Fort Nashwaak Motel

Fort Nashwaak Motel

15 Riverside Dr, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3A 3X8 Canada
Chambre 2 lits
Traveller (9)
Fort Nashwaak Motel
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#1 of 3 motels in Fredericton
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
This modest motel sits on the eastern banks of the St. John River. It's 1.6 km from the Princess Margaret Bridge and 4.6 km from Downtown. The straightforward rooms feature exterior entrances, WiFi access, air-conditioning and cable TV. Some have kitchenettes. The Cannon's Cross pub on-site offers casual meals and a patio with river views. Close to some of Fredericton's most popular landmarks, such as Wilmot United Church (1.8 km) and Brunswick St. Baptist Church (1.9 km). Travellers looking to enjoy some shrimp can head to Wolastoq Wharf, Number One Noodle, or Diplomat Restaurant. Otherwise, you may want to check out a French restaurant such as Chess Piece Patisserie & Cafe. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Fort Nashwaak Motel as you experience everything Fredericton has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French
34Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 9
  • 6
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Greg RB wrote a review Jun 2020
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for three nights and was able to get a dog friendly room that had what I needed. Although some rooms are older in style, management and ownership is in the process of updating things and doing well. Good wifi, great location and even better staff. What made this place was the attentive and stunning staff who were willing to help in a myriad of ways to make the visit easier.

Bonus: walking distance to Picaroons brewery and attached to the hotel is Cannons Cross.

Would definately stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhcry wrote a review Jul 2021
Amherst, Canada11 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was looking for a place to stay in Fredericton North and there isn't a lot of choice. This motel was close and very cheap - well you get what you pay for. The room smelled terrible, the AC didn't really work and I couldn't open the windows, and the toilet was stained. I'm pretty sure no one had stayed in that room for at least a year. Oh, and there was no chain on the door guard to the hall. Overall, I don't intend to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dutch Brother wrote a review Sept 2022
Boston, Massachusetts560 contributions452 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There is no denying that this is a budget motel (rated 2 stars). The rooms are pretty simple, but we had two queen beds, a refrigerator and a microwave. The mattresses were quite soft, a bit too soft for my taste. The AC worked fine. The room was actually chilly when we walked in. The decor is pretty basic but nothing was sketchy. The bathroom was fine. There is a pub type restaurant in the building with the office. It was good and very convenient after a long day drive. There is a bit of noise from the road, but not much during the night. Service was friendly although we didn't need anything. We were satisfied with this motel given the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Thompson, General Manager at Fort Nashwaak Motel
Responded 3 Sept 2022
We're so thrilled you enjoyed your stay Warren. It is our goal to provide clean, safe, friendly accommodations at an affordable price and we're thankful you experienced all of those things. We are happy to have hosted you and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dria Quinlan wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super friendly, ultra helpful staff. They may be small but they are one mighty team there! The room was clean, cozy and quiet - and even for the February, the views were fantastic. I will definitely be returning and recommend this place to anyone looking to rest their head while supporting small businesses! Thank you so much guys.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bonnie S wrote a review Jun 2013
Lower Waterford, Vermont, United States1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had stayed at the Fort Nashwaak two years previously... Due to our experience we felt it was 'safe' to book a room again for a 4-night stay - Nothing fancy at a cheap rate... Well, were we ever wrong... We arrived late on Saturday afternoon June 1st... Although this was not a honeymoon, my husband and I are newly married and this was the first trip we took as a married couple - we let the hotel know this, hoping they might put us in a nicer room... The first room we were offered was along a back area... It looked dark and abandoned - like something out of a horror movie!!!... There were no other guests staying in this area... The exterior of the building was rundown with mis-matched interior and exterior chairs by the doors - plastic grocery bags filled with garbage and empty pizza boxes sitting on the ground by a few of them... Our room smelled stuffy and like old-smoke so we opened a window and figured this would work itself out... The furnishings were rundown, but a bed-check proved 'no bedbugs' and the room was relatively clean, so okay... We noticed there was no ice bucket, so drove back to the desk to accept the room and ask for one... The clerk could not find an ice bucket in the supply room and had to 'steal' one from another room... We got back to the room and started to settle in... My husband went to use the phone to make some local calls and there was no dial tone... He drove back to the desk where the clerk gave him a brand new phone, which he brought back, hooked up & still no dial phone!!!... I then alerted him that there was no remote for the television... Well, patience was now a thing of the past and he drove back to the desk and told the clerk that this room was unacceptable - no phone, etc. to which the clerk offered him two other rooms to look at... When he returned, and as we were putting our things back in our car, a couple pulled up to one of the rooms with garbage by the door and the young woman stated that her step-father had been arrested there the previous night and was in jail and she was there to pick up his belongings... I had to question "Just what kind of place was this?"!!!???!!!... We were not sure we wanted to even look at the other rooms at all, but given the late hour and the other rooms were in a different location we would take a look... At this point, as irritated as we were, there was some humor to the whole thing - So we moved on... One room smelled very strongly of fresh paint... The other had a pair of old shoes sitting outside the door and smelled like what were obviously these same stinky shoes... We decided we would take the freshly painted room for the night and look for another hotel the following day... I was waiting outside this room for my husband to return from the desk - he decided to walk there this time 'to blow off some stream' - when a man circled the building twice and instead of walking behind our car, walked between our car and myself making me very uncomfortable - as if he was 'scoping out the joint'... At this point I said "enough, we're outta here"!!!... We couldn't leave fast enough!!!... Folks, you should know that we watched the garbage and shoes besides the doors by the rooms each time we drove by and it was not cleaned up until 2 p.m. on Monday!!!... 48 hours later!!!... The Fort Nashwaak is a Fort Nightmare!!!...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A982HFanon wrote a review Apr 2015
Manchester, United Kingdom3 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Horrendous experience -- Had to buy my own cleaning stuff.
Door does not close properly
A baggy of marijuana left in the kitchenette window -- for my 6 year old to find
Toilets and bath clogged
Oven does not work
Uncomfortable bed
Bedding only changed if you force them
Excellent -- no -- a dive...
No smoking room smells of smoke...
Housekeepers obviously hate their job.
This is a cheap low end motel -- Comfort Inn or the Residence Inn by Marriot a better choice for dog lovers!!

