We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandman Hotel Victoria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Victoria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Wow! A clean bathroom for a change!! That in itself is impressive. We got a family suite. It was decent, but it has a nasty smell. I don't know if it was a previous guests cooking, but you just don't get used to the lingering smell. It is really gross. After checking in, we were sitting in our room visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KellyandRod
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Hotel had a great value for a JR. Suite room which had fridge, microwave, stove and 2 TVs. My only complaint was that the shower made a god awful high pitched noise the entire time you showered. It was very annoying, but other than that it was very quite and comfortable. The room-service is very expensive and the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deedlet
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate your comments and so happy that you enjoyed your junior suite. They are a nice spacious room in which our guests such as yourself really enjoy. We have looked into the noise in the shower and rectified this by replacing the fitting. Due to your feedback we are able to address this...

Dunan, BC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The front desk check in was very smooth. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The room we had was VERY small. The bathroom however, was a nice size. I don't want to go into details, but the room was not clean. More specifically, the bathroom door. The issue was resolved, but U don't think I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GingerBakerDunan_BC
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your feedback. I appreciate you kind words praising our front end team. They truly are extremely hospitable and want to ensure each guest has an exceptional experience. I will be sure to share these comments with them. As for your dissapointment over the cleanliness of your room, I sincerely apologize. We pride ourselves on...

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

Heyyo, for the price and location? It was a decent stay. The staff was kind, the hotel was clean and the room was decent. Parking was ok and for people who smoke? There's a dedicated bench near the main entrance and parking lot. The downsides? Breakfast not included but at least the paid breakfast was good... But the wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. It allows us to know what our guests expect of us and also what we are doing right. Thanks you for your wonderful comments regarding our team. They do go above and beyond and provide exceptional service to all of our guests. I will be sure to share this information with them. We pride...

Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

It does need an upgrade, but it was clean and tidy, so not a complaint, more an observation. Staff were great. We didn't use the restaurant, or the pool, so no comment there. The newlyweds (our son and new daughter-in-law) who took us on a whirlwind two week tour of BC, were very happy with their spa-equipped room. Would I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrahamHoughton
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

We appreciate the great feedback and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again real soon. PS We are going to be undergoing upgrades in the near future. Kindest Regards, Brian Johnson General Manager

San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Booked a room here after having a HORRIBLE stay over at the Comfort Inn just a few blocks away. The Comfort Inn was SO bad that it made this place seem like the Taj Mahal. Rooms as ok, pool was awesome, not very noisy. Pretty average hotel so not too bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SurfAwave85
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I appreciate your comments and glad that we were able to welcome you to stay with us here at the Sandman Victoria. We pride ourselves on the service we offer and glad that you noticed that. Our indoor pool and hot tub is one of our guests favourite hotel amenities and glad you had the opportunity...

Reviewed 21 June 2015

I had a meeting in Victoria at the Delta (which was beautiful) and a coworker was staying at the Sandman so I stayed there for one night. All of the other reviews are correct, run down, tired and I found the wifi really frustratingly slow. I wish that I'd stayed at the Delta! Don't bother staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CDNtravelduo
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. It allows us to know what our guests expect of us and also what we are doing right. We are in the process of upgrading our internet to possibly have one of the strongest hotel wi-fi connections in Victoria. We do have a very strong connection now but want to ensure that for all...

Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

It is ok hotel and a Clean hotel, far way to Victoria downtown. I was disappointed was so far way from downtown. We were plan to walk to downtown, no way with my 4 and 2 years old. Hotel itself need some new update, bathroom was old.and Bathtub was small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki Lili C
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback Vicki Lili. We appreciate it. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and will be sure to share your feedback with all of our housekeeping team. Most of our guests prefer our location to the inner harbour area as we are centrally located and 20 minutes walk to the inner harbour or...

Delta, Canada
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Stayed here for one night on business. Overall it was a disappointing experience mixed with a couple of positives. I didn't feel like I got good value for the amount paid even though I was on a relatively inexpensive corporate rate. Upside: Very friendly check-in experience. The property is easy to find and is about midway between the downtown/harbour and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allan A
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 25 April 2015

I've stayed here many times over the years. I choose it because it has one of the best pools in Victoria, it has free parking, and it is very conveniently located. The rooms are always clean and the beds always comfortable. I don't give it a very high rating because it is really looking tired - many areas need repair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We value the feedback and thank you for the wonderful compliments. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and I will be sure to share this with the rest of our team. Our rooms are constantly undergoing upgrades to meet the needs and wants of...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 52 in Victoria
267 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 52 in Victoria
791 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 52 in Victoria
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 52 in Victoria
201 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The beautiful capital city of British Columbia, Victoria is one of BC's most popular tourist destinations. Filled with amazing history, architecture, and a vibrant arts scene, Sandman Hotel Victoria is ideal for long restful vacation stays and short business trips. Whatever your reason for taking a trip to the sensational city of Victoria, Sandman Hotel Victoria will make sure your stay is absolutely flawless. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Victoria

Address: 2852 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Price Range: $115 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandman Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria Vancouver Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Victoria staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Calgary, Canada
Parksville
over a year ago
Sutherlin, Oregon

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Victoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not facing Douglas Street”
 of 5 bubbles dougmA2193OQ, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fairly quiet on the 4th floor. Not sure if there is a view as such. We were just interested in a good sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles kayaklady2, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor was great!”
 of 5 bubbles codym977, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We have a variety of rooms and they are all good!”
 of 5 bubbles daisypower88, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 401 is a VERY large 'Accessible' Suite. We 3 guys so used the king, the pullout and had a cot brought in. It was perfect...”
 of 5 bubbles GrantT980, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5