We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Oswego Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Oswego Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,401: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Great boutique hotel at James Bay. Great staff, sufficient amenities. Not a 5-star hotel for sure, but the staff make it a point to make you feel at home. And the Oswego Hotel has enough amenities that will make you come back to it if you're back in Victoria.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Oswego to stay it and we are glad that you had a great time. Whilst we recognize that the staff are attentive, the hotel is wonderful and Westcoast along with all the other details the team do to make our guests feel extra special - we always recognize that we could do more to improve...

Castelsagrat, France
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We spent 5 nights in the hotel during our stay in Victoria this month. We got a great off season deal for a basic room with no balcony. The experience was very enjoyable : nice and quiet room (studio like with kitchen), great service by very friendly and professianal staff, reasonable parking fees . We will definitely return to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pancho82
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being one of our many loyal guests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service making you want to return at a later date. During the slower Fall and Winter season we do offer specials from time to time. Its best to check online to see what we have to offer. I will ensure...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Overall the Oswega meets the needs of the business traveller or anyone that would like a suite. The room was spacious with a great desk area to work. The kitchen had everything one needed. The bed was comfortable andd the rooms looked great. The only recommendations I would make is better pillows and curtains as the blinds let light in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grac5
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

We recognize that there are many choices of hotels to stay at in Victoria - thank you for choosing our hotel. Many of our guests stay with us whilst travelling on business. The hotel offers the luxury of ordering room service or cooking your own meals. Our Bistro yes does have a small menu. We feel that offering classical French...

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after a private party in the same hotel and it was excellent. We had a special rate, so I am unsure how the regular rate compares to other hotels in Victoria. We had a large and bright suite that included a small kitchen. Beds were comfortable and the location is at about a 5 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariella d
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for using our 'Take the Elevator' home rate after your Holiday party. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our location. Many of our guests stay nightly or for longer stays. Having the full kitchens many people enjoy as it gives them flexibility to cook or relax in the suite. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 11 January 2016

A very quaint hotel not far from the Parliament House and some of the other attractions in Victoria, including the harbour. All are within easy walking distance. Complimentary paper to the room. No real views except of the neighbouring suburbs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AUSGR81
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are located on the quieter side of the inner harbor in the residential area of James Bay. We are closest to the Inner Harbour and also the ocean. Many of our suites on the higher floors have views of the ocean or Parliament buildings. We hope that you include the Oswego on your...

Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed 11 January 2016

nice hotel close to restaurants and harbor. rudest front desk person on the planet. i travel around the world lots and this guy at the front desk is the worst thing for this hotel. if you look at the poor and terrible reviews it talks about him and its 100% true. nice hotel but go there when this guy has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sneezy666
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize from reading your review that you encountered any issues or unfriendliness with our team. We normally receive such wonderful comments about the service and all the team that when we read a review like yours, its disappointing. We will work together and with the individual staff member concerned to ensure this does not continue. My Guest Services Manager...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 7 January 2016

This hotel has a pleasant atmosphere about it. The rooms are nice with clean fresh towels supplied daily and our beds made fresh before we arrived back. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful which made navigating around Victoria easier. We didn't get to try the restaurant but everyday after work the food smelled amazing (It is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marta T
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2016

It had been a long time since we visited Victoria and decided it would be time to get reacquainted with this beautiful city. First impression upon walking into our one-bedroom suite? It was airy, bright, clean and smelled nice and fresh. We loved it and knew we would enjoy our two night stay. It was more like a cozy condo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demi_8
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us but also for loving your stay. The hotel was built in 2007 and is one of the newest hotels in Victoria. Our guests really enjoy our location along with our friendly and genuine service. Our guests are what matter to us and we ensure that they have the best stay when staying with us. We...

New Westminster, Canada
Reviewed 30 December 2015

The hotel takes pets, not sure we were offered a pet-free room. It was however across from the laundry - again, something to avoid as it is used early and late. The rooms are big, well laid out and nice overall. Carpets were a little stained. We like to use the stairs to come and go and the stairs do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donaldmC4073BW
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do recognize that pets are important family members for many of our guests. However we do have designated pet rooms and our Housekeeping team give extra cleaning to all of our pets rooms on departure. Our carpets are cleaned on an ongoing basis. We recognize that some are showing signs of wear and will...

Vancouver
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Decided to give this hotel a try after being very disappointed at the Fairmont Empress. First of all the cost was incredible, $138.00 for a 1 bedroom suite initially listed for $189.00. It pays to ask for a discount. The front end staff was most accommodating with my requests. I was given a top floor suite with a wonderful view....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VancouverTomD
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive review. Many of our repeat guests love our hotel for all the things that the brands don't necessarily focus on. Our suites are spacious and with fully equipped kitchens the choice is yours for cooking in your suite or ordering room service or dining from our bistro or heading out to one of the many restaurants....

610 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (392)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Premium Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Studio Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (11)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Premium Suite (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
937 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 53 in Victoria
2,322 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 53 in Victoria
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 53 in Victoria
1,307 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 53 in Victoria
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Price Range: $146 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oswego Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Southern California
Columbus, Georgia
Port Coquitlam, Canada

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Oswego Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It has a noise curfew which is great! Worth the upgrade to a suite to have a kitchen so you can cook for yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles laurasU8438OP, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms above the 4th floor have fantastic views”
 of 5 bubbles carrieh678, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view over the City”
  • View from the trip around the bay overlooking Victoria, BC
 of 5 bubbles SuperDave3, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room plan of our floor showed every room to be unique in design and character so there is no wrong choice.”
 of 5 bubbles RickZ47, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor in a 2 bedroom unit with a wonderful large balcony complete with generous outdoor setting”
 of 5 bubbles RedFraggle47, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay