We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!5% Off Or More
Booking.com
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Expedia.com
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Travelocity
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Hotels.comUS$94
PricelineUS$105
Destinia.comUS$106
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 18/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 19 hotels in Saint John
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bowling
Indoor play area for children
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Game room
Mini golf
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:5% Off Or More
478Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 108
  • 92
  • 97
  • 70
  • 111
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
meg954 wrote a review Sep 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota11 contributions
The facade on the entry was falling apart. The carpets were old and worn out. The property was shabby and ill kept. The thermostat in the room didn’t work. The TV was old and wouldn’t display the entire picture on any channel. The bathroom was worn. The porcelain on the sink was chipped. The pool was out of order and drained. However it was clean. Don’t believe any of the pictures you see online. It doesn’t really look like any of them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Meg, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit. While we are glad that you appreciated our dedication to cleanliness, we apologize for any concerns that you may have faced with our accommodations. You can rest assured that our maintenance team will be rectifying any issues as soon as possible, and we hope that you will allow us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nepatsgirl M wrote a review Aug 2021
Truro, Canada105 contributions82 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Spent a couple nights here for a tournament - first they were very accommodating to the teams !!! Service was great. When we got there only 1 of our 2 rooms was ready the other was still being cleaned. They are definitely thorough- figured it only takes a couple minutes to clean a room - I was very wrong .... in fact when I went to check the lovely lady was actually on her hands and knees doing the floor!!!! (Worthy of a good tip!!!!!!!!) It’s definitely an older hotel but they are in the midst of updating it. the rooms were spacious and well laid out (and obviously clean). Rooms had fridge and microwave. Would stay here again if travelling with kids
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brittany Edison, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Responded 28 Aug 2021
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you had a wonderful experience with us. Our housekeepers are the backbone of our hotel and we certainly appreciate how hard they work to provide our guests with the best experience!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shaylene G wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I came here from across the country from Vancouver island and really didn’t know what to expect after seeing the reviews. The hotel is under renovations but my room was amazing with a great view of the Saint John sign on the 8th floor. I want to give a special thanks to my housekeeper KIM. She was over the top friendly and made made me feel so welcome here ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Denise D wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I gave this hotel a 1 because only one person stood out on our visit. Her name was Jean & she was the 80yr old cleaner who has worked at this hotel for 36years. This hard working woman was on her knees wiping down the floors. They don’t have proper cleaning supplies & the carts are rusted. We were lucky to get an “upgraded” room so we weren’t living in the 70s. This hotel is so old with no change. I worked at the old Howard Johnson’s just two minutes away from this hotel 30 years ago and the rooms that we had in that hotel were more up-to-date than the areas in this hotel now. That let you know how little work and how long they’ve had to do something with his hotel and haven’t. The website shows a pool ( currently there is none) The arcade area is nothing like the website. The restaurant is nothing like the website. This was all very disappointing because we actually thought that we were going to be able to use these areas. If they would actually let people know that the pool is being renovated and the arcade has half of the stuff in it ..it’s old and dirty… The gym area is not open we probably would’ve taken our $155 and stayed somewhere else. Before Covid I got a great deal at Hilton for $99 a night.There are so many areas of this hotel that are either under construction or have been left this way for years. The carpets in the hallways are filthy and they need to be cleaned… Not just vacuumed. We went to the eighth floor the night that we arrived to see where the free breakfast would be served. They told us it was in the “VIP”area. When the dirty elevator doors opened all of the carpet was covered in drywall dust which at some point the next morning they removed. The breakfast is horrible. I’m not sure free is worth it. The waitresses hand you a zero dollar bill for your table where you can add a tip for them for a self serve breakfast you’ve gotten yourself. The waitress handing them out said oh this isn’t anything important just a little paperwork for you. The smoke detector went off three times while we were there and the waitresses walked around laughing saying oh here we go again while one of the guest stood on a chair & waved under the smoke detector. This is just one area that was very unprofessional. We didn’t partake in the free breakfast again. I just wanted out of there. Sadly each time I had to go through the lobby there you could hear another unhappy customer or front desk employees who were just tired of hearing it and their tone definitely showed that. Now I can understand how hard it must be to stand there and work in a place where you have no support from Management but maybe someone should teach them to be a little bit more professional and how they answer to upset customers. Basically they hand them the managers card and tell them to go talk to her. I’ll let you know that no one there knows how to resolve a problem. They only make excuses so that you’ll leave. Vanessa was helpful to us. Another thing that I find very unprofessional is that they have a big smoking area next to the front door of the hotel. They also have windows open in the lobby so that when people are smoking weed out there as well you can smell it when you walk through the lobby. They also need to have a designated smoking area for the employees because a little weird to see all the people that are working in the hotel standing outside the front door smoking. So I guess the last thing I want to say is if you’re actually looking for a hotel and you think you’re going to get a great breakfast I would definitely call this hotel first and ask them if they are still doing renovations and skip that breakfast if you plan on staying here. I on the other hand ..I’m going to skip this hotel whether they have renovations done or not.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Responded 3 weeks ago
Though we are grateful you chose us to host your stay, we regret that you didn't have the visit you expected and deserved. What you described does not convey the high-quality standards we strive to uphold, and we are sincerely sorry about the inconveniences you encountered while with us. That said, we appreciate you for letting us know what was not to your satisfaction during your stay, as this will allow our team to reflect and improve in the areas that matter most to you. In the future, we hope you consider giving us another chance to change your perceptions; we're confident we can do better and impress you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane C wrote a review Aug 2022
London, Canada48 contributions47 helpful votes
We had two rooms for a one night stay. The venue is under well needed renovations. Our room had worn carpet, dated plumbing, A/C was ineffective,. The beds were comfy and the pub/restaurant was fun. Our server Debbie was very pleasant and a treat to deal with! 😎 The lady at the front desk checking us in was not a happy camper. We were not notified that there was a $50 pet fee until arrival even though I called to make arrangements for the cat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vladimiramirela wrote a review Jul 2022
Mississauga, Canada1872 contributions497 helpful votes
The staff makes up for the current state of the hotel, partly under renovation. Only one elevator was in operation and barely... However, at the reception there is always somebody willing to help with some advice or answering questions. Breakfast is excellent too, and included in a very reasonable price. The rooms are great, parking free, on site.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room was quiet, on the fourth floor, facing the port
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brittany Edison, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Responded 24 Jul 2022
Thank you for your fantastic review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll be back to see the completed renovations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linder200 D wrote a review Jul 2022
Walnut Creek86 contributions67 helpful votes
The lobby and halls are old and real shabby but my room was updated and great. Lots of pillows and towels. The bathroom was clean and undated, also. Big screen TV. Unfortunately the elevator was an antique. It was very small, slow and only 1 elevator worked. A bus tour arrived and there were long lines with people and luggage trying to get to their floors. Not good. I probably wouldn't stay there again for that reason. There buffet breakfast was just ok. Eggs, toast but no pastries.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They have lots of bus tours so be patient if you need to use the elevator.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brittany Edison, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Responded 24 Jul 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we're glad you enjoyed your newly renovated room. We are in the process of renovating the rest of our building to reflect the modern, bright guest rooms and hope you'll give us another chance once completed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bacchusthecat wrote a review Jul 2022
Poland, Maine8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
THE GOOD: large, clean, comfortable bed; decent hot breakfast served until 10 am; plenty of hot water for showers; nice hot tub in pool area; good location for walking uptown; low price THE BAD: elevators are very slow, small, and not clean; no visible controls for the jetted tub in our room (and no one at the front desk knew how to turn it on - I was very disappointed); the deadbolt on our door did not fit the slot on the frame; microwave is installed 5' from floor - not safe for short people; rug in sitting area was badly curled at the edges, causing a trip hazard; no guide for cable TV and very few major channels available; sound travels easily between rooms; there was a long hair in our bathtub. THE JUST PLAIN WEIRD: Restaurant has a tacky "Vegas" theme, complete with gambling machines and an arcade; staff left us a slip to sign at breakfast with a line to add a tip (breakfast is self-serve - first time we've encountered that); room numbers are written on paper and taped to the door. I'd call this a "2 ½-star hotel" because the public areas are not well maintained (stains on the carpet, cigarette butts in the stairwell, disgusting changing rooms in the pool area). Only the front desk area is clean and vacuumed regularly. "You get what you paid for" is the best description of this property.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Responded 20 Jul 2022
Though we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable bed, delicious breakfast offerings, and refreshing pool area, we're distressed to learn that other areas of your stay fell below your expectations. Please know that your concerns are important to us, and we appreciate you for letting us know what was not to your satisfaction during your stay, as this will allow our team to reflect and improve in the areas that matter most to you. That said, we wish you well and hope you'll consider giving us another try someday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michel d D wrote a review Jul 2022
Shediac, Canada367 contributions85 helpful votes
We were very disappointed with our stay. At check in, we were told / warned we would have rooms (I had reserved and pre-paid two rooms) that were not refurbished or updated. I asked if it was that bad, given the tone of the warning. She said the rooms were not renovated, were older but were clean. In addition, they could not explain the charges on my bill - especially the tax charges. Something about having to charge a deposit, but they then took another $100 deposit. Totally in-understandable!…but we didn’t have much choose Well, I guess we were forewarned. Two of the worst rooms I’ve ever had in years. The room was way outdated, carpets, although I am sure we’re vacuumed, we’re not the cleanest, very small washroom which has seen better days, and an air conditioner which didn’t run very well, and made lots of noise. And the same can be said about my other room. My two grandsons, who are young, must of mentioned how bad the rooms were at least ten times the next day, and wanting to ensure we would not be staying there again. What is worst is their web site shows nice, clean, new rooms. Be forewarned
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms on second floor have not been renovated. Very old and run down
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Bastarache, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Responded 16 Jul 2022
Dear Michel, Thank you for providing us with your detailed thoughts about your recent visit. Our team understands that first impressions are critical. We are saddened to learn that we didn't fully meet your standards. Rest assured that we'll closely work with our team to address the various maintenance concerns, primarily about A/C, issues. We'll also look at the other matters you've raised as we move forward as we always strive to bring comfort and satisfaction to valued guests like you. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this cause and give us the opportunity to deliver a better experience during your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KelM1123 wrote a review Sep 2021
Saskatchewan, Canada4 contributions
We stayed a night at this hotel with our two young children. The room seemed fine, though the hallways were quite dirty. While in the room, our toddler went into the wardrobe and came out with a cigarette pack with drugs in it. When brought to the attention of staff, there was little remorse and nothing was done. Quite disappointing, incredibly unsafe. Given we are in the midst of the pandemic, we expected cleaning to be of priority- clearly this is not happening. Do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brittany Edison, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Responded 6 Sep 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us, I would like to apologize and can assure you your experience is highly disturbing and we will be looking into this right away.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson fort howe plaza hotel saint john, fort howe saint john
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickSaint John
NUMBER OF ROOMS
133
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John
Which popular attractions are close to Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Nearby attractions include New Brunswick Museum (0.7 km), Saint John City Market (1.0 km), and Imperial Theatre (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vegolution, East Coast Bistro, and Italian By Night.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Saint John.
Are any cleaning services offered at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.