Only up the restaurant on site is friendly and good
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve T, General Manager at Fort Nashwaak Motel
Responded 14 May 2015
The guest who wrote the review has provided a completely wrong depiction of her stay. We are dog friendly as long as the animal is kenneled and properly carried for. This guest failed to inform front desk that she in fact had 4 dogs, 2 of which were pit bulls. The dogs were allowed to run loose in the room and were often left alone. As for the comment on maid service, motel staff were not allowed in the room and in fact were afraid to enter. After causing considerable damage to the room , the guest was asked to leave. We regret this incident ever happening but this review is entirely unjustified.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bytowner61 wrote a review Oct 2012
Cambridge ON10 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This may be a cheap place to stay but we would never ever stay there again. We stayed there mid October and the room was freezing. The beds I nicknamed prison beds. A thin mattress on a hard metal slab. If I were you shop around. The discount price is not worth the stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sfoote39 wrote a review Aug 2012
791 Olive Avenue5 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came down for a wedding and anniversary and did not know what to expect. We check in and the service was amazing the gentleman on the desk was so helpful. \we thought we had the cottages and instead got the two bedroom apartment. The apartment was spotless and very roomy. The housekeeping staff are always available and ready to help for towels etc. At night it was so quite you cant hear anything so peaceful.I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. We would definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: only wish they had a pool other then that it was perfect for us
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saucysusan2u wrote a review Mar 2012
Windsor, Canada1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 5 days here...5 days too long. I know I should have cancelled the rest of my reservation but I figured I was only sleeping there. I rented a cottage (if that's what you want to call it), it was extremely small and lacked furniture, but I suppose if it had more furniture you wouldn't be able to walk in the place. It was a good thing I took a blanket of my own as I had to use it to sit on the loveseat. The loveseat had a cover on it, but the cover was stained in blood and something else...not sure what it was and the bathroom smelled like urine. It had two bedrooms, but one bed needs to be replaced. I didn't get much sleep here at all...still kicking my butt for not leaving. There is not coffee table so we had to use the telephone stand as one. If you go to the kitchen, it is sloped to the left side..the other rooms have lean to the right side and you can really notice this when you are in the shower. Housekeeping was in daily and did a great job, the cross cannon restaurant served great food but that is about the good I can say.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
anon581 wrote a review Jan 2016
Saint John, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay at this Motel often for work, along with the guys on my crew. we have frequented this establishment quite a bit over the years and I must say, the maid service over the summer was the best it has been in all of the years we have stayed here...
The rate of the rooms are unbeatable, however, we are in the process of looking for another motel in the area, due to the current room attendant staff... These two older women just don't care! their service is very poor, they are rude, unapproachable and not interested in their job at all!
During the summer, we had the pleasure of meeting a new young lady who had been working there, I believe her name was Tara, or something like that, To our surprise, she is no longer there, after speaking to another long term guest, we learned that she had quit in December! That is a true shame!
Management in this establishment needs to retire the old girls and get back the younger lady who seemed to take great pride in her work and was very approachable and did not get annoyed with requests from guests.
myself as well as my staff will now be staying at another motel from here on out, after a long day at work, it is more tiring than anything to have to inspect our room to ensure it was actually cleaned properly than anything! These girls cant even take pride or be bothered to hang towels properly!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smunkel wrote a tip Aug 2016
Boston, Massachusetts3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go and have fun with it. See the sites, and not spend a lot on a room."
Read full review
Tedso64 wrote a tip Dec 2013
Bloomfield, Canada528 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I asked for a smoking with a pet room... Very happy with my room and location.."
Read full review
sfoote39 wrote a tip Aug 2012
791 Olive Avenue5 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"only wish they had a pool other then that it was perfect for us"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fredericton area.
PRICE RANGE
S$109 - S$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickFredericton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FORT NASHWAAK MOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 20 Photos (Fredericton, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fort Nashwaak Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Fort Nashwaak Motel?
Nearby attractions include Fredericton Boyce Farmers Market (1.4 km), Odell Park (3.1 km), and Beaverbrook Art Gallery (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fort Nashwaak Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Fort Nashwaak Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fort Nashwaak Motel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fort Nashwaak Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fort Nashwaak Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caribbean Flavas Restaurant & Catering, Claudine's Eatery, and Wolastoq Wharf.
Does Fort Nashwaak Motel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fort Nashwaak Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Fort Nashwaak Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Officers' Square (1.5 km) and Legislative Assembly Building (1.3 km).
All Fredericton HotelsFredericton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FrederictonHotels near Fort Nashwaak Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire