We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

River Gate Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
River Gate Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for River Gate Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 26: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I were born and raised in Winnipeg but moved to Calgary 12 years ago. When we come back to Winnipeg, we usually stay in a hotel, but we thought this time we would try a B&B. We have stayed in many B&B's when we travel and I have to say, this was the BEST B&B we have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracy154913
Grand Bend, Ontario
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed in many B&Bs and we have experienced many good ones. To give River Gate Inn a 5 rating is not enough. Bob and Mavis Heinrichs, the owners, deserve 5 and a half stars at least. We booked for a week because we had a family wedding in Winnipeg to attend, and soon we got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OD
Sydney
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Bear and I traveled Canada staying in a variety of B&Bs. We chose this one based on the location and look. We were hesitant at first because of some of the bad reviews, however later found out that these were historical and relate to the past owners. The house is beautiful and has a pool. The river is nearby and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PrincessAndBear
Kenora, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I felt compelled to share my experience as some of the reviews on this website are not accurate. My 4 year old daughter and I stayed at the River Gate Inn last night (Jan.21,2013). We arrived around 8pm and were greeted with a warm welcome. My daughter was treated exceptionally well and we were given the larger of the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TMT_1979
Halifax, NS
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This was my first experience with a B&B and i was a bit hesitant. I have to say that although my stay was not terrible I will be sticking to hotels from now on. I felt as though i was in someones home unwelcomed. The house is gorgeous although I will admit...a bit spooky too..lol. As soon as we parked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hailes01
Mavis H, Owner at River Gate Inn, responded to this review

Unfortunately, this review, though just recently posted is vastly out dated. The same Michelle who is cited in this narrative, sold the Inn in late summer of 2010 and has had no involvement since. It is currently under new management. We did not host guests from Halifax for a three day stay in June of 2012. While this review reverberates...

Vancouver
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I really can't think of a single negative thing to say about this place. We loved it! The home itself is a gorgeous character mansion, really, in a beautiful tree-lined neighbourhood of historic homes. We had the #3 room for 2 nights and it had its own ensuite. The room was large, the bed comfortable and the entire home is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catharine P

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,057 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
176 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in historic Armstrong's Point in downtown Winnipeg, the River Gate Inn provides a quaint and quiet retreat in a beautiful park like setting, overlooking the Assiniboine River. Enjoy the heated swimming pool in the summer and a drink by the fire in the Fireside Room in the winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Gate Inn

Address: 186 West Gate, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 2E1, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Price Range: $103 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Gate Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Gate Hotel Winnipeg
River Gate Inn Winnipeg, Manitoba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Gate Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from River Gate Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at the back with views of the river”
 of 5 bubbles 777mickeym, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are very few rooms but try to get one that looks over the river. It's just so pretty.”
 of 5 bubbles 618DeborahP, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“try and go for the big room.”
 of 5 bubbles 269arikf, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Just let the hosts know what you like and they will try to accommodate you.”
 of 5 bubbles jefATL, 31 May 2015 | Read review
“Maybe not walking distance from everything, but definitely a short drive.”
 of 5 bubbles 852haleys, 30 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5