We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gower Street Guest House

Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (12)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“quiet street”(3 reviews)
“each morning”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Gower Street Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
47
23
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
47
23
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetair conditioningeach morningtravel agentexcellent locationwalking distanceconvenient locationcomfortable bedssignal hilltodddowntowninlaidamenitiescaretakerbasilicaprovinceenvelope
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Stayed for three nights to enjoy sites around St. John's. We booked the last available room, which was Room 2. This is a really tiny room but we managed fine. The bed was a little too soft for us with a thick foam topper. A...More

Thank pacificogirl
Response from Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 9 June 2017

We thank you for your kind comments. These are very encouraging for our staff. We wish to alert future and returning guests that we have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and...More

Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because it was close to George street and other attractions. The rooms are typical for the period of the house. Don't come here and expect it to be the hilton. The breakfast was very well done and lots of food laid out....More

1  Thank gord h
Response from Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 9 June 2017

We thank you for your kind comments. These are very encouraging for our staff. We wish to alert future and returning guests that we have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and...More

Reviewed 23 August 2014

It was a place to stay. There was a bed, there was breakfast, but we expect a bit more of a homey feel at a B&B. We really might as well have stayed in a hotel. If you get room number 5, be aware it's...More

1  Thank RickfromDE
Response from Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 9 June 2017

Room 5 is advertised in our websites and email answers as "The loft". It was our understanding that with a name like that, guests would expect a top floor room. Indeed, as mentioned in the above review, the loft is located on on third floor...More

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Gower House B&B for three nights upon arrival in St. John's. It is ideally located in the historic part of town only five minutes walk from Water Street with its restaurants and bars and 100 m from the very impressive St....More

Thank Chris M
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 21 April 2018

Thank-you for your kind comments. We have eliminated breakfast service. Tastes and expectations have changed dramatically in recent years. It is far better to have guests pleasantly surprised by any little extras they may find, rather than be disappointed with unrealized expectations. Breakfast is on...More

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This property contains several ensuite rooms in a traditional but well maintained three-storey row house in the heart of St John's. Our room was up two flights of stairs at the front of the property and we stayed Friday and Saturday night. The weather was...More

1  Thank archar
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 21 April 2018

Thank-you for your kind comments. We have eliminated breakfast service. Tastes and expectations have changed dramatically in recent years. It is far better to have guests pleasantly surprised by any little extras they may find, rather than be disappointed with unrealized expectations. Breakfast is on...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in St. John's
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$70 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$70 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (12)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sunmandan
24 July 2017|
Answer
Response from WideWorldTraveller | Reviewed this property |
I believe there are about 7 rooms; contact them directly for availability of the times you have asked for.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Awful customer service. Never stay at this place"
Read review
"the property has no elevator, so if you have mobility issues, best to be on lower floor."
Read review
"Rooms on back might be quieter but the front were deadly quiet too"
Read review
"Room 5 has excellent views of downtown St. John's."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing