpful. Unfortunately its a place Intrepid Travel/Peak Adventures take people to, clearly to save money but its truly a horrible place. Expect poor service, horrible staff and...More

    1  Thank nancy v
    Response from HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria HostelResponded 23 September 2015

    Sorry you did not enjoy your stay but I feel your judgement of people staying here is a bit sewed. We do not knowingly house drug addicts, the homeless or other people of this nature. If fact unless you have official gov't ID with picture...More

    Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

    Avoid this place if you care about hanging out with seniors, homeless, senior rude staff and you enjoy the ambiance of a shelter for seniors. There is a lack of cool traveler ambiance here, people cooking at 4am that probably were sneaking into other people...More

    1  Thank Penelope P
    Response from HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria HostelResponded 23 September 2015

    Hi, Thanks for your feedback. We cater to all age groups and do not discriminate by age as others places might. All guests we accommodate are not from Victoria or area because we do not allow locals to stay here. There are many travelers in...More

    Reviewed 16 August 2015

    I stayed here for 3 nights in July, I booked the female dorm as usual. Found it strange that you're not given a key, card or code to access the building or your room - pretty much anyone could walk in, I never got asked...More

    Thank Alix L
    Response from HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria HostelResponded 24 August 2015

    Dear Sir, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Our WIFI has now been upgraded and all devices have a better connection and staying power. Our staff are extremely busy but we always take the time to help people out one on one. We have full...More

    Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

    84% on Hostelworld.com!? For what??? Most important thing to do when considering booking with the HI-Victoria is to read their policies. Somewhere in the fine print it said that single males and single females, travelling by themselves or in small single gender groups cannot book...More

    2  Thank Joshua K
    Reviewed 9 June 2015

    I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. Everybody was just so nice and helping! Of course it depends on the other guests in your dorm but all I can say that I had a great experience here. The staff was really welcoming and supportive!

    1  Thank mmoep
    The Fairmont Empress
    3,889 reviews
    #21 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.6 km
     
    Hotel Grand Pacific
    2,138 reviews
    #13 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.7 km
     
    Hotel Rialto
    1,572 reviews
    #5 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.4 km
     
    Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
    2,004 reviews
    #22 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.8 km
     
    Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
    1,158 reviews
    #18 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.3 km
     
    Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
    1,907 reviews
    #7 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.8 km
     
    Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort
    1,607 reviews
    #9 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.4 km
     
    Magnolia Hotel And Spa
    2,834 reviews
    #2 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.5 km
     
    Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
    434 reviews
    #15 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.7 km
     
    Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
    1,385 reviews
    #17 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.8 km
     
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
    932 reviews
    #8 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.6 km
     
    Embassy Inn
    712 reviews
    #14 of 49 hotels in Victoria
    0.8 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$21 - US$53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 104
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your HI Victoria Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Canada >
    • British Columbia >
    • Vancouver Island >
    • Victoria Capital Regional District >
    • Victoria >
    • Downtown
    • Also Known As
    • HI Victoria Hostel Vancouver Island
    Nearby
    Hotel Grand Pacific
    2,138 reviews
    .72 km away
     
    Hotel Rialto
    1,572 reviews
    .39 km away
     
    The Fairmont Empress
    3,889 reviews
    .59 km away
     
    Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
    2,004 reviews
    .78 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    IL Terrazzo
    3,047 reviews
    .06 km away
    ferris' oyster bar and grill
    883 reviews
    .05 km away
    Willie's Cafe and Bakery
    529 reviews
    .08 km away
    Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria
    308 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Bastion Square
    236 reviews
    .13 km away
    Wharf Street
    125 reviews
    .13 km away
    Market Square
    58 reviews
    .14 km away
    BC Whale Tours
    678 reviews
    .15 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from HI Victoria Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Avoid J-Dorm unless you can sleep through loud noises."
    Read review
    "Probably upstairs would be quieter than downstairs dowm"
    Read review
    "Be prepared for bed bugs"
    Read review
    "Didn't seem to matter - noisy everywhere"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing