We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.


View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of HI-Whistler
 Click to rate
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a great hostel - large open spaces due to its original use and the rooms are modern. My room was a female only dorm and we had a little apartment within the hostel which had its own bathroom and then two rooms that shared it. It was always clean. The staff were really helpful too! Two downsides though...

Thank GracieMorton95
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is less than 10 years old, and you can really tell: the rooms and bathrooms are modern and spacious, and clean. The common areas were also nice, although some work was still going on because of the flooding a few months ago. The kitchen was mostly kept clean, and was big enough. The location is actually ok, because...

Thank truegeographer
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We're coming for Victoria Day. All hotels require 3 nights booking for long weekend. HI Whistler accepted our booking for a private room and 2 female dorm beds. Private room holds the status of a 3-star hotel queen bed room. 2 bunk beds in a dormitory for 4 people. 2 rooms share 2 fountains, 1 shower and 1 toilet. Great...

Thank Yijing G
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Accom in Whistler can be pricey, so having the hostel as an option is amazing. I was just there last weekend for my last time before leaving Canada and had the best interaction with the front desk staff, she was new and apologized for being "slow" when in reality I was in no rush to go anywhere. She was super...

Thank Laura O
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I can't say I've stayed in many hostels but this one definitely wasn't a good experience. Dirty kitchen, appliances, pots, pans and all. No room in the fridge, dirty sinks, and tables. It was 4 of us, all friends and we had our own bathroom. The narrow room was quite smelly from the dirty carpet, bunk beds were squeaky and...

1Thank M T
Ryan M, General Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review

Hi there, We are truly sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. Feedback is really important to us. We always thrive to improve and give the best service possible. I passed on your comments to our team. We are right now in the process of restoration of the building after the unfortunate flood we had to face earlier...

Reviewed 7 March 2017

My husband and I stayed in one of the private rooms with its own bathroom. Very spacious - more than many hotels. Clean, quiet, bright and beautiful view of the mountains. Staff was very accommodating. Would definitely recommend this.

Thank Susan C
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

This hostel is great for so many reasons. It's more like a hotel (clean and modern) with hostel vibe (friendly and social). The rooms are spacey. Most have their own bathrooms. It's a little out of town (20 minutes on bus to whis village) but the bus is at the front door and comes every 20 minutes or something. Staff...

Thank Pucrettub
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Wifi range was beyond poor which really should not be an issue in this day and age! Stayed on level 4 yet could not connect to the internet in my room and was told that "you have to go to level 2 to get good wifi". Also the showers in this hostel were basically a dribble of inconsistent hot and...

Thank Ethan S
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in the shared 4 bedroom dorm. The hostel was clean and modern, and all the staff were lovely! The only down side was that the beds were quite creaky (so in a shared room it could be a bit disruptive) but we would definitely come back here when we next visit Whistler :)

Thank Jess M
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2017

This is more like a hotel than a hostel. I'm a solo female traveller and this is my first trip travelling alone, and my first stay in a shared dorm of a hostel. I was really pleased! Accommodation: I stayed in a female-only dorm and it was comfortable. The beds are fairly comfy and the lockers are a decent size....

Thank amieosborne

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (32)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (6)
Dining (1)
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
7.1 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,674 reviews
7.4 km away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
7.5 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#11 of 49 in Whistler
1,298 reviews
3.8 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,805 reviews
7.3 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Opened in July 2010, the HI-Whistler is a purpose-built hostel that was originally used as part of the Whistler Athletes' Village during the 2010 Winter Olympic Games. This brand new facility sets the standard in hostelling with all the amenities you'd expect and then some.There's more to HI-Whistler than just a place to sleep. Grab a coffee and snack at Cheaky's Cafe in the hostel lobby, lounge on the outdoor decks with mountain views, store your bike, skis, and boards in the equipment storage room, hang out in the media room with its 52" HDTV and meet some cool new folks over a free game of pool or foosball in the games room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI-Whistler

Address: 1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Price Range: $43 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Whistler 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your HI-Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Whistler Youth Hotel Whistler
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI-Whistler staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from HI-Whistler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private rooms are large; queen bed was surprisingly comfortable”
susancQ3430SD, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Facing the back, not the street is really lovely.”
Internationalbound, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“lovely hostel”
aholding2014, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our corner room was light and bright.”
webby208, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I always request a lower bunk, ideally nearest the window (which doubles as my in-room beer fridge. (LOL but it's true).”
X246VUrobertb, 19 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$49* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates